We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace within the madding crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anantha Heritage Hotel
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It is real peace within the madding crowd. Rooms are nice. Staffs are good and friendly. Really felt great staying in this hotel. It is like your own house being taken cared by extremely nice staffs who are constantly eager to help and serve you. Market, Ashram is near. Only the WIFI signal is not good. You won't get inside the rooms. That's only spoiler. You cannot go out to check your mails under such hot and humid weather conditions to avail WiFi facilities.

Room Tip: Ac room at first floor facing the road needs to be constantly switched on during complete stay. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moukunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear madam

vanakkam from Anantha Heritage Hotel pondicherry!!
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and motivating for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Anantha heritage pondicherry in the very near future.
Thank And Regards
fredrick gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

A beautiful heritage hotel at the heart of Pondy.

Starting from reservation, it was smooth telephonic one and the Manager (Mr. Frederick, about whom there are lots of good reviews) even guided our car smoothly to the hotel through telephonic conversation with our driver. To our surprise, during check-in we came to know that Frederick was on leave. He was doing all these from his home and never for a moment let us feel that.

Now that Frederick is not there, will the hotel keep upto its name. Oh yes of course. The 2 brothers, Shiva and Sylva along with other members made our stay so very comfortable that we hardly could believe that we are outside our home. Service by each and every member is excellent and with a smile on face, even at odd hours.

Breakfast is either Continental or South Indian, based on your choice. We took continental and quantity was more than sufficient. They do not have a have standard menu, but will cook for you most of the common dishes, as yes tasty to. They even arranged customized food for my 3 yrs old daughter.

Rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a traditional touch. The location is not in the French quarter, but we preferred it as the place is more lively during the evenings while that in the French section is very remote. It depends on your personal choice.

They will arrange for all sightseeing and the cab driver (Mr. Palani, Mob No. 9095339776) is a equally excellent person.

Please stay in this hotel (or semi home I should say) for a delightful experience.

Room Tip: First floor deluxe rooms have the best view, facing the temple and pond and the mornings are very be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, General Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Mr. Imran Sir

vanakkam from Anantha Heritage Hotel pondicherry!!
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and motivating for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Anantha heritage pondicherry in the very near future.
Thank And Regards
fredrick gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

It is a lovely place with simple yet clean and elegant rooms. Contrary to the reviews I read before going there, though the rooms are on the road it is not at all noisy.

Simple food (South Indian or Continental) and you have to inform them a few hours in advance. But the staff is very courteous and friendly.

Ideal for going with a few friends - you will have your own private hotel.

Room Tip: Treat this like a traditional home stay - just ask for what you want. Food is basic button nice like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ushakrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, General Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Mrs.Usha Madam

vanakkam from Anantha Heritage Hotel pondicherry!!
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and motivating for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Anantha heritage pondicherry in the very near future.
Thank And Regards
fredrick gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

You feel welcomed from the door itself. Very friendly and warm staff. Took good care of us. Just gives a feeling of a nice home. The breakfast was great and its like a mini dining room on the terrace. Very nice ambience. The best part the place is right in middle of the french area and is 5 minutes walking to beach, aurobindo ashram or the temple. We took the standard room as that was the only one available. However it was still good value for money.

Room Tip: Standard room are also good enough if you dint want to spend too much money on your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iwshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Sir !!
vanakkam from Anantha Heritage Hotel pondicherry!!
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor.

Your appreciation about the hotel and the service is very encouraging and motivating for all of us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Anantha heritage pondicherry in the very near future.
Thank And Regards
fredrick gomez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a small hotel of about six rooms in a well maintained villa in the old "ville noir" district of Pondicherry. The building has character with large simply furnished rooms. The bathroom was clean and had all amenities. The bed was comfortable and of good size. The staff were helpful, polite and pleasant, making our stay very enjoyable.
There was wi-fi available in our room, at no extra charge.
Meals were cooked to order, and very good they were too, but for dinner you had to tell the cook in advance so that he could buy in fresh supplies. Meals were served on the roof terrace under an open sided roof giving protection from sun and rain. There are views from the terrace into the nearby temple.
Despite being in the middle of the town it was very quiet in our rooms and even on the terrace, bird song was the most prevalent noise.
There are no additional facilities such as swimming pool, gym or business centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Basil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mr.Basil Minor
Greeting from Anantha Heritage Hotel pondicherry!!!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us is highly appreciated and the time taken
to provide us with these details is of utmost importance to us.
We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and we will share these with our
team.
Our team is very glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and would
like to thank you for your positive comments about your experience at Anantha Heritage
Hotel Pondicherry. These are certainly going to be very encouraging and motivating
especially for the Team. It is always reassuring to learn that our efforts are being noted by
those whom we count on the most, "Our Guests".
Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up,
in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .
Thank you once again for your feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back to Anantha
Heritage.Hotel
Thanks and Regards
Fredrick Gomez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Anantha heritage is a small property with few rooms. Very well maintained....nice neat and beautiful place to stay with your family. The staff was very friendly. All the facilities were as promised.
Only negative was its location. its distance was not walkable from any of the tourist places in town. even for the beach we had to take an auto.
but if you are on a relaxed holiday...go for it :) :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toshika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Greeting from Anantha Heritage Hotel pondicherry!!!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us is highly appreciated and the time taken
to provide us with these details is of utmost importance to us.
We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and we will share these with our
team.
Our team is very glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and would
like to thank you for your positive comments about your experience at Anantha Heritage
Hotel Pondicherry. These are certainly going to be very encouraging and motivating
especially for the Team. It is always reassuring to learn that our efforts are being noted by
those whom we count on the most, "Our Guests".
Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up,
in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .
Thank you once again for your feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back to Anantha
Heritage.Hotel
Thanks and Regards
Fredrick Gomez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We got the exact feeling of coming back home whenever we entered the place. The architecture, location and the simplicity took us back to our yester years. I think the owner of the location has choosen two excellent people to make it the best, one being the architect of the building and second is Fredrick.

Breakfast was one of the best we had. The upma served was just out of this world. There was no menu at the place, but when Fredrick informed us that they can cook whatever we need and when I ordered for the dinner, the food was just made to perfection and it was completely our choice.

Staff here is always with a smile on the face, Raju and Cyril are more than happy to take all our requests. At times we were feeling like over pampered kids in granny's place.

Overall a great experience for us. Would reccomend this place for anyone who is visiting pondicherry without a blink.

If we ever make our own hotel, I would surely contact Fredrick to be the manager of the place :D

Room Tip: Room on Firstfloor, facing the temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kiranpradhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDDYGOMEZ900396652, Manager at Anantha Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mr.Kiran Sir.
Greeting from Anantha Heritage Hotel pondicherry!!!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.
Your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us is highly appreciated and the time taken
to provide us with these details is of utmost importance to us.
We thank you for all the positives pointed out in the review and we will share these with our
team.
Our team is very glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and would
like to thank you for your positive comments about your experience at Anantha Heritage
Hotel Pondicherry. These are certainly going to be very encouraging and motivating
especially for the Team. It is always reassuring to learn that our efforts are being noted by
those whom we count on the most, "Our Guests".
Guest satisfaction is a high priority for us, an area that we repeatedly train on and follow up,
in an effort to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel .
Thank you once again for your feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back to Anantha
Heritage.Hotel
Thanks and Regards
Fredrick Gomez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
0.7 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 85 in Pondicherry
1,208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#28 of 85 in Pondicherry
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel de l'Orient
Hotel de l'Orient
#29 of 85 in Pondicherry
512 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 85 in Pondicherry
641 reviews
1.5 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#25 of 85 in Pondicherry
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantha Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantha Heritage Hotel

Address: 96 Rue Perumal Koil, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: £41 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anantha Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce ourselves as The Anantha, a 7 room Heritage Hotel, ideally located in the heart of the city. A typical Heritage Home now restored & modernized into a hotel with an architectural landmark of Pondicherry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anantha Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing