We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, well maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Richmond, Puducherry
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Pondicherry
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location, well maintained”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Richmond is ideally located in the french quarters, which makes it close to most tourist destinations in Pondicherry and lots of eating places. The heritage hotel is beautifully maintained and staff is very courteous and helpful. The complimentary breakfast buffet was quite tasty, if not delectable, and makes for a good start to the day!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Kanchan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are truly delighted to learn that you had a pleasant and memorable stay with us.

We greatly appreciate your support and look forward for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    119
    45
    8
    5
See reviews for
76
82
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Aug 31 to Sept 1, 2013

negatives:-
even after prior booking after reaching we found my booked room was not available so they upgraded to family room; but room was not so good as it was very next to dining area so it wasn't peaceful
There were no windows in the room. Staff told all French style hotel don't have windows..is it?
There is no proper parking, you need to park your vehicle just on the road.
Their pre set alarm was annoying, so pls check before sleep to set off the alarm.
Not much Hindi and English channels.
Room was connected to another room through a locked door, so it wasn't peaceful sometimes..
positives:-
staff is very good and helpful
food was good.
location is good and beach road is walk-able
after ignoring the fact that room had no windows and was next to dining area, room was good with comfortable bed and sofa cum bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GauravPandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us at "The Richmond" and sharing your review on Trip advisor.
Being a boutique hotel and due to space constraints , we do not have a closed parking area.
Other feedback has been noted and corrective measures has been implemented.

We thank you for your positive feedback on the location, and the quality of food.

Look forward to welcome you back at "The Richmond" Pondicherry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

So a large group travelling together requiring multiple rooms and lots of general advice and a last minute booking. Usually a recipe for disaster but we found the Richmond after we stayed at their sister hotel Residency Towers in Chennai. We were so lucky! Again absolutely outstanding service - food at the buffet was well done but the service really kicked everything up a notch. Rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. Front desk was wonderful and very very helpful. Minor complaint is that showers were lukewarm and wifi happened to be out due to quite a bit of rain while we were there. It was nicely located - it felt a little off the beaten path in a nice way. But clearly wasn't as it is proximate to the main boulevard and to a fantastic restaurant LB2 Lounge down the street. Booked it through Agoda and got a decent rate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raath_ki_Rani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest

It was a pleasure receiving your feedback on Trip Advisor

It was absolute pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to your
return..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A good place to stay at in Pondicherry. The hotel and its staff takes good care of their guests. Rooms are nice and warm with vintage furniture. If you are looking for a good place to chill at without splurging on stay, the Richmond is your choice. Besides,The location is perfect. We had a good stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest

It was a pleasure receiving your positive feedback.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Look forward to welcome you back at "The Richmond" Pondicherry.

With regards

K.Murali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and I must say that this is one of the best place to stay in the white town of Pondicherry. I like this place as it located very close to the promenade, rooms are spacious, clean and equipped with all facilities.

Staffs are really courteous and very helpful, they gave us excellent and honest suggestions on the popular restaurants, spas, activities and arranged a 2 wheeler on hire during our stay.

I am in love with this place and will not try any other hotel if I happen to visit ponicherry again

Room Tip: We were lucky to get a portion of family suite room, which was spacious with 2 A/C and an indian sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kb9632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Mr.Kamlesh

It was a pleasure receiving your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are truly delighted to lean that you had a pleasant and memorable stay with us.

We greatly appreciate your support and look forward for your return.

With regards

K.Murali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Perfect place to stay when you are in Pondi.
We just stayed for one night. Everything was great. The staff was very very helpful and courteous, they get 5 stars for hospitality, The hotel is extremely clean including the rooms, washrooms and common areas.Free Wi-Fi is an add-on when you want to sit in when its sunny outside.
Overall we had a pleasant stay and I will definitely go back and stay at Richmond when I visit Pondi next.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MlleMyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest

My Team and I would like to thank you for the positive review of "The Richmond" Pondicherry.

We greatly appreciate your support and look forward for your return.

With regards

K.Murali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Have been a frequent visitor to Pondicherry and this has by far been the best hotel experience there. Very helpful and attentive staff. Excellent location, popular local restaurants and sights of the city including the famous walkway are all walkable distance. clean rooms with good amenities. the air conditioning worked - they haven't skimped on the quality of ac and bath fittings. we only ate breakfast at the hotel but the breakfast offering was more than adequate and the staff did not have to be told the same thing from one day to the next. the hotel was also able to arrange for affordable and reliable taxi service. over all a great experience. will visit again !

Room Tip: the dining area noise carries, so choose a corner room if you want to sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaArakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THERICHMOND09, Manager at The Richmond, Puducherry, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Ms.Fiona

Thank you for staying at "The Richmond" and sharing your review on trip advisor.

We are very glad to hear your experience at our hotel was amazing and appreciate your compliments about the service provided by our team.

We thank you for the support and look forward for your return

With regards

K.Murali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#20 of 81 in Pondicherry
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
#24 of 81 in Pondicherry
493 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#32 of 81 in Pondicherry
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 81 in Pondicherry
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 81 in Pondicherry
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 81 in Pondicherry
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond, Puducherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond, Puducherry

Property: The Richmond, Puducherry
Address: 12 Rue Labourdonnais Street | Near old Law college, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Richmond, Puducherry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond, Puducherry is the fifth property of The Residency Group of Hotels. The Richmond has 14 well appointed rooms with the following in-room facilities: 1.Tea/Coffee station. 2.Digital safe. 3.Well stocked Mini-bar. 4.Hair dryer. Location: Immediate proximity of the promenade beach. In the quiet French colonial quarter, Pondicherry is completely accessible from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Richmond, Puducherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Puducherry Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing