We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pondy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Pondy
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I and our two kids (aged 6 and 2) stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days during the hot month of May!!! (Well we could not find other options and decided to zero in on Pondicherry - and going by most reviews online, Le Pondy stood # 1).

In listing the negatives below, we are comparing it to the other 5-star properties in South India.

Let me list the positives and negatives that we observed:

Positives:
1) Property has a great ambience overall - while you drive in, there is a feeling "wow" which is extremely critical - considering it is located 12 km further from Pondicherry City and you would be exhausted reaching the hotel (especially with wailing kids!!!).

2) We took the basic "Lakeview" rooms and they were pretty functional with clean bathrooms, TV, AC and an empty mini fridge. Pretty good overall.

3) The swimming pool is well maintained - my kids loved it.

4) It is tough to please everyone with the food - but the spread was pretty good (though the breadsticks were perpetually soggy!!!). The deserts were minimal and restricted to cakes and souffles though. Rest of the food was tasty and the chef was polite and offered to customize our Indian breads based on our choice). Much appreciated!!!

The negatives:

1) Overall maintenance of the resort is below average in my opinion. The staircases were dusty and dirty in more than one place - even the room flooring was not clean till the staff did another round of cleaning the next day. Disappointing.

2) The staff could do with more training - on our 2nd day of stay there while we were coming back into the resort, one of the staff (whom we recognized) welcomed us once more and asked us if we are checking in now :) (forgetting that we had met her multiple times the previous day!!!). Also, it took me 3-4 reminders to get them to deliver something to my room!!!

3) They give you one bottle of water complementary - seriously 1 bottle for a family of 4?? And you need to buy water if you need more!!! Not fair. Either provide easy access to regular clean filter water or atleast provide 2-3 bottles of water a day complementary - it would cost you 50 rupees at the most!!!! (On the other hand, if we buy from the hotel they would overcharge you for it anyway!!!)

4) Beverages are over priced!!! A bottle of half-litre Pepsi (MRP Rs 30/- outside) is sold for Rs 150/-!!!! Please get your own beverages if you think you are going to need them!!!!!

Overall - if they improve on the maintenance and the responsiveness of the staff, it has good potential to be one of the best resorts around.

Room Tip: The Lakeview is sufficient. The so-called "Seaview" rooms really don't offer much val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ravi Kiran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    425
    105
    29
    17
See reviews for
512
246
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Friends, We stayed at Lepondy over the week end (9th-11th May). The stay was pleasant with access to private beach, good food, courteous staff.

While planning your baggage ensure to add nylon trousers and nylon swim wear for the kids...The management is a bit fussy in letting in only people with nylon clothing in the pool. They do not have any provision for renting it too - just in case one lands up without proper clothing (their web site / pool instructions mention only proper swim dress to be had at pool and do not have specific mention of nylon wear!!

Room Tip: If you are a family of 2 adults and 2 grown up kids probably the sea view room would be a better fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srishajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We did not get rooms here , however during our stay in Pondy we would drive down to this place for lunch and a getaway at the beach. Good food , courteous staff and a great place .

Next time we are in Pondy we wish to stay here :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nandini2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed there from 19th may to 22nd may at Presidential pool villa

On the second day of my stay by night 10 'o' clock drainage water in the western toilet started overflowing, my kids got shocked and we called housekeeping they inspected and told automatic drainage pumping station failed to work & maintenance work is going on problem will be solved in 30 min

This should never & ever happen

The water purifier machine in the Pvt pool villas is operated by the house keeping persons,
every day they will switch off the machine by evening 6 'o'clock but they didnt switch on in on the next day morning, for that we have to call house keeping for more then 3 time..

The Common swimming pool is under maintenance from May 15th to May 31st, 2014. So if pool is your preference then you can take a call.

The best part is that they have a private entry to the beach, Its open from 6AM to 6PM. which is very clean. They have a life guard around always. Not many locals around and its pretty much private.

The breakfast is pretty ordinary (Masala Tea is a good try, but it was served lukewarm only). So don't expect much

Chef pls learn to make a good Dosai & Idly (Symbol of Tamilnadu )

Chef would prepare a good Idly even tough small hotels in pondicherry give a good idly,vada & sambar (in pondicherry you people gets a good rice & dal)

The staff is courteous and friendly, especially the restaurant staff... especially Ganesh,murugan & manager Mr natarajan

Room Tip: select pool,villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Umeshmamathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and sparing your valuable time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear that you have loved the overall Le Pondy experience and liked our clean and well maintained private. We are always looking at ways we can improve our guest experience and will review each point with our team.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback and we wish to see you back to Le Pondy in the near future.

Arun Raghavan
General Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Hotel is located on a nice place, having good facilities, But the staff attitude towards guest should be changed. There is no politeness they are trying to make orders towards Guests. If They are changing this attitude this could be a heaven for travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinremese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at Le Pondy.

We are happy to note that you liked the ambiance and facilities of the Resort. We have also noted your point regarding politeness of staff and forwarded your comments to all departments. It seems that we were unable to deliver our usual high standards of service, and please accept the apologies from me and my team for the same. We request you to please send a detailed mail so that we can enquire about the incident and corrective measures can be taken.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to Le Pondy.

Arun Raghavan
General Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for a day in february, Rooms are very nicely maintained. Good customer service.
Food - the variety is more but taste-wise it can be better. Plan to opt for room with meal plan, aka-carte is too costly & we won't feel like going out for lunch.

Swimming Pool was well maintained & the private beach is awesome. They have a guard there in case anyone needs some help.

Overall a nice place for family stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Subramani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us and we are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and liked room, private beach, swimming pool and the service provided by our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Pondy in the near future.

Arun Raghavan
General Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

First thing:
The swimming pool is under maintenance from May 15 to May 31, 2014. So if pool is your preference then you can take a call.

This was the only thing that annoyed us as soon as we reached Le Pondy. The staff told that they had already conveyed the travel agents (Folks, call us directly). When we called our travel agent, goibibo, they said they cannot help on amenities and they don't have info (I've copy of that email).

goibibo, shame on you ! And I'm sure they don't care,

But the LePondy staff was good and helpful and offered us swimming in their villas. It was good enough for my three year old.

But the best part is that they have a private entry to the beach, which is very clean. They have a life guard around always. Its open from 6AM to 6PM. Not many locals around and its pretty much private.

Their breakfast and food in general is pretty ordinary (Masala Tea is a good try, but it was served lukewarm to us). So don't expect much. Room service is prompt though. Don't expect dental kits (brush/paste) etc in your rooms. They can add idli/dosa in their round-the-clock menu. You find them only during breakfast. Their pastas were decent and my kid liked it very much.

Kids have a small play area and especially good for 2-5 yrs old. My kid enjoyed it there.

We tried the Ayuervdeic massage that was pretty decent. Abhiyangam with steam.

Overall the staff is very helpful and good. This is around 10KM from the main Pondicherry town. So if you are looking for a quiet time and beach is your priority go for this one.

The resort per-se is very good and their staff. Overall we enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Try the first floor, and take towels while going to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnishaBalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePondypondicherry, General Manager at Le Pondy, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us and we are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the facilities and services offered by us.

The entire Le Pondy team is happy to note that you liked the ambiance of the resort, private beach, kids play area, traditional ayurvedic massage and services offered to you. We thank you for posting this valuable comment in Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcome you again at Le Pondy.

Arun Raghavan
General Manager
09585551301 | gm@lepondy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
14.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#15 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
5.0 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#9 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pondy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pondy

Property: Le Pondy
Address: No.3,Lake View Road,Pudukuppam | Nallvadu Post, Pondicherry 605007, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pondy 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pondy, situated at Pondicherry is a premium leisure resort beautifully lounged at an estuary between Chunnambar River and the Bay of Bengal. Le Pondy celebrates Pondicherry in all its true sense - the spirit, the architecture and the revelry. Pondicherry is one of the most popular tourist destinations in South India. It is also known as The French Riviera of the East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Le Pondy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pondy Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing