We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & peaceful inn”
Review of Maison Perumal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison Perumal
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming & peaceful inn”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed for one night with our two young children. From the start, our kids loved it--from the floral garland and lemon-ginger drink on arrival, to the indoor swing in the lobby where they relaxed during check-in, to the bed in our room that made them feel like "king and queen." I had the fixed-price dinner--the only menu option--in the hotel restaurant, which was outstanding. I was a little nervous about what my picky children would eat, but the chef offered to make them a simple pasta and then ran down the street to get ice cream for them for dessert. My kids also enjoyed watching the chef's cooking demonstration at 6:30pm before dinner. Breakfast was also good and straightforward: juice/coffee/tea, toast and croissants, fresh fruit, eggs to order, idli.
Maison Perumal is a little gem right off of Mission Street near some good shopping, and also not far from the other Pondy sights. You won't regret staying in this charming, friendly place.

Room Tip: We had told them we were traveling with two young children, and our room was equipped with a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMom454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    112
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
77
166
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My wife and I came to Pondicherry for our 1st anniversary. After reading through several trip advisor reviews, we booked at the Maison Perumal. And what a difference it made.

This beautifully restored Tamil house is in the Tamil Quarter (not in the French Quarter) but within walking distance to the Promenade. If you are insistent on finding a place inside the French Quarter, then go for their sister property - "Palais De Mahe". Both the hotels don't face the sea.

The rooms are beautifully designed with antique furniture. There is no minibar in the room, but you can ask them to cool your wine or beer in their kitchen.

The breakfast was excellent, and comes with the room price. The lunch was superb- and the fish is from the morning's catch. The dinner at 900/- per head is a bit on the expensive side though, especially when there are plenty of options within the French Quarter.

The best part though was their service. Right from the moment we entered this place, we were very well looked after by the wonderful staff of Maison Perumal. The staff is the best hotel/restaurant staff I have ever visited- and I have travelled extensively, and lived across hotel classes. All the staff were experienced, friendly, and knew how to get the work done. For example, they informed me about my flat tire ( I hadn't realised it); all I had to do was give them the car keys- they got a mechanic to fix the tire. And within 2 hours I got my key back.

They offer free cooking lessons in the evening. My wife being a food nerd went one day; the staff also emailed her all the recipes.

We know for sure, next time we are in Pondicherry, we will stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeepakMenonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Everything about this boutique hotel is wonderful. It is an elegant, gracious place with only 10 rooms surrounding lovely open air courtyards filled with plants - very French in feel and so reminiscent of New Orleans. The staff is lovely, so helpful and accommodating. The breakfasts were excellent as well. The hotel is well located to anything in the quarter, and very near lots of shops on the market streets, but is on a quiet street making for pleasant sleep. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Excellent location in heritage town, next to Mission Street, with proximity to Aurobindo Ashram, sea side promenade, french colony eateries, churches & temples. The place is very well maintained & is a beautiful blend of old Tamil home charm and modern amenities. The open to sky centre courtyard & stained glasses and Burma teak pillars & balconies are a visual treat. The staff are warm & courteous and were very helpful in planning our daily outings including a guided tour of nearby places in a cycle-rickshaw (!), helping with car rental to visit Auroville & Paradise beach & of course good room service. The breakfast buffet was also good in all the days of our stay - specially the fresh seasonal fruits, soft & fresh croissants with eggs to order as well as the paper-thin dosas served with tasty chutney & sambhar. Special thanks to the Manager Sam & all the staff including Vijay.

Room Tip: Try room no. 2 on the 1st floor for best ambience & privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

A real find. Fantastic boutique hotel. Small and quiet and the best surprise was the meals. We had been travelling in Southern India for 3 weeks and we had the best food here, hands down.

To top off the food quality, the staff were first class, with a friendly "family" style welcome.

Can not rate this hotel any higher, if you are looking for comfort, cleanliness, service and great food.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a small boutiquey-style Hotel in the French quarter.
Part of the cg-hotels group it's sister hotel is the Palais de Mahe, also in Pondicherry.
It's a haven of tranquility in a sea of bustle. The style is old colonial and there's a small inner courtyard where you have your meals. The food is freshly prepared every day and the chef caters for his individual guests. If you're staying for Dinner he'll requisition fresh Lobsters or Prawns and cook them to suit your taste.
There's a small Bar which is separate from the dining area and it's a great spot for a relaxing drink before Dinner. Breakfast is a fantastic start to the day and once again the staff will cater for your individual needs.
The rooms are large, impeccably clean and cool.
This was a real find and I can't recommend it more highly. Deserves 6 stars.

Room Tip: There's no pool but they have an agreement with their sister hotel 'The Palais de Mahe'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdsnestbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Lovely heritage hotel in a nice and convenient area of Pondicherry .
The hotel is quiet , spotless, and well maintained. From the moment we were greeted with a delicious and refreshing lime and ginger drink, we realized how pampered we would be by the impeccable staff. Dinner and breakfast were abundant and tasteful , before dinner the chef also showed us how to prepare a delicious fish curry .
But the staff really shined when one person in our group forgot his passport and money in the hotel room safe. He didn't realize it until the manager of the hotel called our guide ( we were almost two hours away from Pondicherry ) and they brought everything for a small fee to the hotel we were staying the next day . Incredibly efficient and honest staff!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank flarav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.8 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
477 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
507 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 82 in Pondicherry
599 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Perumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Perumal

Property: Maison Perumal
Address: No 44 Old No 58 | Tamil Quarter, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Perumal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maison Perumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing