We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service in this heritage hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Perumal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison Perumal
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
143 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Excellent service in this heritage hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel, quite unique, a heritage house that has been adapted to a lovely eco hotel, spotlessly clean and well maintained. We had a very warm welcome from Elbe, sorry if I've spelt the name wrong? Our welcome drink was the best we experienced in India a refreshing homemade ginger and lemon. As with all food and drink served in this hotel the ingredients are of the highest standard and a lot of thought goes into healthy eating.

It's located on the edge of the Tamil district but the French quarter is within easy walking distance. Our room, No.3 was very large with king size bed, desk area and a large shower with plentiful supply of hot water. We also had windows opening onto the roof terrace which was a nice area to sit at the end of the evening to read and relax.

We had our evening meal in the restaurant, it was a set menu ideal for fish lovers as everything was cooked fresh depending on the catch of the day. There were four courses and very good value at 990 rupees per person. Breakfast was also a set menu with fresh fruit, muesli, toast, croissants and eggs cooked to order, very healthy and wholesome it made a refreshing change from the buffet breakfasts we'd experienced throughout our tour of India.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and greatly appreciated the free wifi as well which so far has been unique in our experience of Indian hotels. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    106
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
70
155
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

One of the best that we have ever experienced. Personal attention and hospitality are at the top. True family atmosphere. Well maintained old India styled building. Gave a personal send-off when checking out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ureddi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We spent two nights at the Maison Perumal in January 2014 as part of a 30 day tour of South India. The Maison Perumal is characterful and friendly hotel located in town. The room that we were allocated on arrival proved to be extremely noisy at night as a result of constant barking by a neighbour's dog. The fact that the window would not shut tight made matters worse. We changed rooms the next day and that room was good (ask for rooms facing the inner courtyard and avoid rooms at the rear of the hotel or above the street at the front). The food quality and service at breakfast were good.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing the inner courtyard and avoid rooms at the rear of the hotel or above the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The maison perumal was the best of six hotels/resorts we experienced on a recent short visit to kerala and puduchery. The ambience is great the food good and the staff attentive and friendly. Being in the tamil quarter added to its interest compared with the portuguese/french/dutch/english quarter a block or so away.of special interest nearby (6 km south of pondy) was the site of the early ( 50-100 BC) Roman settlement at Arakamedu.

Room Tip: You will be lucky to get one-there are only 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

This heritage hotel was nice and clean with nice service and excellent lime drink. But not more. The breakfast was not more than good and all over the stay was average.Pondichery all over was disappointing, very far from something French as we thought.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yael855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pondichery
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

went for lunch on monday with my wife and my mother,food was nice and and service is very good.they always try to full fill your smallest details special thanks to chef robert and the kind server sorry don't know his name.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arjun_ple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Maison Perumal was our top choice for accommodation in Pondy but it was sold out. We stayed at the Villa Shanti, which had a better location in French quarter. We checked out the rooms at Maison Perumal and had lunch. My conclusion is that the heritage house ambience and the quality of the Kerala cuisine at Maison Perumal is superior. We also had dinner at sister hotel Palais de Mahe in Pondy. You can't go wrong with either of these 2 CGH establishments in Pondy

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roysush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.8 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#9 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#16 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Perumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Perumal

Property: Maison Perumal
Address: No 44 (Old no 58) | Tamil Quarter, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Perumal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maison Perumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing