We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting for nice dinner”

Neemrana's Carte Blanche
Ranked #37 of 375 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$11
Cuisines: Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Topping my list of favourites in Pondicherry would be the HOTEL DE L'ORIENT on Rue Romain Rolland, which remains true to its Neemrana non-hotel ethic in its sublimely atmospheric CARTE BLANCHE courtyard restaurant. I honestly couldn't decide which I liked more - the soup glacee aux concombres et amandes, a truly light and delicious cold soup made with cucumber and almonds or the equally refreshing figues sechees aromatisees a l'eau de rose (oranges, dates and dry figs in a salad dressed with rose water).
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for nice dinner”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The courtyard of a beautifully restored heritage building is a great setting for some French-influenced Tamil (and vice versa) cuisine. Attentive service and a no-rush atmosphere means you can enjoy some nice food ina beautiful setting at a relaxed pace - exactly what Pondicherry should be.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank artmanintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Carte Blanche, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging feedback !

It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed the cuisine and the ambience of the courtyard restaurant and your compliments are huge motivators for the entire team; who strive hard to deliver quality service.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable meals in future.

Warm Regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    83
    36
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auroville, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Dinner @ Hotel de l'Orient”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had always admired the architectural splendor of Hotel de l'Orient, we wanted to try its Cuisine also, when two of my friends want to treat us, we said why not Hotel de l'Orient. We went by 8.30pmto the dining area the staffs received us with good gestures and we ordered vegetable and panner pakora as starters and pastas, chicken salad as main course. The food served was extremely good, delicious and was served prompt. I would appreciate the ambience, the attitude of the staffs and taste of the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asaithambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Carte Blanche, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback about the Carte Blanche restaurant.

This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you for many more memorable meals.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Wonderful breakfasts and a great choice on the menu of both French and Indian based food. The fish was wonderful!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Carte Blanche, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read about your experience at the Carte Blanche restaurant at the Hotel de l’Orient.

Your appreciation about the breakfast and the cuisine has been conveyed to the Chef. He is pleased to know that you thoroughly relished the fish preparation.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Excellent choice of food including creole cuisine. Great atmosphere in the courtyard of the hotel with live classical music on Friday and Saturday. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Reasonably priced.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank discerning25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Carte Blanche, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

The Chef is delighted to receive your feedback about the Creole cuisine.

It is rewarding to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the courtyard restaurant, including the live music.

Your positive feedback about the service is a huge motivator for the entire team that strives hard to deliver quality service.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Valley
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Flatters to deceive”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We went with high expectations, but overall we were disappointed. The atmosphere and setting are great, but the food does't quite cut the mustard; and it is not cheap by local standards. The soup de poisson was delightful, but a find it hard to believe that, even in India, slightly oiled, sliced bread (without crusts) is supposed to replace crispy french bread with rouille.

Main courses were okay, but the chapattis were among the worst I have ever eaten in India. Surely, this is one thing you can get right! I reckon they can remember us now!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThamesValleyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Carte Blanche, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

Although we are pleased that you enjoyed the ambience of the courtyard restaurant, we are disappointed to receive your comments about the food.

We have shared your review with the Chef and his team and are confident that you will notice an improvement whenever you choose to visit next. Please do give our Chefs another chance !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neemrana's Carte Blanche also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Neemrana's Carte Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing