We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad ambience. Avoidable food. Pathetic service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Shanti

Villa Shanti
Ranked #2 of 365 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Cuisines: Indian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant of VILLA SHANTI splits into two parts, one opens on the patio with the vertical garden, and the other air conditioned located in the old building.We decided to focus on quality, freshness and seasonal products. We try to find them among small local vendors, favouring those who respect organic farming.Timings : 12:00 - 23:00 hrs (Last Order at 22:30 hrs)The cafe bar, situated opposite the patio and vertical garden offers snacks from Indian streets & sandwiches.You may also choose to have your meals, enjoy a cocktail made up from fresh fruit juices, listen to music, or simply read a book from our library. Timings : 10:00 - 23:00 hrs (Last Order at 22:30 hrs. Pre booking highly recommanded especially during week end or public holidays
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad ambience. Avoidable food. Pathetic service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We went after being recommended by our hotel. Bad idea. Even the cheaper restaurants have better service than this.

Ambience
- the air conditioned room had 3 tables - one big group and two smaller tables. That was enough to leave the place stuffy and warm. Even the outdoors was cooler than that room
- the tables were so close we could hear all the conversations around us

Food
- bread served as short eats was stale; no response when we pointed that out.
- Indian food was overpriced compared to the rest
- the dish we ordered was okay. Nothing to complain about, nothing to rave about either

Service
- absolutely no service at the table
- no water was served, no napkins at the table
- they didn't bother checking if we needed anything else or would like to order more.
We left without ordering anything further.

The only person who was pleasant at the place was the manager John, who was manning the bar.

Overall, not worth the money and time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia_che
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
segiyane, Propriétaire at Villa Shanti, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your review after visiting Villa Shanti. We are extremely sorry to notice that your experience with us was not as per the level you expected. Even if the rain and the need to re allocate tables to people seated in the open courtyard make our job difficult when we are running full, our committement to deliver the same level of service should always be our motto.
We usually never answer to the reviews but we felt that we had to do it today.

We know better than anybody the quality of work of our staff and their commitement to please the guests. In extreme situations, they are trying their best and we thank them for being good 364 days a year.

We will surely work on our weakness and take difficult decision like closing the restaurant whenever it affect our operation. The most important for us is the guest experience as well as ethic business.

Regards

PAQUIRY Ségiyane Sylvain
Managing director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    377
    123
    28
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Lovely restaurant. Sumptuous food. Absolutely loved it.
Do visit, even if you are visiting Pondicherry for a day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suyog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nothing great for vegeterian, inefficient service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Given the great reviews that this place has got we decided to check it out during our latest visit to Pondy.

The place has good ambience and is known for good experimental cuisine,

When it comes to vegetarian options (which should always be good in India) though the place disappoints, they same routine North Indian curry roti fare (with fancy names in some cases) and two pasta options...that is pretty much it...and all that of average quality and at fairly high price.

Add to that the service is poor , we were seated for dinner at area that is more designated as waiting area, the waiter turned off the fan where we were seating...dont know what inspired him, everything took forever to come and even the billing took 20 minutes thats too much waste of time especially on a busy night when they could have waited faster and served more customer.

Overall given the great options that Pondicherry offers to fellow foodies I would say you can safely avoid this hotel specially if you are a vegetarian.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dhaval_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simple and elegant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Service was slow , but the food was delicious -- worth the wait. We ordered salad, indian as well as italian along with coolers. top league!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank priyamagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ambience meets food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is lovely restaurant in Pondi. This is a must visit place for its ambience and decent food. The place is mostly not crowded and staff are always on thier toes to serve. the soup and starteres are just awesome. You can spend some good qulaity time with your loved ones here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akshravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Shanti also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Villa Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing