We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good peaceful cafe!”
Review of Kasha Ki Aasha

Kasha Ki Aasha
Ranked #46 of 370 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Price range: US$3 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Kasha Ki Aasha's breezy terrace cafe offers a vegetarian menu including Indian and European fusion recipes home cooked from the freshest market produce. The only place in Pondicherry with authentic american style pancakes, absolutely pure fresh juices (you need a spoon) and South Indian specialties made per order. We serve only organic coffee, our own iced tea, and have killer chocolate cake and apple pie. The full menu is available all day. Open for dinner Friday and Saturdays only with LIVE MUSIC!
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
345 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good peaceful cafe!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Chilled place in the heart of te city, indian enchilada, beans pattice is a must have! You can miss the lemon soda! The rooftop setup during a cool evening is just perfect, what you would like to do in Pondi ! Just chill, no alcohol served.. But you can still sit for hours.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Punit29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    42
    14
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
203 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Epic chillout place, with epic veg food!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This place is sooo perfect to just chill and relax in.
Their chairs is made for laying down, eating, drinking tea, and reading a book.
The place is made for people that needs to chill, meditate, and cool down.
The prices are very good. The food is also extremely good.

Overall ++++ on everything, got no bad words about this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henning K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“c0mpleTeLy w0rth iT”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Cleanliness, hospitality, the food, the beverage and the ambiance is Excellent..! Its only in a place like this that you can unwind and relax. Slaving for the corporate world for 8 years has got me into snappiness and this place reminded me to slow down and think. I spoke to people who I have never known and got along well with them, its probably the place. It made me feel kind and being kind to everyone around. The menu is confined to Vegetarian, Vegan and Egg's. I had the famous Black Bean Burger and Pan Cakes since I have heard so much about it from my friends and from an event advertisement. It was totally worth it. With ingredients melting in my mouth the first bite made me go Ummmmmmm...... ;)
If you are looking forward to quality and quantity food, this is the place to visit and rest assured a relaxed time over your tea, coffee or meal.
Its a place completely run and maintained by women, it is a walk-able distance from the canal.
This place is worth the visit again and again and again. I went there everyday during my stay in Pondicherry. I hope the place works for everyone else. :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanaSyiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprised by the prices”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very nice roof top restaurant with cute shop downstairs. You can easily relax in here, use wifi and enjoy the food. Service was very courteous and generally nice. The only thing is the prices are quite above the limit. I totally love the idea that this restaurant is ran only by women which is probably still rare in India. However, bill for 800 rupees for two meals, two sodas and one tea is far too much. Food was nice though, but do not expect typical indian taste, it is adjusted to the tourists :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AjaPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food and shop a short walk from the French quarter”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

A shirt walk across the 'canal' from the French quarter this is well worth the stroll for something a little different.
Nice roof top restaurant ( only serves till 6:30 pm though) in a remarkably quiet residential street if mainly Tamil style houses.
Little arty style shop downstairs also worth a browse.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kasha Ki Aasha also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Kasha Ki Aasha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing