We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel... Not so good location...”
Review of Mango Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Hill
Ranked #11 of 149 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel... Not so good location...”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The hotel is nice and comfortable. Calm and serene.

The location is not so great though.It is some 5-7 Kms away from Pondicherry and in a village. You will have to take a right turn if you are coming from Chennai on ECR road and is difficult to locate. Thanks for google maps which helped :)

The restaurant has decent food but options for vegeterian is very limited.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first or 2nd floor. Ground floor rooms are not advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumitskj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    129
    52
    20
    19
See reviews for
78
102
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My family and I were on a weekend getaway to Pondy. We had booked a classic room for my husband and myself and a suite for our parents. Both the rooms were lovely and clean. I loved the view of the pool from our room which was even more beautiful by the night. There is a Spa and a Cheese cellar but unfortunately due to time crunch we couldn't see either. The restaurant is awesome with an open place to sit back and relax and I loved the interiors here, done European style which gives a hint of the cultural diversity of Pondy. Ample car parking and close vicinity to Auroville are plus points.

Room Tip: The classic room is amazing for people who enjoy being close to nature, also value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nams2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We drove down from Chennai for a weekend getaway and had a bit of trouble getting there because we missed the signage on the main road (ECR) and the approach road is very narrow. But all our fatigue vanished when we entered the quaint-looking resort. I stayed in a Classic Room overlooking the swimming pool. The room was very elegantly done with clean linen and comfortable bed. The food was quite disappointing for the price they charged. That said, the time we spent there was really relaxing, though in hindsight I should have opted for a property on the beach. I wanted to rate this 'Good' but since that option isn't there I'm giving this an upgrade!

Room Tip: You might want to have a car to yourself since the place is fairly remote. Carry books as there isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddharth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Travelled in June 2012.

The place is beautiful and we had stayed in thai cottage. Below are some of positives and negative

1: The overall feel of the place is awesome. The rooms is beautiful, espically the balcony, open right above the swimming pool. Perfect place to have a drink. The swimming pool is neat and clean

2: The food is pretty ok but the breakfast was pathetic

3: Location wise it takes time for you to find this place and the less said about the auto's in Pondi the better.

4: You can rent a bike at the hotel and that is the best part, we rented out at a nominal rate. But yes, you need to be careful with the direction back to the hotel. There are many chances that you might lose the way. No sign boards adds on further to the confusion

5: Room service was bad. Our room was not cleaned until we had walk down and inform the management to clean it.

If you looking at the ideal place to relax, the do visit mango hill.

Room Tip: If staying in Thai Cottage then make sure that you plan your stay during winters. Else it gets reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeshSikchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This place seemed good.. However the food was pathetic. The service was worst.. I visited this place for lunch once.. and I hated my experience out here. The hotel lies on an aloof road, where autos are hard to find.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priyankaduggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Located close to Auroville and about 10 minutes drive from the beach, just off the East Coast Road, the Mango Hill is in a nice location if you have a car to drive around.

Thai cottages are non-AC but probably only cool and nice in winter. Dinner was good with good a-la-carte options.

The design is tasteful, swimming pool was reasonably clean, overall service was ok. Good place at a reasonable price point for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed.Lovely place for a getaway.Hotel is amazing with beautiful rooms.we had stayed in a thai cottage with a balcony facing the pool.It was a dream come true relaxing in that balcony.One cannot mention anything negative about this place.The people were very hospitable and ready to serve you with a smiling face.Above all the place is very cheap for the facilities they provide compared to other hotels and resorts.My first stay here and am very sure i will be visiting the place again and again.The pool is simply wonderful and the whole hotel is well designed but the lighting is a bit dull.The crowd is very decent.the food served there is of a different class.Be it a couple or family this place will be a memorable stay.More of a classy place.well done guys!! you just have a great place out there making people happy and relaxed.We will definitely visit this awesome place again!!

For people who wish to have a romantic time with your loved ones.Here is the heart warming wonder!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinodhram_srec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
5.4 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#19 of 81 in Pondicherry
765 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 81 in Pondicherry
596 reviews
4.7 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 81 in Pondicherry
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 81 in Pondicherry
1,110 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
13.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 81 in Pondicherry
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Hill

Property: Mango Hill
Address: Between Pondicherry and Old Auroville Road | Bommayapalayam Village, Pondicherry 605104, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Hill, a gracious Indian hotel with French touch, located on a hill planted with mango and cashew trees, between Pondicherry and Auroville, on the bay of Bengal. An eco-friendly haven of serenity just outside the city. The spacious main house has 14 elegant rooms with private terraces and a large restaurant offering Indian and French specialties. Surrounding a large swimming-pool, 10 Thai cottage style rooms with sea view. Beside the pool is an Ayurvedic spa to restore harmony and balance to mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mango Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Hill Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing