We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids not allowed, funny staff at the gate” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Club

Le Club
Ranked #24 of 364 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: French, Bar, Seafood, Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
bangalore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Kids not allowed, funny staff at the gate”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were quite keen on eating at this place on our third visit to Pondicherry because we had done so on our second and had loved the food. So we reached there at about 6 PM with our toddler quite looking forward to a great evening. The guy at the gate told us the place opens for dinner at 7. Not wanting to miss the chance to eat at Le club, we loitered around Dumas street eagerly waiting for the clock to strike 7. And when the hour finally arrived we were told we still couldn't go in because kids are not allowed! Excuse me, but we did eat here last year with the kids. Yes madam, the rules have changed since then. But why didn't you tell this at 6. You did see the child and the stroller. You couldn't have imagined it was someone else's kid I had brought for an evening stroll. Yes madam....but.....(I wanted to waste your time?? I wanted to ruin your evening ??) A very frustrating experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sonal0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    202
    122
    47
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service with average food. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Visited for the 1st time during last week alongwith a friend. We were well received and seated as per our choice. The ambience was good and the service was excellent. But the food was very very average. The starters (Garlic bread , pepper chicken) were awful and we decided to move out some other place. The place is good to hangout with friends for few rounds of drinks but not for the food.

Helpful?
Thank SundarrajR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Le Club is a very nice casual dining restaurant.....never fails to disappoint, good choice, good food & good service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great setting, higher prices, worth the visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Dinner here was great, but overpriced. The food tasty, but not exceptional.

The atmosphere was wonderful. Outside and under many overhead fans, it was easy to forget the humidity of the evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dkubs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a good restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Poor customer service , the seating arrangement is not good, customers were asked to change their seats and they will allocate the seat depending upon the group size. The menu is overpriced. But good ambeince during evening, mostly tourists and not many locals or local families. The location is great, few restaurants in pondy that serves continental food to western customers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rajesh r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Club also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Le Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing