We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small things are missed”
Review of Le Pondy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Pondy
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The good things about le pondy, its got a lovely private beach very quite and clean. The luxury pool villa is where we stayed and it was excellent. The atmosphere around the resort is quite and just peaceful. Its located 15 mins away from the actual pondicherry beach goubert street. So if you have your own car its very comfortable to go and come back without hassle.

Now the things i didn't like, we booked it around 22nd of dec which was very busy season so nobody was there at the entrance to even take the luggage luckily we didn't have much so thts one thing. The food is very below average, its made with no effort or taste. There is no hand shower extension in the luxury pool villa only the over head shower. I didn't understand how they didn't fix such a small thing. How are kids supposed to shower? The most annoying thing is that the Air conditioners Remote is fixed to the wall. WHY WHY WHY wts the point of the remote then? The daily newspaper is at the lobby and will not be provided to you door. You need to go and pick up a copy of whatever you like.

Would i stay here again may be i dont know. if the pros are for you u should stay here if the cons are something that would bother you u shouldn't.

Room Tip: The luxury pool villa is good in itself but the normal rooms which dont have a pool have better view...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simhapurlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and sparing your valuable time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you have loved the overall Le Pondy experience and liked the quiet and peaceful atmosphere of the resort, private beach and the luxury pool villa. We are always looking at ways we can improve our guest experience and will review each point with our team.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback and we wish to see you back to Le Pondy in the near future.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
There are newer reviews for Le Pondy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We drove from Bangalore to Pondicherry and we had no problems with reservations and directions to the hotel. The resort itself was well laid out brilliant location by the sea. The beach was a fine stretch of white sand and great waves.
We took two rooms one was a pool villa and the other was a lake view room.

The good:

• The main swimming pool was massive, clean and located a quick walk from the beach. Lifeguard presence on both beach and pool.
• The pool villa was excellent, great size with a nice big double bed, 4 sun recliners, clean pool and plenty of space to relax. The rooms were clean
• The grounds are great with a lot of space and green.

The bad

• Onsite facilities such as the gym and table tennis area were not great . The gym barely had any equipment so I would not advertise that as a fully functional gym.
• Cost of the Lakeview rooms. The room we had barely had a lake view and was really not worth the price we paid. it was big and spacious but lacked basic necessities for the price that we paid. Poor toiletries, the air condition remote was stuck to the wall which made temperature control a bit annoying as you had to get to the remote. The room was clean and well maintained but having stayed in other beach properties globally for a similar price I expected a lot more.
• They advertised a bar and it was never open and were pretty snotty when we asked why it was always closed.
• The breakfast was mediocre and chaotic with the staff struggling to keep up with the number of guests (we did visit in high season). Tables took time to get cleared and waiting was a norm. That being said the staff were very polite but seemed like they needed some serious direction.
• The food at the hotel was pretty average we did try to eat most of our meals in the main town. Recommend having a car for this.

Recommendations
• I would not get a Lakeview room again. Pool villa yes.
• The breakfast needs a massive improvement
• I think there needs to be a better management presence at the resort.
• Food could be a lot better

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SG-092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us and for writing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you liked the Olympic sized swimming pool, private beach, private pool villa and the general ambiance of the resort. We have also noted your other points and forwarded the same to the concerned department for taking strong and positive steps to assure greater satisfaction for our guests in the future.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback and we wish to see you back to Le Pondy in the near future.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Le Pondy is truly a beautiful place. My best impression about the resort started with Mr Arun, the Manager being courteous enough to let me and my family for an early check in at 9am with no tags attached. The front desk and generally the entire staff are young, dynamic and more importantly very friendly, i am sure they are trained that way.
The Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner spread is huge and good.
The first trump card of this place is the way the rooms and villas are designed. Kudos to the architects and the interior designers. The second trump card is the access to the beautiful beach which is scenic and very private. The resort has a huge lawn space with children play area and ample space for outdoor activities. The swimming pool is very well maintained with the pool staff ever helpful with the towels, tubes etc.
The bar is huge again, well stocked and also overlooks the sea.
The resort is around 20 mins away the railway station.
The taxis charge Rs 800 for 4 hours/40kms package if you hire them elsewhere other than the resort.
The lunch/dinner buffet is economical in the resort than Ala Carte
No visible flaws in the resort for an once a year holiday traveler like me.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have beautiful view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akshaye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying at Le Pondy and for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that every aspect of the stay was to your liking including the décor and interiors of our resort, lawn and children’s play area, private beach, swimming pool, food and the dynamic and friendly staff. Your feedback is what motivates me and my team to perform our best at all times.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back to Le Pondy.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

With beach on one side and land locked see on other, the place has a lot to offer. Designed very differently this place is a perfect place for weekend break, get together, meetings, etc. The rooms are well designed with a seating space outside each room. The seating space outside provides amazing scenic view and a nice atmosphere for chit chat over tea / drinks.
The beach is well maintained and the hotel does offer some water sports for the groups. The pool is amazing and the evening get together near the pool is a great set up.
The food is good with multiple options for veg / non veg lovers.This is one of the perfect weekend break locations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitin_Kalothia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at Le Pondy and for taking your time to write a great review.

As pointed out by you, we are indeed located right on the beach and our Resort is a perfect place for weekend breaks, get together and meetings. We are also happy to note that you liked the Resort ambiance, layout of room, sit out with beautiful scenic view, Olympic swimming pool, private beach and the food.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Pondy in the near future.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

it is one of the best places to relax and rejuvenate as i had stayed there for two days. felt completely at home . the rooms are awesome and innovatively done . the views are selected according to the wishes of the visitor and i enjoyed it to the core with family and friends. the food was good and enjoyable. the swimming pools are good and clean and the maintenance is round the clock. the cottages where private swimming pools are there have been innovatively done with due respect to individual privacy without compromising on the open sky content and quality.
kudos to them !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitcha6908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us and for writing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to hear that we could deliver you a 'home away from home' experience and you have enjoyed the facilities and service provided by us. I am very pleased to read that you liked the layout of the pool villa, Olympic size swimming pool, food served in our SMAAK restaurant and the beautiful setting of our resort.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our resort soon.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

we wish we had stayed longer, but the one day we spent here was memorable. The property is very beautifully maintained with lush lawns, beautiful pool, and a private beach. The best beach holiday we have had so far. Would definitely visit again

Room Tip: Stay for atleast a couple of days to enjoy the resort and also see nearby places
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srivathsa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us and we are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and liked the ambiance of the resort, Olympic size swimming pool and the private beach.

We thank you for posting this valuable comment in TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer visit and hearing from you again.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

LE PONDY, the best resort with excellent hospitality.... different and beautiful architecture and maintaince ... really joyed a lot .... everyone in there is very friendly and helpful and offer excellent service......

Room Tip: The beach view rooms are the best
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyaVidjeanehru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Guest

Let me take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your appreciation towards our resort.

I am delighted to read through your review and knowing that we have managed to deliver a great experience for you. Keeping up our service is very important to us and thank you for noticing the efforts put in to make it possible.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback and we wish to see you back to Le Pondy in the near future.

Arun Raghavan
Resort Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.8 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
14.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 82 in Pondicherry
785 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
513 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
612 reviews
4.7 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#12 of 82 in Pondicherry
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pondy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pondy

Address: No.3,Lake View Road,Pudukuppam | Nallvadu Post, Pondicherry 605007, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range: £67 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Pondy 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pondy, situated at Pondicherry is a premium leisure resort beautifully lounged at an estuary between Chunnambar River and the Bay of Bengal. Le Pondy celebrates Pondicherry in all its true sense - the spirit, the architecture and the revelry. Pondicherry is one of the most popular tourist destinations in South India. It is also known as The French Riviera of the East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Pondy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pondy Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing