We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strained stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MGR Regency Comfort Hotel
Ranked #51 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Strained stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed here for 1 night and will not recommend this hotel for the future.All basic amneties like simple drinking water have to be brought from outside.Coffee or tea are not available at all.No hot water for shower.On arriving back in the evening my key was missing and they spent half an hour searching for it.
The staff are courteous and the food and rooms are lovely.
But overall my one days experience did not prove to be a comfortable or memorable one

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    12
    8
    10
See reviews for
29
20
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

A very good hotel in the given budget. Proximity to all the places is an added advantage. Rooms are big enough to accomodate 2 people. The hotel serves good food. Overall the stay was ver comfortable. Would like to come back here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradeep144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at hotel for 2 days..Facilities were nice..........Staff was courteous.Its in ECR main road one of the advantages.24*7 hot water available.You can directly get chennai bus after having a walk of a mile till chatrapati shivaji statue.One of cons is the lcd tv remote is not user friendly :P

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stay was very really comfortable.
Hotel Staff very good and cooperative.
Good room service.
Rooms were spacious and clean.
Food was delicious.
Amazing Atmosphere.
Like to come back here again with Family

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anandhubli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days, rooms were clean and big enough for 2 people, good lcd tv, bathrooms were clean and well equipped with separate hot cold water supply. Hotel is on the main road on ECR main road, so if u are coming from chennai u can directly get down in front of hotel. Staff is very courteous especially manager and he personally overseas everything. Food is also good enough and reasonably priced though some improvements are needed like little less spices in curries. Overall I had a pleasant stay and nothing to complain. It's a very good option in budget category.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aniket S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed there, on my visit to pondicherry. Nice experience. Good food. Good rooms. Would recommend to all who want to stay in a good hotel with a good memorable journey.

I had a tasty meal there, as they have ponnusamy restaurant in ground floor.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed with 6 friends in 2 deluxe rooms. Booking & checking was smooth no trouble whatsoever. Rooms were reasonably clean & spacious for the price but with minimum ventilation. Restrooms could be much cleaner & western toilet seat was broken in one room. Hotel doesn't serve you tea/coffee which is really strange. Hotel has a attached chettinad restaurant which serves average food but you can always prefer Aroma Idly shop for quick South Indian BF & snacks at very reasonable price.

Overall experience was pretty good :-) I will recommend this hotel for friends/bachelors who travel to Pondy for a one night trip.

Room Tip: Go for a family suite or a four bedded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hari Hara Subra... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
1.6 mi away
Ramana Residency
Ramana Residency
#28 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Sun Inn
Golden Sun Inn
#46 of 74 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
#36 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
#31 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#10 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.1 mi away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#32 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGR Regency Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGR Regency Comfort Hotel

Property: MGR Regency Comfort Hotel
Address: No - 5 Ecr Main Road, Pondicherry 605008, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MGR Regency Comfort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room is tastefully decorated and has been designed differently to cater to the varied taste of all guests, A choice of 20 spacious air conditioned elegant rooms & suites designed to ensure its customers great comforts & convenience at an affordable price. As you enter the cozy lobby, you will be under rare spell of hospitality & care. The experience and the courtesy of our staff, combined with the quality of our services, make us the right choice for discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MGR Regency Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing