We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Place But expensive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in Pondicherry
Tirunelveli, India
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Nice Place But expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were there for 4 days with family and friends.
Great fun for kids and romantic couple
We had a room with Private pool Private open shower and jacuzzi
Pool is excelelnt both private and big pool
Food and maintance is ok for the huge price we pay
Great plce for family and kids

Room Tip: The Private pool room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRoyTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanspray2010, Front Office Manager at Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Greetings from BONJOUR BONHEUR OCEAN SPRAY!!!

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time for giving us feedback on the hotel and appreciating the service provided to you during your stay
It is our constant endeavor to exceed guest expectation. We would like to bring to your attention that we are continuously upgrading our product to ensure a high standard for travelers like yourself and your feedback is important to ensure that.
Once again we would like to thank you for constructive feedback and we look forward to having you again with us and assure you of the best of our attention at all times

Happy To Serve You,
Srinivasan C
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    269
    119
    43
    48
See reviews for
342
160
5
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

One word. Wow.

As soon as I reached the hotel, I was treated with a welcome drink, I inquired about the room and privileges I will be getting as I was staying in the royal villa known as "Tahiti".

The hotel is spread in a very vast area, 300 m from the beach, very far from the crowd of the city. The USP of the resort is its waterbodies. There is water, everywhere. There is a big pool aswell accessible to the hotel guests.

The villa came with a private pool, surrounded by water. Beauty. Such a peaceful place to be at. Two bathrooms, 2 washrooms, 1 big giant jacuzzi, Touch lights in the whole villa, even the fan and the A.C. Two T.V's, one in the hall room and one in the bedroom. TV's should have been bigger. 32" is too mainstream. Was given some fruits and a wine bottle as complimentary.

The resorts hoards an activity center with different sports. Tried some luck with table tennis, the activity center guy was very good. The nightlife scene is very bad, atleast on normal days.

The WiFi was the main issue I faced. No WiFi till my room! Are you kidding me? I booked a room for 21k and there's no proper internet access? Comon. The WiFi doesn't work anywhere except the lobby, This is some serious problem. However, they did provide me with an ethernet cable but was of no use as I couldn't share my laptop wifi aswell because of their 1 device restriction. I had to keep logging in with some username and pass, every 4 hours for the internet to work.

Another thing that was a problem for me was that the most of the staff don't know proper Hindi/English, was very difficult to ask for help.

The breakfast buffet was delicious. Restaurant's was top notch. I really loved the Cold coffee and the Veg burger.

Overall a very good stay except the internet part. Will definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Go for the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eXp3rience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanspray2010, Front Office Manager at Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Greetings from BONJOUR BONHEUR OCEAN SPRAY!!!

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time for giving us feedback on the hotel and appreciating the service provided to you during your stay
It is our constant endeavor to exceed guest expectation. We would like to bring to your attention that we are continuously upgrading our product to ensure a high standard for travelers like yourself and your feedback is important to ensure that.
Once again we would like to thank you for constructive feedback and we look forward to having you again with us and assure you of the best of our attention at all times

Happy To Serve You,
Srinivasan C
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is indulging in day light robbery in its F & B tariff.It is exorbitant for its class. A plate of masala peanuts costed INR 450 which was worth hardly INR 50 or maximum INR 100. In many such hotels, this dish is served complimentary when you order two bottles of beer.None of the main course dishes is priced less than INR 550.
One masala dosa is priced at INR 199 which is exorbitant.The food quality is alos only so and so.
The room rent is INR 7800 but there is no fridge in the room.
In any hotel across the world when the room rent is more than USD 100 per night one can get luxurious amenities where even after charging INR 7800 per night, even a minimal amenities are missing.I cannot give a negative rating and hence I ma rating on star.

Room Tip: There is nothing I can suggest.Be ready to pay more for poor quality of food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvd1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanspray2010, Front Office Manager at Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Greetings from BONJOUR BONHEUR Ocean Spray!!!

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time for giving us feedback during your recent stay with us.
At the very outset we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. I have noted your points of concern about the quality of food.
We have discussed your feedback with the concerned department team members to avoid any recurrence of a similar experience in the future.
It is our constant endeavor to exceed guest expectation but seem to have fallen short of it this time we request you to take this as an isolated incident, rest assured; we shall ensure no such recurrences of this in future.
We would ensure that these gaps and lapses as experienced by you are strengthened and adequate measures taken to be consistent.
We look forward to having you again with us and assure you of the best of our attention at all times

Happy To Serve You,
Srinivasan C
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Was there for a wedding in the family. Great hotel and great ambience. Perfect wedding location and most suitable for any family event. Stayed for 2 nights and attended all the family function at the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mahaveer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanspray2010, Front Office Manager at Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Greetings from BONJOUR BONHEUR OCEAN SPRAY!!!

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time for giving us feedback on the hotel and appreciating the service provided to you during your stay
It is our constant endeavor to exceed guest expectation. We would like to bring to your attention that we are continuously upgrading our product to ensure a high standard for travelers like yourself and your feedback is important to ensure that.
Once again we would like to thank you for constructive feedback and we look forward to having you again with us and assure you of the best of our attention at all times

Happy To Serve You,
Srinivasan C
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Right from the minute i ch3cked in it was a real bad experience. The room was dirty , floor wet ac not working, mini baf not in place .this is when i checked in at 10pm.at 12 we got our rooms changed after a lot of arguments and thereafter slept hungry as the kitchwn and bar both were closed. We asked us to contact us in d morning at d earliest but no one did until i refused to sign any of the food bills.there after the service was little better but still not worth the money spent .pool bar was not at its place.and during check out i had refused to pay for the liquor and food i had ordered to on the first day but was nt able to consume it due to several issues like ac was not working no tonic water no snacks no food on the first night. But the manager seemed to be extremely rude so i asked him to call the cops and sort the issue but he threatened to lock us in the resort if dint pay.. so wr had to escape out of there.. he called me up thereafter and abused me.. i said iam ready to pay the bill if i get a proper apology and m still ready but provided i get a proper apolovy from the senior management .and for thereview part guys not wortn a single oenny. Le pondy windflower or any lodge but surely not ocean spray

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dhawal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Were there in a group of six for dinner on 18th April 2014. The place is well maintained with lot of greenery & water bodies around same as you see in the pictures. Great BAR with amazing ambiance, good music, yummy snacks, friendly and professional staff. The buffet spread in the restaurant was not huge but the taste of the food and impeccable service makes for the same. Looking forward to experience the rooms and other services of this beautiful property. Will definitely stay there on our next trip to Pondicherry.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKSehgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanspray2010, Front Office Manager at Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Greetings from BONJOUR BONHEUR OCEAN SPRAY!!!

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time for giving us feedback on the hotel and appreciating the service provided to you during your stay
It is our constant endeavor to exceed guest expectation. We would like to bring to your attention that we are continuously upgrading our product to ensure a high standard for travelers like yourself and your feedback is important to ensure that.
Once again we would like to thank you for constructive feedback and we look forward to having you again with us and assure you of the best of our attention at all times

Happy To Serve You,
Srinivasan C
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed with wife for 2 night 3 days . I felt the rooms good but too pricey. The water body that they have maintained was not to clean. The food was a bit on the expensive side.

The staff dint understand hindi or english. One of them even barged in when we were sleeping.

A pretty average experience.

Room Tip: Avoid meals. Head to a few awesome places in Pondicherry. Heaven rooms a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AjaySingh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanspray2010, Front Office Manager at Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Greetings from BONJOUR BONHEUR Ocean Spray!!!

Thank you very much for sparing your valuable time for giving us feedback during your recent stay with us.
At the very outset we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. I have noted your points of concern about maintenance of the water body and pricing of the food.

We have discussed your feedback with the concerned department team members to avoid any recurrence of a similar experience in the future.

It is our constant endeavor to exceed guest expectation but seem to have fallen short of it this time we request you to take this as an isolated incident, rest assured; we shall ensure no such recurrences of this in future.

We would ensure that these gaps and lapses as experienced by you are strengthened and adequate measures taken to be consistent.

We look forward to having you again with us and assure you of the best of our attention at all times

Happy To Serve You,
Srinivasan C
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
13.3 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
11.3 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
9.2 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#12 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
10.0 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 72 in Pondicherry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
9.9 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#15 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray

Property: Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Address: 7, 8, 9, East Coast Road | Majakuppam, Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry 604303, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conceived as Pondicherry by the French and affectionately known as 'Pondy', the city has its conspicuous French connection. Away from the hustle bustle of the metro's, this quiet little town offers the peculiar mustard-yellow colonial heritage buildings, virgin beaches, a medley of cuisines, the quaint spiritual wave and the alluring art. Here, soaked in the whiff of the Bay of Bengal and stationed in the ripples of its own beautiful man-made lake, Ocean Spray grasps the enchantment and the intimacy in its own breath.   Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray Resort showcases the nature at its best. The Majestic grandeur architecture overlooks the overwhelming swimming pool with the sound of the gushing cascades and the smoldering view of the sky. Interiors reflect the warmth of its aristocratic ambiance. Villas with private swimming pools provide an exclusive composition. One of its kind night club quenches the thirst of the night life birds. The mesmerizing experience of candle light dinner on the boat in the lake is just meant for those special romantic moments. Statuesque trees give the unmistakable view from the esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing