We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food served by attentive staff”
Review of Maison Perumal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison Perumal
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food served by attentive staff”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The restaurant in the courtyard of the hotel is very comfortable. The staff are attentive and the ambiance exudes peace.

They probably serve some of the best food in Pondicherry.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kurian_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    112
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
73
166
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Minimal decor and colonial style furniture. Very comfortable, great service, feels like being at home. Typical CGH property...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernSpice145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxwood, West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This is a small hotel (only ten rooms I think) housed in a converted heritage building, with internal courtyards, balconies, terraces and the correct two levels before the main door. The conversion appears to have been carried out very sympathetically. Our room was bright and airy, well equipped.
The restaurant appears to only do 1 set meal so you will have to go outside if staying for more than a day. Worry not for there are many eating places which you will come across when strolling around.
Make sure you have a good map, I got us lost several times.

The staff in the hotel are very attentive and friendly, as they are in all CGH hotels.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanPollington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgh_earth_experience, Vice President Marketing at Maison Perumal, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your kind words to describe your stay at Maison Perumal ; have also noted your comments on the lack of food options.
We have made some changes to expand our culinary offerings to present a delicate blend of Tamil and Keralan cuisine for lunches and fresh sea catch for dinners.
I'm confident you will not look for other options on your next stay with us.
We look forward to your repeat visit.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Vice President Marketing
cgh earth experience hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontenay-aux-Roses, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Good and warm welcome.
The hotel is nice and pleasant. The employees are also pleasant.
The breakfast and dinner were nice, generous.
It is possible to walk to the beach and to the market, it is not too far from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phinou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The management has its priorities absolutely right. The investment in staff who share the same view of how guests should be treated (namely, with warmth, courtesy and attention to every detail) gives a consistency of style which is exceptional. The house itself is a small gem, and rooms are charming and individual. All meals were excellent, with a chef who discusses hismeals with passion and pride, and the variations on a theme of fish and seafood were very fine. This is not 'haute luxe' or plastic perfection: it has infinite charm and character, and welcomes you in a warm embrace.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidandpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
282 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

A beautifully restored building in Pondicherry's Tamil Quarter, the Maison Perumal is an exquisite jewel. The staff is so warm and accommodating that you feel like a guest in a friend's home. Mr. Ramakrishnan, the manager, knows EVERYTHING about the city (sites, shops, bakeries, etc.). Another jewel in the crown of the CGH Earth Group

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panajody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

This is a lovely small hotel built around two courtyards. It is really stylish, and we had a lovely clean room and bathroom. The staff are very friendly, and all come out to say ‘hi’ on your arrival, including the chef, who will quiz you what you want for dinner, he buys the food in locally as required, and cooks it for you, the quality is superb, probably the best meal we had in India. Breakfast not quite as good as dinner, but more than adequate. The hotel has a small bar, where you can sit and have a beer after sightseeing in Puducherry, and you can of course have beer or wine with your meal. Free mineral water and Internet access are provided.

Puducherry is quite small, and all the sights are easily walkable from the hotel. We found the bazaar the most interesting, as we soon tired of the rather faded French architecture along the promenade, though the promenade does boast a good café, where you can rest in comfort overlooking the sea.

This accommodation was recommended by our tour operator, Kerala Connections in the UK. We were very happy with their choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.8 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#18 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Perumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Perumal

Property: Maison Perumal
Address: No 44 Old No 58 | Tamil Quarter, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Perumal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Maison Perumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing