We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value excellent hotel in Pondicherry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swades Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swades Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing value excellent hotel in Pondicherry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Fantastic little hotel, nice rooftop seating area to chill out in the evenings. The way the whole place is decorated fills it with character. For this price it was outstanding.

All the basic stuff was spot on, clean sheets/rooms, fast wifi internet in the room and included in the price, excellent hot showers.

It is located next to the french quarter so all the nice spots to visit in the town are just a stone's throw away, 5 mins walk and you are by the sea.

The hotel owner/manager was extremely helpful and gracious.

I cant find anything bad to say about this place, once you stay here its easy to see why this is number one in tripadvisor. And the price of it just makes it amazing value for money.

Highly recommended! If I come back to Pondicherry I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junglemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    56
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
42
104
105
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Ilyas had no room in his place, but arranged a budget self catering apartment for us nearby. When we arrived he sat down with us for an hour and told us all about Pondycherry and nearby places to visit. Where the best restaurants are, which ones are not to be trusted, and special sights to see, like the priests blessing the auto-rickshaws on a Friday afternoon etc. If we needed to get anywhere he arranged all the transport for us, and when we wanted to book a hotel at Mahabilipuram he phoned and got us a better deal than we could get ourselves onine. He seems to know everybody - if you go to Pondycherry you need to talk to Ilyas first.

Room Tip: He has lots of lovely rooms - ask for a roof room - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

A lovely place to stay, quiet, clean, our room with a balcony was lovely. Ilyas was very helpful and knowledgeable; his assistance was invaluable. I would recommend this place if you are in Puducherry.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Swades 8 days and was a real pleasure :) Ilyas and his wife are excellent hosts, and their tips were precious! Rooms are not that big, but really clean, and the terrace is a peaceful place to rest! I suggest people who don't want to spend a lot to take this option in consideration!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Istri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We used Swades as our base for 5 or so days in Pondy in June 2013. It had everything we look for in a budget guest house - friendly hosts with great english & french, good price, well located, great common area, wifi, private rooms, and even a kitchen for our use. The place is colourful and welcoming, and the shaded rooftop patios let the breeze come to cool things down a bit. Though expensive, the 200 inr breakfast is plentiful, served when you want it and comes with a big pile of delicious baguettes. Laundry is available but a bit expensive at 25 inr per piece...Oh, the downside is the loudspeaker of the mosque 2 doors down, which is fine in the daytime but at daybreak the call to prayer may jolt you up for the first morning or two. After the first morning, we slept right through it and it only lasts for 2 minutes. In the afternoon it was beautiful sitting on the roof top listening to the mosque next door and the more distant ones all doing the call to prayer one after the other.

Room Tip: Rooms can get stuffy. Choose an A/C room for 200 inr extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SulieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

great rooftop areas with wonderful location and nice rooms. I stayed there on two separate trips. The hosts are also wonderful people who will help navigate the city. I definitely recommend this place for anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Our room was a bit small, but the roof terrace was big enough to make up for this.
Hygiene in bathroom could have been a bit better.
Location is excellent. Very close to 'white town' and center of Pondicherry. Everything within walking distance.
The best thing was the advice we got from Iliyas. After arrival he sat down with us and went over a map with highlights of Pondi. Even good advice for restaurants and shopping. We followed a lot if his tips and it could not have been better!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onderweggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.5 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swades Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swades Guest House

Property: Swades Guest House
Address: Swades Guest House Thippu Sahib Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Guest House located in a residential area, near to seashore and all restaurants and shops.We only have 5 rooms with attached bathroom, 2 rooftops, easychairs...We provide breakfast. Free WIFI connection. Taxi arrangements for Gingee-Tiruvanamalai, Mamallapuram, Cholas tempes road, Tanjore, Tranquebar, Chettinad, and tour around Kerala.We also arrange massage and whatever you need.Ilyas and Arifa ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing