We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad experience”
Review of Mango Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Hill
Ranked #11 of 150 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very bad experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Hi we stayed recently in mango hill hotel in a suite room on the ground floor. The property is good and the swimming pool is excellent. But the Service is very bad, Moreover the person who is incharge of the reception is very arrogant and rude in handling the guest. when we informed the front desk people about him they said he is the owner son. Severe power cuts made our stay horrible ......they have the power back but no use.Every weekend we make a trip to pondicherry but this is the worst experience we had.....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anithasivaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arnaudla, Owner at Mango Hill, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Guest, greetings from MANGO HILL. We are very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay in MANGO HILL. We try our best to satisfy all guest expectations. However , we have some rules necessary to ensure the security and the comfort of all the guests. During your stay you have been consuming some alcoholic drinks from outside near the swimming-pool, without informing us, which is strictly forbidden. Regarding the powercuts we have to face in Tamilnadu, we have two gensets that supply all the needs of the hotel and you can be sure they are always running.
Sorry again your stay was not as pleasant as you expected and MANGO HILL team is looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    124
    52
    18
    19
See reviews for
75
99
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The exterior of the resort, the grounds, the pool, the restaurant and the rooftop terrace which is in the making (seems to be almost complete) are beautiful. The pool was large, clean and not over crowded with a gorgeous tree built into the middle of it. On the first day though, there were a few men hanging around the pool who weren't swimming, I wasn't too fond of that. Pool towels were very stained. You can order drinks by the pool, but you can't eat there.

The restaurant was great. I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner and all my meals were fantastic. Beautiful salads, mains and desserts. Service was also very good.

The rooms were disappointing to me. I had booked a suite, it was just a bigger classic room with a bathtub. The two suites I was showed to had a distinct damp/mould smell. They were on the lower two levels of the hotel. Eventually I was showed a slightly cheaper classic room on the 3rd (top) floor. This was better ventilated without the damp smell. Cost was 3000 rs or $60 / night. For that price, I would expect to get shampoo and conditioner and hand towels, but none of those things were provided. 3 lamps in the room had no functioning bulbs. The lock on the room door was pathetic. Room seemed to be pretty clean but stains on the bathroom towels and the hot water in the room didn't seem to really work during the two showers I had. One of the fans was noisy and overall the room design didn't appeal to me a lot.

Check in and check out were super efficient and all the hotel staff were very nice. The wifi was also reliable, slow, but consistently working both from my room and in the restaurant.

I am not sure if I would stay again. The pool and restaurant were so great - five stars, but I think the rooms need a bit of TLC and a few extra touches and are not great value for money. Location is also a little out of the way from the beach and Pondy so you either need to get your own transport or be willing to pay tourist prices for rickshaws (e.g. 200-250 rs. one way to Pondy).

Room Tip: Top floor ocean/pool view is likely the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank untiligettobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My friend and I needed a weekend get-away from work in Pondy. We reserved a "non-AC room R2,500. double occupancy, two beds" We had quite a long conversation on the phone about the two beds -- and I was assured "Yes madam, it's ok, we just move the beds apart". So, imagine our surprise when we were shown our :Thai cottage" (a 10'x12" cabin with a pointed roof and balcony over the pool) and a single bed made of two futon-style mattresses made up on a concrete platform. "Oh-oh" we said. We asked for two beds. "No problem madam" said the girls, who promptly began to put the bed sheets off, and move the mattresses apart. By 4 cm. When we made it clear that this would not do, we took our luggage back to the front desk and asked for a room with two separate beds. "but madam, we don't have any". Eventually we were shown the "Classic Room" which has a king-sized bed, again made up of two futons laid beside each other on a cement platform. This room at least had a bench that could be used as a 2nd bed (see the photo of the room). "Same price?" "Yes, same price madam". So we stayed.

There were a few other oddities. Like the fact that you can get wine and beer (Indian) in the afternoon, but no cocktails before 7pm; like the "Garden Salad" which looks like an antipasto plate (see photo); or that in a place where they make their own cheese, both cheese omelettes that I ordered came with fromage inconnu (see photo); and that in an establishment built and run by French people, crescent-shaped rolls were offered instead of actual croissants.

The dining and lounge area is nice, airy, with exposed red-brick walls and wooden furniture with Indian textiles in shades of red and gold; you can see into the kitchen, and watch the chefs work, if you like. The ambience, created by film posters and some little architectural flourishes is vaguely French colonial (see photo). The Hindu and other news papers were available every morning, and the intenso coffee (their version of espresso) was, 3 times out of 4, quite good. The Indian portion of the menu was tasty, even if the French part was less so, and the music in the dining and reading lounge was a consistently pleasant blend of jazz, blues, symphonic and various French chanteurs et chanteuse. While the staff are under-trained and could really use some assistance at the front of the house, they are kind, courteous and accommodating. Its not their fault they don't really understand what good service is.

There is a milky-turquoise pool with a tree providing shade in the middle, good shallow, shaded areas for children, and lots of chaise lounges and towels for guests. The chaise are not particularly clean, and suffer from both mildew and crows. In our room, someone had written "dirty" in the dust of the bathroom window sill. The rest of the room was fine. So, again, better staff training would go a long way.

An Ayurvedic masseur (male) offers a number of massage treatments. I had the "Nuts Butter Massage" which included cashew paste and three other nuts, names unknown. Be prepared to strip down totally, and have a cotton loin-cloth used to cover your pubic areas. As will general practice in India, you'll climb onto a wooden plank table, with minimal comforts. But there is a small shower that can be used afterwards. Aficionados of massage are likely to be disappointed, especially if you're used to Balinese, Thai, Swedish or any 'Spa' type massage experience. But of all the massages I've had in India, this was definitely the best. He actually knows something about anatomy.

Mango Hill is quite popular on weekends with what seem to be expats from Pondicherry and Auroville, coming in for the day with their children. I heard French, English, Tamil, Italian and Spanish being spoken.

So, overall, this is a comfortable setting and a good place to relax, but don't expect too much. Our check-out was a bit problematic, because they'd charged us the regular (higher) price for the room without two beds. But a manager accepted our explanation and all was fine.

I'll go back. It's the kind of place that you can enjoy once you've learned what not to ask for.

Room Tip: The Thai cottages have metal roofs that catch a lot of sun.So they're hot (and have no air-condi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizLeslieLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The resort is really cool , but there s nothing called sea view , Really spacious and clean rooms , we found the food to be average , the swimming pool is really clean , take the room facing the Pool u can relax in the evening . There s kerala ayurvedic massage parlour out there which is cheap compared and does really well , it is worth the stay

Room Tip: Dont take the sea facing room s not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiruvannamalai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

After staying in many different places in and around Pondicherry (we are regular Pondicherry visitors for the past 12 years) we finally seem to have found the perfect place that works for the whole family (2 adults with 6-year old twin-girls). In the past 2 years we visited this hotel 5 times, between 2 and 4 days. We have a consistent positive experience be it the atmosphere of the whole place, cleanliness and beauty of rooms, quality and taste of food (try the fish dishes and the cheese...), friendliness of staff, cleanliness of the pool and so on. Finally a place far away enough from the noisy town, without screaming televisions in adjoining rooms (believe it or not there are NO televisions in the rooms - what a relieve for people who are looking for relaxation and serenity!!!). The members of the French family who own the place are very friendly, helpful and directly involved in the day to day business, which guarantees a well appreciated French flavor to the whole setup. We will come again and again and again...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augvolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

i happened to spot mango hill on my annual trip to auroville and ive decided to definitely stay there during my next trip. the service is excellent. the best ive experienced so far! the food is really good. you actually get exotic french food like bouillabaise and creole food as well...and it tastes really good. the pool is really pretty with its giant cashew tree right in the middle of it. its got a cute little boutique store and they also make their own cheeze. what more can you ask for....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vyshnavi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kakinada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

It was a very pleasant stay. The ambience of the hotel is superb. We stayed in the Thai Cottage and it was very romantic with the view of the pool. Moreover a distant view of the ocean can be seen from the balcony. The breakfast was not complimentary. They serve buffet breakfast which is expensive. The quality of the food is really good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Dany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
5.4 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#18 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
4.6 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
13.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Hill

Property: Mango Hill
Address: Between Pondicherry and Old Auroville Road | Bommayapalayam Village, Pondicherry 605104, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Hill, a gracious Indian hotel with French touch, located on a hill planted with mango and cashew trees, between Pondicherry and Auroville, on the bay of Bengal. An eco-friendly haven of serenity just outside the city. The spacious main house has 14 elegant rooms with private terraces and a large restaurant offering Indian and French specialties. Surrounding a large swimming-pool, 10 Thai cottage style rooms with sea view. Beside the pool is an Ayurvedic spa to restore harmony and balance to mind and body. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mango Hill Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing