We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A different experience altogether”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Richmond, Puducherry
Ranked #33 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A different experience altogether”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Very nice boutique hotel at the heart of colonial Pondicherry. Rooms are very cozy and well decorated. Service is good as well. The staffs are very hospitable. The hotel is built within very small land area, but every effort has been made to give look of colonial structure, especially the wall in front of the restaurant. Additionally, it is very close to the beach and Shri Aurobindo Ashram.
Some points future travelers should know: a) Hotel staffs are unable to give the transport options to be in and around Pondicherry. b) Shower faucet doesn't work

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the road e.g., 1210, 1212. You will get to see people with different cultur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debashis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest

We thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay on trip advisor.

I have made a note of your comments and we have initiated step to improve on our services.

I look forward to Welcoming you back at The Richmond Puducherry!

Warm Regards

Murali.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    119
    45
    8
    5
See reviews for
76
82
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This hotel is located in a very nice part of Pondy and is very nice inside. The rooms are quite nice and the lobby restaurant area, much like all of Pondy are very well kept. Usually I would rate a hotel like this higher but there were a few disappointing things that I think are important. Firstly the faucet in the shower would not always stay locked onto shower and would sometimes go to bath mode due to a lack at times of water pressure. Also the staff was not particularly knowledgeable about transport options out of Pondy or if they were, they were not very keen on sharing accurate info. That said I find that common with most Indians where you get a little wave towards a direction and not so much pinpoint directions. The final kicker though was the a lack of wifi in the rooms. I feel this is mandatory nowadays and I expect it at a hotel of this level. You can get wifi but only in the lobby.

Aside from that this hotel is a safe bet. Very close to the beach and action and very clean!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cozziad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest

We thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay on trip advisor.

I have made a note of your comments and we have initiated step to improve on our services.

I look forward to Welcoming you back at The Richmond Puducherry!

Warm Regards

Murali.K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

The experience right from the time of making the reservation till the time I checked out of the hotel after my 3 days stay was fabulous.The staff are extremly good and hospitable. The location of the hotel is good; its in the french town - close to the beach and sorrounded by lovely colonial buildings

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoshanKuriakose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for your positive feedback on our services and appreciate your taking the time and posting your feedback on tripadvisor.

We look foward to Welcome you back at The Richmond Puducherry!!!!

With Warm Regards

Murali K
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed at Richmond for our honeymoon. And we had a wonderful experience. Hotel rooms that we stayed in were a bit small, but had all the amenities. And the food was simply delicious. We almost ate there all the time. I especially loved the south Indian breakfast. Very good service overall. Location is nearer to all the key places in Pondicherry, however you may find it a bit difficult to find it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pati_Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

I appreciate your positive feedback on trip advisor

We look forward to welcome you back at “The Richmond” Puducherry.



With Warm Regards

K. Murali
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The Richmond Hotel Pondicherry is a 3 star boutique hotel located in the peaceful and clean environments inside the French Quarter of Pondicherry. The hotel is in walking distance to the beach, colonial buildings, the ashram and other attractions.

We are extremely happy to announce that The Residency Group of Hotel has opened its sixth property at Puducherry. The unmistakable French Connection, the tree lined boulevards, the quaint colonial heritage buildings, the spiritual scene, the endless stretches of unspoilt virgin beaches and backwaters are the highlights of this beautiful town.

You can take pride in the fact that this expansion has been possible because of your continued patronage to our other properties, carefully thought out feedback and several words and smiles of encouragement. As you travel on leisure, we wanted to share with you the same experiences, hospitality, privileges and sometimes even the same familiar faces which you have grown to enjoy at the other properties of The Residency Group. That was when we felt the need to expand to Puducherry and you motivated us!

The Hotel offers 14 well-appointed centrally air conditioned rooms. It has a restaurant which offers Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, and an amply stocked bar.

The Richmond is approximately 1 km from the railway station located on the French Town, and close to Sri Aurobindo Ashram making it a convenient destination for a discerning traveller as well as a leisure traveller to the beach.

At the Residency Group, we constantly endeavour to strive for more. We invite you to experience our hospitality at Puducherry, which has been thoughtfully designed to suit your myriad hospitality needs.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahulgoel1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

I appreciate your positive feedback on trip advisor

We look forward to welcome you back at “The Richmond” Puducherry.



With Warm Regards


K. Murali
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is a small beautiful hotel in the French Quarter. The location is excellent - a short walk from the beach, the ashram and some good shops. The room I had booked initially was too small, and did not have a desk. I was there for a conference, and I needed to work, so the superb manager, Murali, upgraded me to a larger room with a desk.
The room is pleasant - TV, tea coffee maker, and a locker big enough for a laptop.
Complimentary breakfast was delicious.
I wanted to find out about the shops attached to Aurobindo ashram, and the manager sent a staff all the way to the ashram to get that info.
The food was good, and apart from a rude lady Anu, at the reception, the service was faultless.
If you need to catch a train/flight back from Chennai, make sure you plan on 4 - 4.5 hrs to get from Chennai to Pondy. The East Coast road is packed on weekends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gypsybloood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Wowwwwwwwwwwwwwww. What a nice experience. Nice location - Aurobindo Asharm , Ganesh Temple and beach is just an arm distance away.Thsi is boutique hotel and has a nice small cute bar. Enjoyed my Chilled beer there. Nice staff , helpfull but I can guess they need few more to manager all work more effectively.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prashant1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 74 in Pondicherry
178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#30 of 74 in Pondicherry
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#11 of 74 in Pondicherry
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anantha Heritage Hotel
Anantha Heritage Hotel
#13 of 74 in Pondicherry
261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#27 of 74 in Pondicherry
355 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond, Puducherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond, Puducherry

Property: The Richmond, Puducherry
Address: 12 Rue Labourdonnais Street | Near old Law college, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond, Puducherry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond, Puducherry is the fifth property of The Residency Group of Hotels. The Richmond has 14 well appointed rooms with the following in-room facilities: 1.Tea/Coffee station. 2.Digital safe. 3.Well stocked Mini-bar. 4.Hair dryer. Location: Immediate proximity of the promenade beach. In the quiet French colonial quarter, Pondicherry is completely accessible from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Richmond, Puducherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Puducherry Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing