We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean rooms, excellent breakfast, hard time if you travel with friends!”
Review of Hotel Atithi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Atithi
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good location - Close to the French part of the town and beach road. Clean rooms and bath rooms. House keeping staff is responsive. Roof top infinity pool is small but well maintained. Just White bar and the staff are good. Roof top restaurant offers good grilled stuff and the open air sitting offers pretty ambience. The restaurant staff and room service staff seem to lose efficiency after 10:00PM. We 6 went for dinner one night at 11PM; they accepted the order & supplied food but we had to ask for plates, knives, spoons, napkins and water to serve the food! Room service said no refill of "Ice cubes" on a Saturday night at 10PM because their machine was down. So carry you own ice cubes to this 4 star hotel :). Room service staff had disagreement between them when the service stops - First day they said 10:30, next day it became 12:45AM (we were pleasantly surprised and thought they extend it in the weekends) but when we wanted to order at 11:15PM, they said the closing time is 10:45PM! The front office staff was ill informed about local attractions and mis-guided us. We missed a visit to Auroville because we were told that it is not open on Sundays. But we came to know later that it is open up to 1:00PM but then it was too late. Staff needs training and that helps this hotel which is otherwise a nice experience. Visit to Paradise beach is a must. Take your own liquor and I can guarantee you that what they sell in some big shops is not original. Sad :(

Room Tip: No good view from the rooms. We were upgraded to executive room - Same size as superior room but wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suraj_Kishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atithi-Pondicherry, General Manager at Hotel Atithi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comments. It was pleasure to know that you found the room clean and Housekeeping Staff responsive. Regarding your late night orders we will take appropriate steps.

We will look forward to welcome you again at Hotel Atithi

Thank you
Amitava Roy
9003043214

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend. Lobby is bright and has the friendly front desk staff adding to the brightness with their smile. Rooms are spacious, nice minibar, Wi-Fi is good. Comfortable bed but linen quality needs to improve. Breakfast spread had everything you need to start your day. Service staff at breakfast were good but needs to add smile to the service. Barbeque Dinner at the roof top restaurant was amazing and service was excellent. Swimming pool needs to be cleaner a bit. Gym is well equipped.

Few suggestions :
The room service menu in the room was torned and the night staff in the room service could have been more suggestive. He was sounded like he had to close the shift and run down somewhere. The breakfast timing is more like a business hotel and closes down at 10:00 am.

Overall i had a great weekend to the hotel and I will recommend my friends to try this place for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pramod1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atithi-Pondicherry, General Manager at Hotel Atithi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us. We are happy to know that you have found our Hotel nice. Your other comments have been taken in a positive way. We will take necessary corrective action on the same

We shall look forward to welcome you again at Hotel Atithi.

Thank you
Amitava Roy
9003043214

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Recently went there with a big gang of 15 people and really so surprised with the quality of food.It really exceeded all our expectations and the whole gang throughly enjoyed the food.We thought at Rs 650 per head its as expensive as in Chennai, but really happy with the vareity and normally in a buffet, some dishes may not be to our liking ,but here each and every dish was soo good.Certainly recommand this place for Buffet.Please note we all had veg.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chandru_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atithi-Pondicherry, General Manager at Hotel Atithi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest

It was indeed a pleasure to know that you have liked our Buffet so much. ON your next visit please visit our Roof Top Terrace Grill, where you can get the best BBQ food of the Town.

Thank you
Amitava Roy
9003043214

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with friends for the weekend. Location is convenient as it is in the center of the city and close to Promenade beach. Rooms are neat and also loved the food at restaurant. Staff is also very courteous. There is a rooftop swimming pool that is open from 7 am to 7 pm. Loved the place. Definitely worth staying.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sabeesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atithi-Pondicherry, General Manager at Hotel Atithi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. It was indeed pleasure to know that you have liked staying here.

Please do visit us again

Thank you
Amitava Roy
9003043214

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Have been to most of the restuarants in pondy..but for the first time felt great with the hospitality there...nice ambience, good desserts n starters except for the main course which could be made still etre and may be then increase the choice of dishes in buffet..but had great dinner there...went for a dinner along with my friend who gave a surprise treat and cake...really appreciate the way they treat their customers...loved it!!wanna try roof top next!!
Best place to stay n dine for tourists

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jaahnavi_konidala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atithi-Pondicherry, General Manager at Hotel Atithi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the Comments. Please try our Roof Top Terrace Grill. We serve the best BBQ in town there.

We shall look forward to welcome you again at Hotel Atithi

Thank you

Amitava Roy
9003043214

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at this property for 2 nts with my wife & 5 other couple friends. Its a gem in hotel industry. Check in was smooth , nice welcome drlnks. The hotel front desk lady Ms Neema was kind to upgrade me to room 416. Rooms are luxurious , spacious , comfortable. Went to their spa. Good service. After check out when we were at Vellore on way to Tirupati, got a call from Ms Neema that i have left my id & cash in room safe. I was surprised that i didnt remember forgetting these. When enquired, cash of rs.17500- & id of myself with my wife were left in room. I arranged for our taxi driver who went to hotel back & he brought my things back. Tnanks to the hotel .

Room Tip: Executive rooms on front side. Room 416 has nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 952KayDee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atithi-Pondicherry, General Manager at Hotel Atithi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a nice comment. I am very proud my Team.

You kind words has been shared with the Team Member and they are highly motivated by this.

We shall look forward to welcome you again at Hotel Atithi

Thank you

Amitava Roy
9003043214

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Atithi is a very good hotel in a great location, clean rooms, prompt services, and other amenities like a terrace pool, spa, in house cafe, restaurant, lounge, and parking for your car. Buffet breakfast in the morning was really good, so was the a-la-carte dinner in their restaurant The only issue I had was with the ACs. I found them to be a tad bit ineffective, and in a place like Pondy, I think that matters a lot. Although we did not use the spa, we were surprised to see that it lacks an AC, which is a big minus according to me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagabond_Chic321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atithi-Pondicherry, General Manager at Hotel Atithi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to know that you have liked our food, services, pool and clean rooms.

Regarding your feedback on AC has been noted, shall take the necessary steps.

We shall look forward to welcome you again at Hotel Atithi

Thank you
Amitava Roy
9003043214

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.2 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#5 of 82 in Pondicherry
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
1.6 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#18 of 82 in Pondicherry
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
0.7 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,142 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#24 of 82 in Pondicherry
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atithi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atithi

Address: 126 S V Patel Salai, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: £41 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atithi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atithi is set amidst the flower lined avenues of Pondicherry, a quaint town situated on the stunning shore lines of the eastern seaboard of India. Situated in close proximity to the commercial district and tourist attractions, Atithi is the perfect choice for both the corporate client and the discerning traveler. A blend of old world charm and unmistaken southern hospitality will welcome you at this charming hotel situated in a corner of the world where Mother Nature continues to hold her own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atithi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing