We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most helpful owner”
Review of Swades Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swades Guest House
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Ilyas had no room in his place, but arranged a budget self catering apartment for us nearby. When we arrived he sat down with us for an hour and told us all about Pondycherry and nearby places to visit. Where the best restaurants are, which ones are not to be trusted, and special sights to see, like the priests blessing the auto-rickshaws on a Friday afternoon etc. If we needed to get anywhere he arranged all the transport for us, and when we wanted to book a hotel at Mahabilipuram he phoned and got us a better deal than we could get ourselves onine. He seems to know everybody - if you go to Pondycherry you need to talk to Ilyas first.

Room Tip: He has lots of lovely rooms - ask for a roof room - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

A lovely place to stay, quiet, clean, our room with a balcony was lovely. Ilyas was very helpful and knowledgeable; his assistance was invaluable. I would recommend this place if you are in Puducherry.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Swades 8 days and was a real pleasure :) Ilyas and his wife are excellent hosts, and their tips were precious! Rooms are not that big, but really clean, and the terrace is a peaceful place to rest! I suggest people who don't want to spend a lot to take this option in consideration!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Istri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We used Swades as our base for 5 or so days in Pondy in June 2013. It had everything we look for in a budget guest house - friendly hosts with great english & french, good price, well located, great common area, wifi, private rooms, and even a kitchen for our use. The place is colourful and welcoming, and the shaded rooftop patios let the breeze come to cool things down a bit. Though expensive, the 200 inr breakfast is plentiful, served when you want it and comes with a big pile of delicious baguettes. Laundry is available but a bit expensive at 25 inr per piece...Oh, the downside is the loudspeaker of the mosque 2 doors down, which is fine in the daytime but at daybreak the call to prayer may jolt you up for the first morning or two. After the first morning, we slept right through it and it only lasts for 2 minutes. In the afternoon it was beautiful sitting on the roof top listening to the mosque next door and the more distant ones all doing the call to prayer one after the other.

Room Tip: Rooms can get stuffy. Choose an A/C room for 200 inr extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SulieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

great rooftop areas with wonderful location and nice rooms. I stayed there on two separate trips. The hosts are also wonderful people who will help navigate the city. I definitely recommend this place for anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Our room was a bit small, but the roof terrace was big enough to make up for this.
Hygiene in bathroom could have been a bit better.
Location is excellent. Very close to 'white town' and center of Pondicherry. Everything within walking distance.
The best thing was the advice we got from Iliyas. After arrival he sat down with us and went over a map with highlights of Pondi. Even good advice for restaurants and shopping. We followed a lot if his tips and it could not have been better!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onderweggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights during January with my husband. We had intended only to stay for 2 nights but the hosts are very nice and the area is an oasis in what is a very noisy pondicherry.

The tips given by Ilyas are very helpfull. We had a slight problem while in Pondicherry after our first day and thought we would move on as a result but after having a chat with Ilyas and his wife Arifa we were happy to extend our stay.

The house is located in a nice area with nice restaurants, bakery, juice bars, and street food all near by. Overall a very nice area, clean and close to everything.

We stayed in 3 of the 6 rooms available and all were clean and comfortable.

The roof terrace's are a very nice place to enjoy the evening breeze and meet fellow travellers.

I would recommend this to anyone visiting Pondicherry.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agusbaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.5 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 83 in Pondicherry
534 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 83 in Pondicherry
1,174 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 83 in Pondicherry
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#25 of 83 in Pondicherry
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valentine Hostel
Valentine Hostel
#8 of 123 in Pondicherry
4 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swades Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swades Guest House

Address: Swades Guest House Thippu Sahib Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Pondicherry
Price Range: £9 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Guest House located in a residential area, near to seashore and all restaurants and shops.We only have 5 rooms with attached bathroom, 2 rooftops, easychairs...We provide breakfast. Free WIFI connection. Taxi arrangements for Gingee-Tiruvanamalai, Mamallapuram, Cholas tempes road, Tanjore, Tranquebar, Chettinad, and tour around Kerala.We also arrange massage and whatever you need.Ilyas and Arifa ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing