We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“At Home Guest House 83, Yanam Vengadasalam Street, Pondicherry” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of At Home Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
At Home Guest House
Ranked #77 of 140 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“At Home Guest House 83, Yanam Vengadasalam Street, Pondicherry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

When we called this guy he acted as if hes from Harvard , all estyle and all . Just to be nice ,so we had to name him Mr.Harvard hmmm...
This so called home stay is located on a busy crowded narrow street with open drain running across the street , one has to jump over this before you get into the house . You will have to park ur car on the street right next to the gate.The kitchen stinks like hell we dare entered it cause because the fridge there is not clean from over 100 years. No drinking water You have to carry it from across the street your self I meant 25L can , cause once you have paid the money they are least bothered .The place is filled with clay pots and you only find ash's from cigar's and some cockroach droppings. Over 200 old used water bottles are stacked in the kitchen , guess the owner needs a collections of these or may be just to sell them off and make some extra change to the next door paper wala shop.The terrace is packed with cigaret buds and very very dirty chairs with bird droppings ,could not sit there even for 5 mins. AC bed room (only one) better plug ur ears cause it will take 2 days to cool the room down , bad dirty linen , and beds , If you want to enjoy a TV show better come with a microscope cause U wont find where the TV is.
In plain words just avoid this guys ,U'l find a much better place....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sandy1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The place is more expesive than the search results, at 3K per night, one can get a much better accomodation.Did not find this place great apart from the reason that its not that far from the promanade beach, but the best part of a vacation is service which was heavily lagging behind.

Room Tip: Rooms are good and airy, given its a service apartment, but the quality of service sucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I was looking for a weekend getaway from bangalore, so looking for budjet option for a group of four, looking at the reviews i found this place AThome guest house to be in budjet and that is what came in search result as well.
On giving a call i was told that they will respond back, which they did two days back with a tarrif of RS-3000 / night.
By looking at the pics provided by one of the traveller it did not seems justified to me and also i got a better deal, which is much higher ranked that this one.

I replied back that i dont want the deal as to me it seems that the price is a bit too high for an accommodation which is not even close to the beach area. I get a reply with loads of "GYAN" as to what is the correct price from Mr Manoj Dixit who tries to justify his high price.

so as a feedback for MR Manoj, please try to accept the fact that everyone may not like the tarrif set by you there are lots of better options in this range, try to improve on your ratings rather than sending "GYAN" which has not been asked from you.

Room Tip: I was tried to book here, but after the mail exchange from the owner i am really happy that i did no...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Saurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nongkhai,Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Tom and May,

First we decided to stay at At Home Guesthouse for 3 days, as the room we got was such a very nice 2 bedrooms, the kitchen and lovely living room and we felt like we stayed at home really we could cook, made hot tea many times we wanted, and the decoration was designed by the owner which is fabulous so that we changed our mind to stay 3 more nights.
The location is good to check out the places easily, very close to the centre of town.
If someone is looking for the place to stay in Pondicherry, I will indeed recommend AT Home Guesthouse and you will never get diappointed.

Room Tip: Spectacular room , good value and right position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sranya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We arrived during the weekend, which is a hard time to find a decent room for a reasonable price. As luck would have come across At Home, where we got in contact with Manoj... he was able to set us up with a really great apartment... it was the first time while backpacking through Asia that we felt like we were at a "home". It was super comfortable, great value and excellent location. And I can't say enough great things about Manoj! It is really nice to meet a local, talented artist, real honest, chill guy! There were just two of us, but I know some of his house can accommodate a groups... so lots of options!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amayfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kollam, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I visited pondy in April 2011. I did a lot of "google" ing before i selected this place. I was a bit budget oriented for this trip and we were 6 people. So i was searching for a service apartment, were all of us could stay together. As soon as i saw their website i called up Mr. Manoj-- an artist as well as the owner of this place. As soon as i told Mr manoj my requirements he told me that he had a 3 Bedroom house for rent and would mail me the pics of the place. As it was a weekend, Mr. Manoj offered me the entire house for Rs.2500/-(15% discount on a weekday!!!) I said yes the very next moment as i was pleased with the pictures he sent me. At Home Guest house is a budget Guest house with very good service! The house was completely furnished and air-conditioned. Mr. Manoj is a very warm and welcoming person.And moreover his property is situated very close to the Rocky beach-- a 3 minute drive! the property that i stayed is almost 500 meters from the Pondy railway station and 50 meters from the pondicherry stadium. I would recommend this place for couples and families! So guys Go ahead and choose this place-- 100% satisfacation assured! The pics ive posted is from the website--- it looks and feels much better in real!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeKalappurakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 mi away
Devis Grand
Devis Grand
#35 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
0.3 mi away
The Richmond, Puducherry
The Richmond, Puducherry
#33 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nila home stay
Nila home stay
#15 of 140 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coramandal Heritage
Hotel Coramandal Heritage
#7 of 140 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Radha
La Maison Radha
#2 of 140 in Pondicherry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Guest House

Property: At Home Guest House
Address: 74 At Home Guest House Ellaiammane Koil Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"At Home" is a premium accommodation, an alternative that represents Pondicherry’s Hospitality at its best. A visit to Pondicherry as a destination would remain incomplete without experiencing the warmth of staying in a typical home style – At Home. Whether you are looking for a personalized experience based holiday or a place to relax and be at peace during your hectic business travel or tedious hostel life, without compromising on the comforts of a hotel, our home stays balances the best of both worlds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing