We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" EXCELLENT PLACE "”
Review of Le Pondy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Pondy
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed there from 19th may to 22nd may at Presidential pool villa

On the second day of my stay by night 10 'o' clock drainage water in the western toilet started overflowing, my kids got shocked and we called housekeeping they inspected and told automatic drainage pumping station failed to work & maintenance work is going on problem will be solved in 30 min

This should never & ever happen

The water purifier machine in the Pvt pool villas is operated by the house keeping persons,
every day they will switch off the machine by evening 6 'o'clock but they didnt switch on in on the next day morning, for that we have to call house keeping for more then 3 time..

The Common swimming pool is under maintenance from May 15th to May 31st, 2014. So if pool is your preference then you can take a call.

The best part is that they have a private entry to the beach, Its open from 6AM to 6PM. which is very clean. They have a life guard around always. Not many locals around and its pretty much private.

The breakfast is pretty ordinary (Masala Tea is a good try, but it was served lukewarm only). So don't expect much

Chef pls learn to make a good Dosai & Idly (Symbol of Tamilnadu )

Chef would prepare a good Idly even tough small hotels in pondicherry give a good idly,vada & sambar (in pondicherry you people gets a good rice & dal)

The staff is courteous and friendly, especially the restaurant staff... especially Ganesh,murugan & manager Mr natarajan

Room Tip: select pool,villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Umeshmamathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and sparing your valuable time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear that you have loved the overall Le Pondy experience and liked our clean and well maintained private. We are always looking at ways we can improve our guest experience and will review each point with our team.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback and we wish to see you back to Le Pondy in the near future.

Arun Raghavan
General Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Hotel is located on a nice place, having good facilities, But the staff attitude towards guest should be changed. There is no politeness they are trying to make orders towards Guests. If They are changing this attitude this could be a heaven for travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinremese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at Le Pondy.

We are happy to note that you liked the ambiance and facilities of the Resort. We have also noted your point regarding politeness of staff and forwarded your comments to all departments. It seems that we were unable to deliver our usual high standards of service, and please accept the apologies from me and my team for the same. We request you to please send a detailed mail so that we can enquire about the incident and corrective measures can be taken.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to Le Pondy.

Arun Raghavan
General Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for a day in february, Rooms are very nicely maintained. Good customer service.
Food - the variety is more but taste-wise it can be better. Plan to opt for room with meal plan, aka-carte is too costly & we won't feel like going out for lunch.

Swimming Pool was well maintained & the private beach is awesome. They have a guard there in case anyone needs some help.

Overall a nice place for family stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subramani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us and we are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and liked room, private beach, swimming pool and the service provided by our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Pondy in the near future.

Arun Raghavan
General Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

First thing:
The swimming pool is under maintenance from May 15 to May 31, 2014. So if pool is your preference then you can take a call.

This was the only thing that annoyed us as soon as we reached Le Pondy. The staff told that they had already conveyed the travel agents (Folks, call us directly). When we called our travel agent, goibibo, they said they cannot help on amenities and they don't have info (I've copy of that email).

goibibo, shame on you ! And I'm sure they don't care,

But the LePondy staff was good and helpful and offered us swimming in their villas. It was good enough for my three year old.

But the best part is that they have a private entry to the beach, which is very clean. They have a life guard around always. Its open from 6AM to 6PM. Not many locals around and its pretty much private.

Their breakfast and food in general is pretty ordinary (Masala Tea is a good try, but it was served lukewarm to us). So don't expect much. Room service is prompt though. Don't expect dental kits (brush/paste) etc in your rooms. They can add idli/dosa in their round-the-clock menu. You find them only during breakfast. Their pastas were decent and my kid liked it very much.

Kids have a small play area and especially good for 2-5 yrs old. My kid enjoyed it there.

We tried the Ayuervdeic massage that was pretty decent. Abhiyangam with steam.

Overall the staff is very helpful and good. This is around 10KM from the main Pondicherry town. So if you are looking for a quiet time and beach is your priority go for this one.

The resort per-se is very good and their staff. Overall we enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Try the first floor, and take towels while going to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnishaBalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us and we are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the facilities and services offered by us.

The entire Le Pondy team is happy to note that you liked the ambiance of the resort, private beach, kids play area, traditional ayurvedic massage and services offered to you. We thank you for posting this valuable comment in Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcome you again at Le Pondy.

Arun Raghavan
General Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at Le Pondy during the Christmas - New Year week in 2013. We were sold on the hotel just looking at the photos on their website and it did not disappoint in reality as well. The hotel is located right on the beach and has a gated access during daylight hours. The layout of the property is spacious and the landscaping is beautiful and so, despite the peak season and the hotel being completely booked, we did not feel overcrowded. Another plus, at least for us, although it may be a drawback for others, is that the hotel is located outside the main city, away from all the attractions (and crowd). The rooms are nice and spacious with a sit out area and a separate bathroom connected via a sort of sun room. We spent most of our time here barefoot, either walking on the lush, manicured lawns or in the sand on the beach - as such it was the perfect place for a lazy, relaxing holiday. That being said, we couldn't help but feel a little tinge of dis-satisfaction as we left. There was nothing majorly wrong, but despite all the beauty and potential, we weren't completely wow-ed by our stay here. There were some small issues with the room like AC not cooling the room well enough or plug points located in the most inconvenient locations. The food was decent and had a lot of variety but the taste was just good, not great. The spa would close quite early in evenings so there was no option to enjoy a nice, relaxing massage after a day of walking through the city - at least during the peak seasons the hours could be expanded. But the staff was very friendly and helpful and these are issues that are easily addressable. If so, this hotel, which is already very good, has the potential to be totally awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for finding time to review Le Pondy. We are happy to note that you liked the location, ambience and landscaping of the resort, private beach, layout of room and the friendly and courteous staff.

We have also noted your suggestions and very strong and positive steps will be taken to see that the property is elated to your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you back at Le Pondy

Arun Raghavan
General Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

End of may, it starts.getting hot in pondicherry, however the resort le pondy is placed at the outskirts of puducherry. A vast area with a well maintained resort, was our second trip with our three year old and friends. Greenery, plants, sea breeze ; never made us feel the heat.
We booked their luxury pool villa's...a pvt pool to self, at an amazing price...service was impeccable, great chief, and gud food (although south indian only,naturally). Not to forget the newly added kerela ayurvedic massage. It was indeed a treat to be taken...at a cost effective trip with frnds.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 405nehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Le Pondy and for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that your stay with us was on par with your expectations and that you enjoyed the comfort of pool villas. We are also happy to note that you liked the culinary delicacies and hospitality provided by our team members. Your appreciation of the resort is very encouraging and will inspire us to achieve greater heights of excellence.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back to Le Pondy.

Arun Raghavan
General Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

“Beautiful... but beware!! Things can go wrong at any time.”

Pending review
I am writing this review after my second trip to this hotel. The first time I went, I was struck by how beautiful the property was... our AC however conked in the evening, and Maintenance came and took a look at it. It conked again in the middle of the night.... and we could not sleep. Next day was spotted by visits from maintenance.. and while Ms. Satya (GRE) was very nice in her behaviour, our rooms were only changed at 11 PM (yes PM) when we had to leave the next morning. We are reasonable people... and understand that these things happen. So I promised to come back once more and THEN write a review.
2nd time: Here is the unbiased complete truth.

1. The property is beautiful. Breathtaking, even.
2. Rooms are clean and spacious.
3. Food is average.. the buffet spread has a lot of items.. but not much to choose from (the discerning traveller will understand this comment).
4. The staff is courteous and friendly, especially the restaurant staff... especially Ganesh and his supervisor, Jibin.

HOWEVER...

There was a rat in the room. We called Housekeeping, they came and shooed it out. And laid traps all around the window. (No call from anyone with an apology or anything, no offer to change the room).

We laughed about it and.... went to sleep... and ... THE AC CONKED. We called Maintenance in the morning, again they insisted it was ok. We told the Front Desk that we were NOT interested in a repeat of the last visit, and they shifted us to another room, where... WAIT FOR IT... the lights were all NOT working. We asked what the point was... and they offered us a twin room instead. Yeah right, a couple travelling for a long weekend, of course they want a twin room, what ARE you, nuts????? We refused, and the Maintenance guy finally repaired the circuit in the new room, narrowly missing electrocuting himself in the process.

It was almost 10 pm at this time, and we went for dinner. We met the Duty Manager who laughed with us about our travails.. and we checked out next morning.

The thing is.. we are "nice people"... BUT, if you give someone a complimentary rat in their room, and give them a malfunctioning AC twice in a row... and give them TWO bad rooms in the same trip, it takes more than words to apologise. There was NO show of apology or anything from the hotel for ruining a night's sleep and half of the other day while we sat waiting for repairs to be finished in our "new" room. Effectively half our holiday was ruined.

So yes, this is probably the prettiest hotel in Pondicherry. But if you are going to relax, DON'T. You will come back feeling frustrated and cheated.

Room Tip: Ask 153 times if the AC works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ishani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking your valuable time to write this review.

Le Pondy takes very seriously its commitment to meeting guests’ expectations. It is unfortunate that we fell short on both occasions. I have acknowledged your comments regarding the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay.

Please rest assured that a necessary corrective action has been taken to avoid the recurrence of such incidents in the future and we do apologize for all the hassle you had to go through.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to Le Pondy.

Arun Raghavan
General Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
14.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 82 in Pondicherry
791 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
4.5 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
621 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
517 reviews
4.7 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#12 of 82 in Pondicherry
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pondy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pondy

Address: No.3,Lake View Road,Pudukuppam | Nallvadu Post, Pondicherry 605007, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range: £76 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Pondy 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pondy, situated at Pondicherry is a premium leisure resort beautifully lounged at an estuary between Chunnambar River and the Bay of Bengal. Le Pondy celebrates Pondicherry in all its true sense - the spirit, the architecture and the revelry. Pondicherry is one of the most popular tourist destinations in South India. It is also known as The French Riviera of the East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Le Pondy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pondy Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing