We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soorya Beach Resort
Ranked #103 of 150 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An average resort”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Resort is not in pondicherry but in Tamilnadu,
since it borders pondicherry, every one falls for the trap.
The rooms are good, but some minor problems with taps etc are there.
Good things of the resort,
staff good, reception good, rooms ok, ambience good, pool ok,

average things of the resort,
taps etc are problem, electricity is on and off,
breakfast is average, most of the dishes are same daily except one or two,
you get daily idli sambar dosa chutney, bread
they should change the dishes daily, being in south India, you get lots of items for breakfast,
like pongal,. kharabhath, puri, etc
parking inside is problem, but outside you get parking.

Room Tip: dont take breakfast included tariff, you can have it outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mssthirdeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SooryaResort, General Manager at Soorya Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
greetings from soorya beach resorts!! thanks for reviewing our property. we will keep improving the standards in the coming days. expecting your support and recommendations in the days to come. happiness always !! thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    15
    19
    15
    52
See reviews for
38
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The worst stay i have ever had in my last 16 years of corporate and leisure travel.

1-I was made to wait for 1 hour upon arrival despite having reservation.
2-I was told that i will be given a suite room without AC in May-
3-The room was like an oven and upon repeated requests, i was given a room on the ground floor which was smelly and had ants crawling all over the walls and bed.
4-I did realize in the evening that this place is for people who pick up women in the neighboring city and wants to have a good time.It was full of them in the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abdulrcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A truly horrifying experience at the Soorya beach Resort,Pondicherry.We had gone to pondicherry few days back.We booked 2 rooms(Deluxe, beach front) in this resort for 3 nights .Right after checkin in we found that the rooms we have checked in are under renovation. Several wires were seen overhanging from the ceiling and sockets. Few people came in to fix the balcony shutters etc. The worst part was that every 5 mins there were power cuts ! We complained several times ,but the staff chose to ignore.I could not believe that this rate of power cut went on for the next few HOURS!! To add fuel to the fire, AC was not cooling enuf! We later realized that the AC s cooled enuf only at night ,say after 9 pm or so ..Not sure exactly how the staff managed this !!
Still we ignored the above thinking the next day would be better ..Well the next day proved to the worse than my nightmares.We returned after visit to the Aurobindo Ashram at about 2 pm afternoon.Right from the time we entered,it felt like we were living in a construction zone!! Very loud noise of repair/ renovation work going on in the lobby in front of our rooms and around felt disgusting ! On top of that when I went to take a shower, the water suddenly went off ! I think the worst of all hotels have these basic amenities intact .Can you imagine standing in the bathroom in the middle of a shower and waiting for water to return for 25 mins ?? Although my husband made repeated calls to the reception and they kept on saying that water would return in 5 mins etc, it never did ! When after 25 mins it did come, it was dirty/ yellow in color ,not suitable for use. Well this was truly the end of my patience and we decided to leave the hotel immediately .
Please DO NOT be fooled by the nice pictures shown in the website .The inside does not match it at all! Horrible and very very delayed room service (It takes 45 mins to deliver 4 cups of tea)They provide single blankets in a double accommodation room. After we asked for extra, what was given was a completely torn one!! No house keeping done even after request !For Rs.3800/ per day , I definitely would not expect any of the above !
WHAT A WASTE OF TIME, MONEY and ABOVE ALL ,PRECIOUS HOLIDAY !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biswased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have been associated with this resort sorry my second home for over 2 years now. They includes the owner to the administration team look forward to improving themselves with one objective 'cl for customer delight'.
Safety could be the second name for this home. Very customer friendly staffs, has good rooms for all budgets, food at your call and you can customise for your taste, amazing location to unwind without being disturbed.
Take your family our yourself. You will never be alone.
I cannot close this without mentioning Mr.Jai Mr Surrender for my entire 2 yrs n still Mr Balaji Mr Williams and Mr Stephen these new guys just were well moulded by the seniors. Don't think twice just call them if u have a room jus book it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cityman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry, Pondicherry, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very Pleasant & comfortable experience for family stay, I recommend for the valuable stay for the family, Very good ambiance of restaurant & Garden restaurant and swimming pool, Very close to beach and aurovill international town ship, just 5 KM from Pondicherry bus stand.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are admirable location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NiviShiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SooryaResort, General Manager at Soorya Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
thanks for reviewing our property. we will keep improving the standards in the coming days. expecting your support and recommendations in the days to come. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Well, this place has got potential to be good. It's located near the highway and is easily approachable.

Decent rooms with bright colours makes it lovely.

Swimming pool needs to improve and water needs to be cleaner.

But, if one only wants to go Pondi to drink and sleep, then this place is fine !!'

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SooryaResort, General Manager at Soorya Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
thanks for reviewing our property. we will keep improving the standards in the coming days. expecting your support and recommendations in the days to come. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here once before in 2010, but this time the place had gone down in ruins. the only and one reason for starting here is close to auroville and the auro beach.. but then there are other much better options around. I took my parents to pondi and because of the limited time they had, and non availability of other options for a day.. stayed here and moved next day. First.. Despite advance booking 2 rooms.. they said they only had one room accommodating 4 ppl.so mom dad and two of us adult children had to stay in same room. The bathroom was dirty shower faulty and door does not lock!! 5 calls for a bedsheet or blanket.forget any towel or toiletries. The saddest part now.. Our driver had to sleep in car since no driver room or even extra room that we could book. And it rained the whole night.poor fellow was not allowed to even stay in the reception area at night or lie down in the sofa there. The crazy security guard even once tried to ask us to park outside dinner he did not feel like portioning hate in rain. Pathetic place and staff!! should be shut down or really done something about.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gdyru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SooryaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Soorya Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for reviewing our property. We are improving the standards all these days. Expecting your support and recommendations in the days to come. Need your support and recommendations. I am sure you will enjoy the stay with improved facilities in professional hands. Thank you.
jaichandran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pondicherry
3.8 mi away
The Ashok Beach Resort
The Ashok Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Kalapettai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
9.6 mi away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#40 of 76 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Prince Park Farm House
Prince Park Farm House
#29 of 111 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
3.5 mi away
St. James Court Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Beach Bubbles Hotel
Beach Bubbles Hotel
#63 of 150 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soorya Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soorya Beach Resort

Property: Soorya Beach Resort
Address: Main Road, Near Auroville - Pondicherry | Bommaiyar Palayam, near Auroville, Pondicherry 605104, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soorya Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soorya Beach Resort is ideally situated on a secluded white sand beach at Bommaiyar Palayam (near city of dawn Autroville). Secluded but not isolated. That's the beauty of staying at Soorya Beach Resorts. You privacy is kept sacred, but it doesn't isolate you from the world. The Resort has tastefully set & well maintained rooms and eco friendly cottages, garden facing rooms, sea facing rooms, family suite, premium suite with have a fabulous private balcony overlooking the sandy beach and the sea. Soorya Beach Resort is an ideal venue for a most pleasant holidaying place at Pondicherry providing affordable luxury. The resort has all modern facilities in the accommodation, separate garden restaurant, a roof top restaurant, a health spa centre and a well equipped gym. The hotel also boasts a full range of audiovisual equipment a fully trained, professional and caring staff, so that every need related to its guest stay is anticipated and taken care of in a timely manner.Look at the modern facilities listed below that one can enjoy: DTH Satellite TVs In All Rooms, WI-FI totally free of charge, In - House Laundry & Direct Dial Facilities , 24 Hours Running Hot 'N' Cold Water, Safe Deposit Lockers, Browsing Centre, WI - FI Access In All Rooms, Multi-Cuisine Garden Restaurant, Multi Cuisine Roof Top Restaurant, Room Service , Coffee Shop, Conference Hall & Board Rooms, Theme Parties As On Request , Sea Boating , All major Credit Cards accepted, Discotheque On Request For Parties , Spacious Car Parking, Currency Exchange , Volley Ball & Badminton Courts, Children's Park And Pay Accessories , Birds Collection For Recreation And Natural Fish Pond, Sight Seeing & Travel Assistance, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Soorya Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing