We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely heritage property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anantha Heritage Hotel
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely heritage property”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I chose this place for 2 reasons:[1] I was taking my parents and wanted them to experience a heritage property [2] in my search for one, I found Anantha to have had the best reviews from all those who have visited it. I must say it has been a fantastic stay (Feb 2014); Fredrick & his team are all so polite and eager to assist and ensure you are comfortable. Location is perfect for the sight seeing though of course parking is a big constraint. The rooms are spacious and clean. I only wish they had a better option when an extra bed is required rather than placing a mattress on the floor. The food was prepared fresh after taking our order; simple and tasty meals. The service, starting from the warm welcome was exceptional. The entire staff was outside waving us off when we left and we carry some fond memories of the trip. My parents were also very comfortable and enjoyed the trip more so because of this. A big thank you to the team! And a sorry for the delayed feedback...hope to be back again soon.

Room Tip: I preferred the room we had...facing the temple on the top floor. The ones to the street might be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmithaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Mrs. Smitha Madam
Greeting from Anantha Heritage Hotel pondicherry!!!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us is highly appreciated and the time taken
to provide us with these details is of utmost importance to us.
We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and we will share these with our
team.
Our team is very glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and would
like to thank you for your positive comments about your experience at Anantha Heritage
Hotel Pondicherry. These are certainly going to be very encouraging and motivating
especially for the Team. It is always reassuring to learn that our efforts are being noted by
those whom we count on the most, "Our Guests".
Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up,
in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .
Thank you once again for your feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back to Anantha
Heritage.Hotel
Thanks and Regards
Fredrick Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    81
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
91
104
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The size of the rooms at Anantha will amaze you. The rooms are HUGE and spacious and impeccably clean. No amount of words are enough for this place. The service is brilliant and the staff is always there to help you, always with a warm smile. Even when we walked in at 11 pm there was someone at the door waiting to ask us about our day and what we would like for breakfast the next morning. The breakfast is great too, they will not make you feel like a customer in a restaurant but a guest in their home and they will bring you anything you ask for at any odd hours (however, I hope people do not take advantage of their caring nature). The dosas deserve special attention. Mr. Gomez will be happy to arrange a bicyle or scooty for you. The coffee is delicious.

But the main attraction of Anantha is the great rooms and the service. I could not have asked for more. Although a small heritage hotel, Anantha offers you an experience at par with a five star, and maybe more, because of the personal touch.

it is in the tamil quarters and not white town, so if somebody is looking for a quintessential french stay, this is not the place for you. however, white town is only a 15 min walk to white town and a short 5 min bike ride away

Room Tip: Take the smaller standard room. Its extremely cute and different from the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesunalsorises2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Greeting from Anantha Heritage Hotel pondicherry!!!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us is highly appreciated and the time taken
to provide us with these details is of utmost importance to us.
We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and we will share these with our
team.
Our team is very glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and would
like to thank you for your positive comments about your experience at Anantha Heritage
Hotel Pondicherry. These are certainly going to be very encouraging and motivating
especially for the Team. It is always reassuring to learn that our efforts are being noted by
those whom we count on the most, "Our Guests".
Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up,
in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .
Thank you once again for your feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back to Anantha
Heritage.Hotel
Thanks and Regards
Fredrick Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Anantha Heritage was just like being home, with lovely people around. Fredrick and his team were fantastic and always helpful.
with Language being a barrier to communicate with people around Fredrick and his team were just a call away to sort the problem for us. Service provided by the entire team in Anantha was top class which i have never happen to encounter at any other hotel i have stayed.
Welcome was a proper traditional way with kumkum and oil on your forehead which makes you feel you are welcomed to your own house. rooms were clean and tidy with awesome Breakfast.
As i had to leave early morning could not meet Fredrick and the rest of the team, but would take this opportunity to thank the Team for an excellent stay at Pondy.
Fredrick Thank you so much for the wonderful stay, you and your team were very helpful and always there to help.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnificientMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Greeting from Anantha Heritage Hotel pondicherry!!!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us is highly appreciated and the time taken
to provide us with these details is of utmost importance to us.
We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and we will share these with our
team.
Our team is very glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and would
like to thank you for your positive comments about your experience at Anantha Heritage
Hotel Pondicherry. These are certainly going to be very encouraging and motivating
especially for the Team. It is always reassuring to learn that our efforts are being noted by
those whom we count on the most, "Our Guests".
Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up,
in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .
Thank you once again for your feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back to Anantha
Heritage.Hotel
Thanks and Regards
Fredrick Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at Anantha for 2 days in March 2014 as we wanted to stay in a heritage property. Anantha met our expectations well. Our stay was very pleasant, peaceful and comfortable. Rooms are neat and clean with modest but clean toilets. Its walking distance from places of interest - rocky beach, french colony, eateries, bakeries, main market etc.
All the staff members are very warm, helpful and hospitable. Meals were made well to our taste. Special thanks to Fredrick, the manager, and his team.

Room Tip: We preferred room facing the temple and the pond. One would expect mosquitoes, flies. Didn't fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passmy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Greeting from Anantha Heritage Hotel pondicherry!!!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us is highly appreciated and the time taken
to provide us with these details is of utmost importance to us.
We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and we will share these with our
team.
Our team is very glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and would
like to thank you for your positive comments about your experience at Anantha Heritage
Hotel Pondicherry. These are certainly going to be very encouraging and motivating
especially for the Team. It is always reassuring to learn that our efforts are being noted by
those whom we count on the most, "Our Guests".
Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up,
in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .
Thank you once again for your feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back to Anantha
Heritage.Hotel
Thanks and Regards
Fredrick Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Anantha is like a place that i have never seen before. The ambiance is the key, it makes you feel that you have travelled back in time to the 18th century, The place will make you feel at home in a enigmatic and soothed way and yet it has all the technology to pamper the high-end lavish demands you have from a five star hotel.
Let me start by the service, which is impeccable, thanks to a team that is holding the fort there. Cyril, Shiva, Shakti and the team captain Fredrick. These guys are gem of people, polite ,friendly, courteous, well-spoken, and extremely professional.
We took the deluxe rooms and the beds were cosy the bathrooms were spotlessly cleaned and the hot water was available 24/7. For some this may not be a big deal but for some may the water pressure was always good it never thinned out.Internet was fast and works very well.I did not have to do anything to rent my two-wheeler, they got me the motorcycle at the door
Food , it does not have a restaurant attached to it but you will never feel it. They give you such sumptuous breakfast that you will be filled not only at your stomach but also at your soul. We had both the South Indian (Idly Vada Pongal Dosa Upma Sambar Chutney) and the continental style (Omlette, tartines (slices) of French bread with jelly jams and butter) along with fresh fruit juice and coffee. Breakfast is amazing!!!
We had room 106 overlooking a little pond,and in front was the temple. Silent serene emphatic and enigmatic was he whole atmosphere inside.
But the star of the show is Fredrick. He will just make you at home in no time. He such an amazing person that he will make you feel that as if you and him are friends for decades. He literally responds to every single request you make and entertains it like a host, not like a manager.
I will go to Pondi over and over for sure and i am staying in this place every time, if not for the beautiful colonial style hotel but for Fredrick himself. If i can rename the place I'll rename it to Fredrickville

Khudos to all of you in Anantha !!! Couldn't ask for more !!!

Room Tip: Room 106 gives you the best view from the hotel , otherwise go for the deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saptarshikd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ananthaheritage, Public Relations Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Vanakkam from Anantha Heritage!!
Dear Sir Thank you so Much for taking the time to write your Valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation about the hotel and the service and Me is very encouraging and motivating for all of us. We have no Word to tell You.
Once again Thank You so Much

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Anantha heritage pondicherry in the very near future.

Regards

Fredrick Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Anantha Heritage, and found it an oasis of calm in bustling Pondicherry. We are happy to do a fair bit of walking, and for those who are also happy to walk a fair bit, you can easily reach all areas of the old town on foot. I believe there are only 5 or 6 rooms, so the hotel is small and friendly. We were lucky to be given an upstairs room at the back, which had a lovely view over the temple, and we spotted kingfishers flying over the temple pool in the evening.
Our room was spacious and cool, with a very comfortable bed and clean bathroom. The only criticism would be that there was very little furniture for storing clothes, so we had to leave most items in our bags.
Breakfast was provided. We chose the Indian option each day, and found it really tasty. A fellow guest tried the continental option, and we didn't think that looked as good, but it is available. We also had an evening meal cooked for us on one evening, which was very tasty indeed, and we were asked about our preferences before they went shopping for ingredients.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful; they organised a hire scooter for us for a couple of days, popped out to get us a couple of cold beers one evening, and were happy to give us advice without being pushy.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs at the back have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiFlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, General Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Sir
Greeting from Anatha Heritage
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and motivating for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Anantha heritage pondicherry in the very near future.

Regards

Fredrick Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Amazing stay at this beautiful heritage hotel. Was put up in the deluxe room - was big and done up in colonial style decor. It's next to a busy temple and bazaar but the din of the street does not reach the hotel and you can soak yourself in silence. The greatest part was the warm and efficient staff. Shiva, Cyril and not to forget Mr Fredricks - thank you for a wonderful stay. Will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vineet123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ananthaheritage, Front Office Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Vanakkam from Anantha Heritage!
Dear Mr. Vineet Si Thank you very Much for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and motivating for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Anantha heritage pondicherry in the very near future.

Regards

Fredrick Gomez
&
My Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.9 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 82 in Pondicherry
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#5 of 82 in Pondicherry
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantha Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantha Heritage Hotel

Property: Anantha Heritage Hotel
Address: 96 Rue Perumal Koil, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anantha Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce ourselves as The Anantha, a 6 room Heritage Hotel, ideally located in the heart of the city. A typical Heritage Home now restored & modernized into a hotel with an architectural landmark of Pondicherry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HostelWorld so you can book your Anantha Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing