We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Neemrana's Carte Blanche
Ranked #42 of 381 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$11
Cuisines: Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Topping my list of favourites in Pondicherry would be the HOTEL DE L'ORIENT on Rue Romain Rolland, which remains true to its Neemrana non-hotel ethic in its sublimely atmospheric CARTE BLANCHE courtyard restaurant. I honestly couldn't decide which I liked more - the soup glacee aux concombres et amandes, a truly light and delicious cold soup made with cucumber and almonds or the equally refreshing figues sechees aromatisees a l'eau de rose (oranges, dates and dry figs in a salad dressed with rose water).
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very good atmosphere and good food. Restaurant staffs are so friendly and hope to go again in coming months with my friends and family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vinoth09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Carte Blanche, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about the Carte Blanche courtyard restaurant, in Pondicherry.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the cuisine and the ambience, and your encouraging compliments about the staff have been conveyed to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you choose to visit us next.

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Neemrana's Carte Blanche
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The food was below par. Everything we ordered was disappointing. They have to seriously do a total revamp in the kitchen department. For the ambiance and the wonderful period decor, the food was a total let down. The Steak we ordered was too chewy and tough though we wanted it well done. The potatoes that came with it was half cooked and inedible.
The Indian curry was also a total let down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ajit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Carte Blanche, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are sorry to learn that your visit to the Carte Blanche restaurant did not work out as expected and are writing to offer an explanation. Following your feedback, the matter was duly taken up by the management with the F&B team, which has been given the necessary instructions to ensure a better experience.

At the Carte Blanche, we serve Creole and Continental cuisine along with a few seafood dishes, to suit a range of tastes and palates. Further, noticing your displeasure, the team offered to replace your order for a medium done steak, with a fresh one instead; which was declined.

We thank you for your honest feedback and hope that you will give us a fair chance to overlay your past experience.

Warm Regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The courtyard of a beautifully restored heritage building is a great setting for some French-influenced Tamil (and vice versa) cuisine. Attentive service and a no-rush atmosphere means you can enjoy some nice food ina beautiful setting at a relaxed pace - exactly what Pondicherry should be.

Thank artmanintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Carte Blanche, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging feedback !

It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed the cuisine and the ambience of the courtyard restaurant and your compliments are huge motivators for the entire team; who strive hard to deliver quality service.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable meals in future.

Warm Regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had always admired the architectural splendor of Hotel de l'Orient, we wanted to try its Cuisine also, when two of my friends want to treat us, we said why not Hotel de l'Orient. We went by 8.30pmto the dining area the staffs received us with good gestures and we ordered vegetable and panner pakora as starters and pastas, chicken salad as main course. The food served was extremely good, delicious and was served prompt. I would appreciate the ambience, the attitude of the staffs and taste of the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Asaithambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Carte Blanche, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback about the Carte Blanche restaurant.

This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you for many more memorable meals.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Wonderful breakfasts and a great choice on the menu of both French and Indian based food. The fish was wonderful!

Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Carte Blanche, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read about your experience at the Carte Blanche restaurant at the Hotel de l’Orient.

Your appreciation about the breakfast and the cuisine has been conveyed to the Chef. He is pleased to know that you thoroughly relished the fish preparation.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neemrana's Carte Blanche also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Neemrana's Carte Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing