We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 1-day exp in Le Pondy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pondy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Pondy
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“My 1-day exp in Le Pondy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Let me begin with the hospitality which was very good, the response from the manager and his staff is quick and very polite. Next is the place which was quiet yet lively. We had a Day Outing event with my colleagues and all 60 of us returned happy at the end of the day. The pool in the lawn next to the dining area is quite an experience in itself.
Now comes the most important part of any resort - its food quality and variety. When I had the menu in hand for the next day I wasnt very convinced as I was hardly given any options to change the menu as it was the Restaurant menu for next day lunch Buffet. But when I met Chef Manoj, menu seemed promising and he did induce a few changes even at the last minute considering my request for Deserts section.
And my reaction for the entire menu - IT WAS DELICIOUS AND A LOT OF VARIETIES - especially the Deserts and Non veg main course.

Lastly, something I was a bit disappointed about was the Usage of Swimming pool - mandatory you need a swimsuit but there is no provision even in the resort.

Overall, I was satisfied with the exp in Le pondy.

Room Tip: I havent used any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dips_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    425
    106
    29
    17
See reviews for
513
246
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

So we didnt stay here , so my review wont include the rooms and food.

we were in pondicherry and decided to go to this resort for a day as it had access to teh beach and we really wanted to run away from teh crowd in pondicherry on a long weekend. It felt like whole india was in pondicherry .

anyways , so yeah, That was the best decision of the day. Google maps are really good in finding any place these days. so switch it on and you will be surprised .

We reached here somewhere around in the afternoon. The approach road is really bad . i was surprised because two big resorts ( le pondy and one more kailash resoort i guess) are on teh same road and the road is not even built properly.

But as soon as we eneterd the property , the well maintained green lawns kept us in Awe. The property is huge and really beautiful with one side a lake view and the other side the sea.

From the receptio to the bar/restaurant/swimming pool area , there is an artificial pond of lotus and there is glass walk, Thi swill impress you if you havent been impressed with the lawns and the reception. :).

The beach is really beautiful, White sand, very clean and very less people around. I would recommend this place for everybody who wants to run away from the maddening crowd. because this place feels like paradise . Oh i guess the beach name is paradise becah :). I think it was the most beautiful thing in pondicherry .

After the sea strolling for 2 hours we were very tired as the heat starts to get on you, we decide to head to the bar and have some drinks. It was afternoon and we were the only ones in the bar. what are the chances :). really awesome.we had a couple of drinks there , hanged out there for about an hour.

Service : the Bar guys were really sweet and they made the drinks exactly how we wanted. we were not hungry so we dint have any food there.

So you must go to this place even if you are not staying , and trust me you wont regret it.

Room Tip: Look for sea view or lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonal3684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Le pondy...ooh....just returned from a two night stay...And what a experience...comfortable rooms,wonderful villas,beautiful beach side pool,tasty food,courteous staff.....one of my best ever stay at a resort....

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Varshana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A very good resort for all ages . I booked a lake view room for me and my family . The staff were very polite and making all necessary arrangements to make every guest comfortable. My travel period was 15/8/14 to 17/8/14. Initially I thought the travel time was peak and maybe the the hotel will not overall look thru all the guests as all rooms were sold out as said in earlier reviews . But the hotel staff were too trained to handle all situations . The resort was located in a little isolated from city but the place is ideal for holiday . The rooms were very clean with toilets . The food was good also. Overall I would recommend to everyone

Room Tip: lake rooms are all good apart from other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abs515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had been there at the end of July 2014 and as a family of 4 adults we had taken 2 lake view rooms. The check in was very fast and efficient although we had to wait some time for one room as both the rooms first allotted to us were twin beds inspite of specifying the requirement on email while booking. However within a very short time the mistake was rectified which shows the efficiency of the staff. The rooms were spacious and clean and well maintained and they are one storey buildings only having two adjoining rooms at the ground and upper level. The buffet spread was good. The kids enjoyed the meals there. Special mention for Chef Shirjit who went out of his way to make sure I had my special salad during the daytime to avoid my food allergies.

The beach is extremely good and clean and they have a direct access to it. Although having our own vehicle we did not face any trouble with transportation in and out of the hotel and yes it would be preferable as it is very inside from the main road and getting transportation would be difficult. However, I am sure the hotel arranges something if need arises. Overall a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend it because of the ambiance, the friendly staff and overall experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in lake view rooms and were very happy with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkarki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on December 30 and 31, 2013 nights with an explicit objective of enjoying a New Year Eve at the beach location. We were not dissapointed for selecting this hotel. The location is wonderful, albeit slightly interior in the city to reach but our driver managed to find it. The beach around the property is clean and inviting for long walk. The property is very spacious with well managed lawn as well as a swimming pool. We stayed in the corner room on second floor facing sea that offered an excellent view of Sunset from a spacious balcony. Rooms are clean. However, the bathrooms need better upgrade, clear lighting, and the cleaning lady left the floor undesirably wet after 'doing the room'. The staff at the front desk is very courteous and always ready to help. The massage facilities are good. The restaurant offers very good spread of breakfast dishes but the dinner as well as lunch buffet are average. The best part of our stay was an outstanding celebration of New Years' eve on the hotel premise. The hotel offered variety of cuisine including international dishes. The taste was not of gourmet quality but was certainly above average for most preparations. More emphasis was on pastries, cakes and cookies. Coming from the USA, we were pleasantly surprised by an innovative ice scupture (Santa Claus) that the staff prepared on reasonably hot evening! It melted fast but lasted at least an hour for all to take photographs!! The wine selection at the dinner is modest and could be improved. The firework at midnight to usher-in New Year was spectacular! Overall, we enjoyed the stay and likely to return again in future.

Room Tip: Ask for sea-facing rooms away from swimming pool to enjoy sitting in balcony. Near swimming pool, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Arrived on 6th Aug 2014 , check in was within 5-7 min hassell free, stayed in both villa n sea view room, property has a great ambiance , with historical touch, located on edge of lake n sea with direct access to a beach... Please note it is good if u have a private vehicle of ur own, cos its very inside and difficult to find auto or taxi. Hotel taxi is bit costly but good service.

Rooms: Great room with open air bathroom and also private pool, service is great n staff r really friendly, special khichdi is available complimentary for babies .Villa is very spacious and good to relax. Sea view room has awesome view and really loved it.

Resturant is good but not great, can be bit more tasty but its difficult to find tasty food in 4 or 5*
hotels.

Over all u can enjoy 2 or 3 nights stay here n get urself relaxed.

Room Tip: All villas are same, but sea view rooms 211 and 210 are good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishna_joshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
14.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#15 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
5.0 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pondy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pondy

Property: Le Pondy
Address: No.3,Lake View Road,Pudukuppam | Nallvadu Post, Pondicherry 605007, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pondy 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pondy, situated at Pondicherry is a premium leisure resort beautifully lounged at an estuary between Chunnambar River and the Bay of Bengal. Le Pondy celebrates Pondicherry in all its true sense - the spirit, the architecture and the revelry. Pondicherry is one of the most popular tourist destinations in South India. It is also known as The French Riviera of the East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Pondy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pondy Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing