We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2ND VISIT Still Amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prinsotel La Caleta
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Santandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We visited this hotel in 2013 and had an amazing time so much so that we recommended it to our friends who actually came with us this year 2014. We had an absolute fantastic time in this immaculately clean hotel, fabulous staff who can't do enough for you and we were actually there when there was a virus on the whole of the Minorca island. We ate breakfast and evening meal for 12 days and we were totally impressed. It definitely was NOT the food that made people ill. The quality of food was outstanding. We actually personally spoke with the new management team and they were outstanding. Keep up the good work. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0gger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you very much for your positive assessment, took it as an incentive to keep improving.
Thank you for understanding that this virus affected the island of Menorca.
We hope to see you once more in Prinsotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel overall
Everything was good apart from a few niggles
Many people vomited for a few hours on one day/night
The hotel said this was a virus and there probably was a bug circulating
This episode however was too short lived and a point source not to be something in the food ?water melon
The hotel's response was to fob us off rather than say they'd look at it
Also we lost some items not of great value- water shoes from the poolside and an ethnic necklace from my room
I wouldn't have expected this with an upmarket clientele
Also there is no water with the evening meal so that one is forced to buy drinks this seems a little unusual in a high level establishment

Room Tip: our room overlooked the pool area which was occasionally noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alimac987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks for your opinión.
In our 3 star hotel the guests have the option to buy half board or half board with drinks, this means the drinks are included during the evening meal.
You are right that there was a virus in the hotel and outside the hotel. A virus that lasted 24/30 hours.
We hope you enjoyed your holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent 10 days at the Prinsotel (bed and breakfast)and were very impressed with the hotel. The room was comfortable and very clean - in fact the whole complex was spotless! Breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice. Some minor points 1. Wi Fi signal was non existent in room so we had to stand in corridor to pick up signal 2. Quite a lot of noise from pool during day. 3. Use of pool was supposed to cease at 7 pm but use of pool went on well after this time.
Nearby town of Ciutadella was lovely with some great port side restaurants and shops. Local bus service from outside hotel was frequent so don't bother about taxis! On a number of occasions we walked into town and got bus back.

Room Tip: Rooms in block 5 (we were in 5106) are well away from bars, entertainments and evening noise. The ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thanks a lot for your opinión.
WE hope you had nice holidays and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

......however our visit in 2013 was so good, we decided to do so again this year, without a moments hesitation. Our only debate was whether to stay in the standard apartment or upgrade to a Select Apartment, which we duly did, and in our opinion this is perhaps the only area which does not represent particularly good value for money, as the standard apartment's are so good?
We went Self Catering for ten nights as there are sufficient local quality restaurants nearby to warrant this. However we ate in the hotel restaurant, outside on the terrace one night and were spoilt for choice with the food.
The resort is clean with two excellent pools and enjoys an interesting and picturesque layout with plenty to do for children and adults of all ages if required but at the same time time offers a relaxing stay for those people who just want relative peace...
The staff have been more than helpful on both occasions with particular praise for Mahmood and Juan in the snack bar area and Roser on Reception. And as second year visitors we were acknowledged by the General Manager and presented with a small token of his appreciation of our return visit.
The bay, not five minutes walk is delightful and the sea is ideal for swimming or snorkelling. Cuitadella is a five minute bus ride and is a beautiful town again with many restaurants.
We have been to a number of resorts on the beautiful island of Menorca, but the Prinsotel La Caleta takes some beating......if the deal is right I am sure that a third consecutive visit next year will be on the cards......

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thanks a lot for writing your opinion. It is always very important for all of us.
It´s great you enjoyed your holidays and we hope you return next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We are just about to leave this brilliant hotel and wish that we could have stayed much longer having had a short 4 day break. We have made a family pact to return next year for our main holiday!
I would summarise the hotel as grander than a family run business but much warmer than a corporate affair. Deserves more than 3 stars for sure
The staff throughout could not have been more pleasant - they are a credit to the hotel . Hard working and keen to see that guests have great service
The rooms are spotless -the grounds are well groomed and the food was of a high standard . We enjoyed grilled fish most evenings with lush salads and really you would be hard pressed not to find something that you liked to eat.
We already knew the great Cuitedella and its charm and character and you can visit by bus or a taxi for less than 6 euro or even walk within 25 mins
The beach near the hotel is pretty and there are a few bars around but if you are looking for a hectic nightlife- then this is not the place for you!
Overall we are looking forward to coming back again. Thanks to all the staff for doing a brilliant job we loved -Graves family.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank stumpsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you very much for your positive assessment, took it as an incentive to keep improving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have just spend few days with the family here. Great place! very amicable and helpful staff, generally, and in particular the a truly welcoming and very helpful service during the day at the bar of the apartments (the guys is call Fran if I remember well).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katiaetluis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

Thanks for choosing Prinsotel to spend your holidays.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Returned to this hotel because we liked it so much last year.

If you want a relaxing, comfortable holiday then this is the place to be.

Our family of two adults and two teenage daughters stayed in July in a select apartment. It is worth the extra cost as you are guaranteed a ground floor room with your own little garden - we had a lovely big daybed in ours (some have individual sunbeds). Your fridge is stocked with water, beer and soft drinks, you get a half litre of local gin, fruit, slippers and lots of toiletries. The lady who cleaned our room kept it spotless and we had fresh towels every day.

The two sofa beds are of a decent size and are quite comfortable. The terrace only has two chairs at the table but we asked for two more and they were supplied without any problem. There is enough cooking equipment for simple meals - we often prepared lunch with food from the Spar opposite the hotel (it has everything you need


The hotel is low rise (four floors at most) with good pools, plenty of sun loungers and beautifully maintained gardens. It is in a quiet area so if you like noisy, action-packed resorts then this is not the place for you. There is an hour of evening entertainment six nights a week some good and some so-so but it's all part of the fun of the holiday.


The breakfasts are excellent - best fresh orange juice, fresh ground coffee and good choice of foods. As it is a buffet you have to collect everything yourself but unless it is very busy this is not a problem. Dinners are varied with lots of choice - again a buffet with waiter service for drinks. If you want something in particular - ask the chef (he doesn't speak English but find a waiter to translate for you). We got talking one evening (with difficulty till we got a translator) and he said that if I didn't like what was there I should just ask for something else, and what foods did I like? In passing I mentioned chicken and a couple of other foods and 10 minutes later he arrived at my table with a plateful of beautifully grilled chicken fillets - where else would you get that sort of service?!
When we were there the restaurant got very bust around 9 -9.30pm so avoid arriving for dinner then.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff - from the (new) manager to the cleaners.
The manager is very happy to chat (speaks good english) and if you want something just ask. He even came out to say goodbye to us when we were waiting for our airport transfer and to ask if we had enjoyed ourselves .The receptionists are very helpful and the waiters are just lovely. On the night we arrived we were greeted as old friends and welcomed back - a year after our first visit!! Our younger daughter has learning difficulties and everyone was very nice to her - little gestures but much appreciated.

Would we return? Tomorrow if we could!

Room Tip: Block 5 . We had a quiet room with a nice little garden - quite private. Don't think any select...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Prinsotel La Caleta, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thanks you very much for your friendly opinion.
Thank you very much for your detailed description of a perfect holiday.
We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Santandria
3.5 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,371 reviews
13.9 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
13.9 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,570 reviews
3.7 mi away
Zafiro Menorca
Zafiro Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,233 reviews
18.6 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel La Caleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel La Caleta

Address: Calle de Lleo s/n, 07769 Cala Santandria, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala Santandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Santandria
Price Range: £40 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel La Caleta 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel and apartments complex is located 150 metres from the beach in Santandria, on Menorca’s west coast. It offers a large outdoor pool and air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and a private balcony.The rooms at the Prinsotel La Caleta feature smart décor with soft tones. Each one comes with satellite TV and a private bathroom.The hotel’s buffet restaurant serves international food and offers show cooking and themed nights. Breakfast is served overlooking the sea, and there is also a poolside snack bar.Hotel La Caleta offers a varied entertainment programme for adults and children. You can hire a bicycle from the 24-hour reception, and there are various water sports options on Santandria Beach.Ciutadella is just 5 minutes’ drive from the hotel. You can drive to Mahón Airport in around 45 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prinsotel La Caleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel La Caleta Hotel Cala Santandria
Prinsotel La Caleta Cala Santandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing