We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supreb”
Review of L'Escale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Escale
Ranked #7 of 152 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Supreb”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Syperb experience. Good customer service.Syperb experience. Good customer service.Syperb experience. Good customer service.Syperb experience. Good customer service.Syperb experience. Good customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rituparna666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    83
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
39
94
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We decided to visit Pondicherry on my birthday and it was awesome. Took a drive from Chennai via the East Coast Road and checked in L'escale.

Was eager to stay in a French guesthouse as Pondi (as it in fondly called) is really famous for French architecture. L'escale was offering reasonable rates and the name positioned it as French :).

Am happy to say that we made the right decision as L'Escale has a great location overall very close to the main beach promenade. We usually ended up walking to the promenade which was fun in the night. Best restaurants of Pondi are within walking distance.

The rooms themselves are pretty basic with A/C (absolute necessity :)), bathroom and a balcony if you are staying on the higher floors. But they do have an amazing terrace which offers a great view of the sea and is mostly empty.

All in all this is one of the best value for money guestrooms which you can consider in Pondy for the nice French architecture and location.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors to get a balcony and closer access to the terrace which has a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreeBird312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

“ THE STAIRS !!!! ”

Neither a hotel nor a guest house.... just like home!!!!
A lovely spotlessly clean hotel .
Buuuut there is no lift !!!!
So it is the stairs you take everytime you want to go out or come back home !!!!
Stairs which were narrow and barely allowed my carcass through, high, winding...
BUT me a 68 yr. old could do it 3 times a day !!!!
It was well worth it because of the self confidence it instilled and was like doing a treadmill 3 times a day.
We had the roomm on the 4th. floor a pentagon, the best in the hotel with splendid views and the closest to the cafe on the top for breakfasts.
Well the breakfasts are an another story, fantastic warm croissants, muesli, loads and loads of fruits and juices topped with with a tea or coffee.
I had eggs too.
A beautiful clean hotel UHH HOME with wonderful proprietors and staff in pondy and close to all the action but for THE STAIRS. If you can climb I have yet to find something to beat this !!!!
Loved it and would love to visit it again and again !!!!

Room Tip: 4th. floor, the PENTAGON .... :) right next to the cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devalmody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

With a day or two left for the weekend, we wanted to do a drive and Pondi was ideal. Gotta a place to stay and tripadvisor tells me L'escale is a good option. Good reviews and I book it in less than 20 mins.

The place was just what is typed out by the fellow travellers in their reviews. No surprises whatsoever. It's a nice, cosy small building with 3 floors. We stayed in the 1st floor with a tiny balcony that had two cane chairs and a glass table, just perfect to sit down and look at the peaceful street with no honks (I hated some people honking with absolutely no logic in this area that has a clear "no horn" boards all across and its not even necessary, maybe they were honking at the sparrows in the trees). Anyway, I didn't sit in the balcony as it was quiet hot but would have loved to spend some time here if not for the weather. Perhaps a book, a drink or whatever you need to spend some time peacefully.

Coming to the stay, the room was quaint, simple but nice cot.. They just join two single beds if you opt for a double bed which I wouldn't really complain as they are even and don't cause any discomfort. The washroom has a little step and takes you in but voila, there's no door sans a curtain.

Overall. the stay was really comfortable and peaceful. It's a stroll away from the promenade. The service was excellent which is always a delight. Parking is on the street side and is at your own risk, and by risk I particularly mean the birds inking your vehicle, my car had quiet a lot of tattoos made by these the next morning.

I felt the breakfast was overpriced, really wanted to try it mainly because the terrace where it is served has a great view of the beach but then opted out. We had ours at the Indian Kaffe in the same street, it was great so we patted ourselves on that (Their pancakes finally reminded me of IHOPS, was great) .

Room Tip: Not sure if all the rooms have a balcony but do check, worthy to have one during your stay. Also, ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_world12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

L'escale is neither a boutique nor a hotel, but a guest house. Though, its located in the heritage area of Pondicherry (Ville Blanche) and the decor will certainly give you a feel of one. It has well appointed, well furnished rooms with antique design furniture and classic decor. The staff is courteous and efficient and serves generous helpings of hygienically cooked breakfast at their terrace lounge in the morning.

Keeping in mind that its a guest house, it doesnt have a room service or a restaurant/cafe/bar in premises, except for their morning breakfast service, which served at the terrace only.

The USP, as mentioned earlier is the guest house offers economical (by economical I mean mid-priced) accommodation being in the heritage area, and is value for money. They can also arrange pick up and drops from Chennai/Pondicherry hotels for a charge and has a laundry service too.

To summarise, a great place to stay and value for money.

Room Tip: book in advance online and ask if they can include breakfast in the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mukulfaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Only for the second time ever in over 20 years of travel, I changed accommodation in the same location. It wasn’t that my first hotel on the other side of Dumas Street was bad. It was because the L’escale Guest House was so much better. It was clean, the room was much more spacious, the provided towel was not ‘marginal’, there were other guests whereas in the hotel from which I departed I was the only guest, and the L’escale Guest House was less expensive. It was no contest. I had found the L’escale Guest House for breakfast about 30 metres from where I had been staying. It is owned and operated by an Englishman who was cheerily communicative and helpful. The continental breakfast consists of unlimited muesli, a bowl of fresh mixed fruit, a croissant, a glass of fruit juice, three pieces of toast with butter, jam and marmalade, and a pot of tea or coffee sufficient for three large cups. Needless to say, L’escale didn’t need to offer a cooked breakfast option. There was no need to eat anything else during the day until dinner. After three nights I decided it was worth the shift across Dumas street for my final night in Pondicherry on 15th September 2013. I recommend the L’escale Guest House and do so highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Transcontinental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We reached pondicherry in the evening without any room booking and were looking to stay near the main beach. we checked 5 hotels but couldn't find anything great so settled for an okay place to stay. While looking for a parking for our car we spotted this place and decided to check it out. The room was very clean and didn't stink like other hotels. On top of that we got a good deal as we opted for room number 1. Very nice stay and highly recommended for all.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiteshBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.5 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 82 in Pondicherry
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
490 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 82 in Pondicherry
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Escale

Property: L'Escale
Address: 31 Dumas Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Escale boutique hotel / guest house is a refurbished building situated in the heart of the colonial French quarters. Stepping outside the L'Escale boutique hotel / guest house, you will be less than 100 m away from the beach promenade, making it ideal for a walk along the beach road during the evening. L'Escale boutique hotel / guest house compromises of 7 bedrooms with attached bathrooms and air conditioning. The guest house also comes with a terrace which has a magnificent view of the ocean and Pondicherry town. Breakfast is served in the terrace and the guests are welcome to utilize the terrace at any time during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your L'Escale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing