We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Pondicherry”
Review of Dumas Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dumas Guest House
Ranked #10 of 155 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I am a frequent traveler, used to stay in backpackers, guesthouses, or hotels depending whether I'm on business-trip or holidays. In other words, I am used to different kind and prices regarding accommodation overall.
Last April, I spent about 10 days at Dumas Guest House with a friend of mine and it was wonderful! We really had a great time from the first day until our departure. The guesthouse is beautiful; built around a typical colonial house, surrounded by plants and flowers, providing various relaxing places to lay down and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of this house.
The room was spacious, comfortable, very clean, furnished with style, and we slept really well (I am pretty demanding regarding beds and I was pleasantly surprised).
The location is really practical to move everywhere in the city, and is at a short walking distance from different restaurants, the seafront, as well as the market area.
But what will make your stay an unforgivable experience is the kindness of our hosts…from the taxi they organized for us at the airport, to their warm welcome with a nice cup of fresh ginger tea, including their recommendations regarding places to eat, site seeing to do, areas to avoid, etc. they were really helpful and always in a good mood! They answered all questions we had and made us suggestions for the rest of our trip. Nothing is really trouble at Dumas'.. if you ever face a problem, even not linked to the guesthouse, they always help and make sure you enjoy your stay.
Whether you are backpackers travelling in India, or a family on holidays, or a couple looking for a nice spot to rest, I definitely recommend Dumas Guest House for a delightful stay in Pondicherry! even for few days, you will enjoy it all the way…and for a very decent price. I am already scheduling another trip there ;0)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Kehzya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Dumas Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Only stayed for one night.

However great value for money.. It is nice to have a room near the garden where you can sit outside.

Staff is friendly and helpful, and even thinks proactively, even when we had to leave early the next morning they arranged an early breakfast! Furthermore they have some good restaurant recommendations around town and probably also good tour info!


Definitely worth your money!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank AnnaaaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a delightful place.... we were recommended here from another place that had no vacancy.
After a telephone confirmation, we exchanged e mails and the replies were always prompt. We were also offered a taxi from Chennai airport , which was much cheaper than the quotes of other travel agencies.
The Guest House was far better than what we expected. The room was large, very clean and the attached bathroom was a delight. The management , husband and wife, were ever so helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. They recommended reasonable places to eat, touristy places to visit, shopping areas to go to and best of all the areas to avoid. we were two senior citizens, females, and were a little worried of what to expect. But it all was a very pleasurable trip.
Its right next to the Promenade and walking distance to almost anywhere.
A taxi was arranged to take us to the Ashram the next day also to our next destination, Tranquebar.
Will definitely visit again.. its value for money...with breakfast thrown in...

Room Tip: All rooms were identical ...or so I thought...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I cannot find any fault with the Dumas. Our room was comfortable, with a terrace with table and chairs. As it was all set back from the road it was very peaceful, and we slept really well. The hosts were attentive and charming. The included breakfast was great. The public areas were well maintained, with lots of interesting plants. It was at the most attractive end of the one of the streets in the historic centre, and only two minutes walk to the seafront, with a wide range of restRoom aurants within a few minutes walk. It was very good value for money.

Room Tip: We had room 8 which was great
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank readsandtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Beautiful place where you feel every detail is taken care: a hand towel, a shower separated, nice decoration, nice presentation of breakfast, wonderful staff! And the most important, you get plenty of information and help from Jacquie, the owner, from what to do, where to buy, where to eat, how to continue with your journey in India. Both Jacquie and her husband very generous in every sense.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank noralib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed for four days in January and I was sad when we left. This is definitely going to be my destination the next trip I take to Pondicherry. Jackie and Bala were the greatest - warm, funny, helpful, just all around great hosts. And the location, one street away from the Promenade, was wonderful. I will never stay in a hotel again. What a different experience a guest house makes. Thanks again. Barbara Heavin

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed here for 1night longer than anticipated in January, a welcoming quiet place,very friendly and helpful owners, and so conveniently located for walking to the promenade, sight seeing etc.very comfortable room, hot shower.
Would highly recommend for all travellers, but particularly for solo travellers

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank SarahCambridge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.0 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
#22 of 82 in Pondicherry
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Escale
L'Escale
#6 of 155 in Pondicherry
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Closerie
La Closerie
#12 of 155 in Pondicherry
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumas Guest House

Address: No 36 Dumas Guest House Rue Dumas Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range: £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing