We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Ambiance, Variable Quality”
Review of The Courtyard

The Courtyard
Ranked #22 of 371 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Indian, Fusion
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Forest Row, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Elegant Ambiance, Variable Quality”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The restaurant is in a French Colonial-era building which has been very tastefully restored, and it is an elegant dining environment. There is also a swish bar (with a more interesting lunchtime menu than the main restaurant, and snappier service).

The seafood dishes in particular were very ood, though rather expensive. On the whole, however, the quality of the food was rather variable. The 'fusion' dishes were rather hit-and miss. The waiters were crisply professional even in adversity, and they replaced our cold dishes and watery coffee with an apologetic smile every time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiggerInIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    86
    35
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a waste !”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We went with a lot of expectations as it was our last day in Pondy but as fate had decided it was the worst meal we had in our entire trip. The signs were ominous as we were the only people around till around 8:30 pm and how true it was. The soup was a disaster.. and main course took years to come. Even when the main course arrived the sides with the chicken and steak were burnt. The waiters seemed to be lost and unawares.
My suggestion to the management is to kindly give more focus to the food as the property seems to be relatively well done up.
Though on a positive side there was a earnest call from the GM of the hotel when we arrived back and has assured me that she will be personally looking into the matter.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chetank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saitama, Japan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“manific!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

nice place to stay this hotel.restaurant was smal but good food.price not alot.

Helpful?
Thank kazune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
751 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,059 helpful votes
“Classic taste and ambiance”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We went in this Restaurant for dinner as; many local people suggested having dinner here or at Shanti villa Restaurant. Ambiance of Restaurant is really awesome. Food was very tasty. We tried Couscous with curried summer vegetable (average veg dish but curry was tarty), Ravioli con fungi (nice veg dish) and Sautéed snapper fish fillet (amazing taste but I customized to make bit spicy). Also we tried other small dishes like soup n appetizers.
Service was also good and they made our dinner as perfect. Do visit their wash room for unique wash basin. Overall good for dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank priteshkulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent fusion restaurant in a beautifully restored building”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I came across the restaurant by accident and it was a wonderful surprise - I had the 4-course menu - a bargain at 450Rs! The food was fresh and beautifully presented, and the dal makhani was the best I've ever had. Service was attentive and cheerful - they were concerned that I wasn't able to finish the main dish (enormous on it's own), and came around with words of encouragement ;) The building has been skilfully renovated, keeping the colonial charm and adding original twists (viz. the restrooms!). Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yogadeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Courtyard also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to The Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing