We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel quite close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Richmond, Puducherry
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Our room was very nice and very comfortable but there was no hot water.Wifi only available in the lobby and we think that our email was hacked while we were there!Lots of staff hanging around doing absolutely nothing . Fine for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscar0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your comment on trip advisor.

We will take necessary action on improving the areas highlighted in your feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

Room was nice, bed I thought very comfatable and location is great. Price a little on the high side, but I guess it was high season, but for this sort of price I do expect wi fi in the bedroom which wasn't available. Staff, as other reviewers noted were not that knowledgable about transport options and when I did get a quote it was way over price (I found an agent around the corner over the canal who offered the same trip for R1000 less). Breakfast service was a little slow, staryed quite late and when they are full as when we stayed there were not enough tables and chairs to fit everybody at the same time, they should of had more then one guy responsible for setting it up. This space also doubles as a restaurant at night and one evening the noise was quite audible in the rooms

Room Tip: I notice one room on the ground floor next to the restaurant avoid it I imagine it would get noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPaul50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest

We thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay on trip advisor.

I have made a note of your comments and we have initiated step to improve on our services.

I look forward to Welcoming you back at The Richmond Puducherry!

Warm Regards

Murali.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Very nice boutique hotel at the heart of colonial Pondicherry. Rooms are very cozy and well decorated. Service is good as well. The staffs are very hospitable. The hotel is built within very small land area, but every effort has been made to give look of colonial structure, especially the wall in front of the restaurant. Additionally, it is very close to the beach and Shri Aurobindo Ashram.
Some points future travelers should know: a) Hotel staffs are unable to give the transport options to be in and around Pondicherry. b) Shower faucet doesn't work

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the road e.g., 1210, 1212. You will get to see people with different cultur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debashis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest

We thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay on trip advisor.

I have made a note of your comments and we have initiated step to improve on our services.

I look forward to Welcoming you back at The Richmond Puducherry!

Warm Regards

Murali.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This hotel is located in a very nice part of Pondy and is very nice inside. The rooms are quite nice and the lobby restaurant area, much like all of Pondy are very well kept. Usually I would rate a hotel like this higher but there were a few disappointing things that I think are important. Firstly the faucet in the shower would not always stay locked onto shower and would sometimes go to bath mode due to a lack at times of water pressure. Also the staff was not particularly knowledgeable about transport options out of Pondy or if they were, they were not very keen on sharing accurate info. That said I find that common with most Indians where you get a little wave towards a direction and not so much pinpoint directions. The final kicker though was the a lack of wifi in the rooms. I feel this is mandatory nowadays and I expect it at a hotel of this level. You can get wifi but only in the lobby.

Aside from that this hotel is a safe bet. Very close to the beach and action and very clean!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cozziad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest

We thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay on trip advisor.

I have made a note of your comments and we have initiated step to improve on our services.

I look forward to Welcoming you back at The Richmond Puducherry!

Warm Regards

Murali.K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

The experience right from the time of making the reservation till the time I checked out of the hotel after my 3 days stay was fabulous.The staff are extremly good and hospitable. The location of the hotel is good; its in the french town - close to the beach and sorrounded by lovely colonial buildings

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoshanKuriakose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for your positive feedback on our services and appreciate your taking the time and posting your feedback on tripadvisor.

We look foward to Welcome you back at The Richmond Puducherry!!!!

With Warm Regards

Murali K
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed at Richmond for our honeymoon. And we had a wonderful experience. Hotel rooms that we stayed in were a bit small, but had all the amenities. And the food was simply delicious. We almost ate there all the time. I especially loved the south Indian breakfast. Very good service overall. Location is nearer to all the key places in Pondicherry, however you may find it a bit difficult to find it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pati_Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

I appreciate your positive feedback on trip advisor

We look forward to welcome you back at “The Richmond” Puducherry.



With Warm Regards

K. Murali
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

The Richmond Hotel Pondicherry is a 3 star boutique hotel located in the peaceful and clean environments inside the French Quarter of Pondicherry. The hotel is in walking distance to the beach, colonial buildings, the ashram and other attractions.

We are extremely happy to announce that The Residency Group of Hotel has opened its sixth property at Puducherry. The unmistakable French Connection, the tree lined boulevards, the quaint colonial heritage buildings, the spiritual scene, the endless stretches of unspoilt virgin beaches and backwaters are the highlights of this beautiful town.

You can take pride in the fact that this expansion has been possible because of your continued patronage to our other properties, carefully thought out feedback and several words and smiles of encouragement. As you travel on leisure, we wanted to share with you the same experiences, hospitality, privileges and sometimes even the same familiar faces which you have grown to enjoy at the other properties of The Residency Group. That was when we felt the need to expand to Puducherry and you motivated us!

The Hotel offers 14 well-appointed centrally air conditioned rooms. It has a restaurant which offers Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, and an amply stocked bar.

The Richmond is approximately 1 km from the railway station located on the French Town, and close to Sri Aurobindo Ashram making it a convenient destination for a discerning traveller as well as a leisure traveller to the beach.

At the Residency Group, we constantly endeavour to strive for more. We invite you to experience our hospitality at Puducherry, which has been thoughtfully designed to suit your myriad hospitality needs.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahulgoel1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, General Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

I appreciate your positive feedback on trip advisor

We look forward to welcome you back at “The Richmond” Puducherry.



With Warm Regards


K. Murali
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.4 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 83 in Pondicherry
1,174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#25 of 83 in Pondicherry
416 reviews
1.9 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#15 of 83 in Pondicherry
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#20 of 83 in Pondicherry
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 83 in Pondicherry
534 reviews
1 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond, Puducherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond, Puducherry

Address: 12 Rue Labourdonnais Street | Near old Law college, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range: £48 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond, Puducherry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond, Puducherry is the fifth property of The Residency Group of Hotels. The Richmond has 14 well appointed rooms with the following in-room facilities: 1.Tea/Coffee station. 2.Digital safe. 3.Well stocked Mini-bar. 4.Hair dryer. Location: Immediate proximity of the promenade beach. In the quiet French colonial quarter, Pondicherry is completely accessible from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Richmond, Puducherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Puducherry Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing