We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pondicherry weekend”
Review of Villa Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Shanti
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend with friends. We booked the suite, it was lovely and had a private garden/terrace. The bed was comfortable and the shower hot and powerful.

Staff at the restaurant were a fraction slow delivering drinks, food, etc but the quality of the food was excellent.

Housekeeping didn't come to our room until 5pm, which was just as we were getting ready to head out. They returned at 9pm to refresh our water.

Overall, clean and tidy. Service just ok.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

restaurant was so great food!!
this is No.1 around this area!!
don't miss it!!
price are not cheap...

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kazune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very coperative staff.. brilliant rooms with wonderful furnitures and amneties. Awsesome restaurant. And the best part.. complimentary breakfast was just out of the world.. so fresh and rejuvenating.. a definite place to stay from now on.

Room Tip: Junior suite i stayed and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Asjad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a very wonderful property. Just Minutes away from the beach. The rooms are good, pretty old fashioned with huge doors and windows. The food is just amazing over there. I loved everything i ate. The staff is very friendly.. we always look back to go to this hotel and would definetly visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pravzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

They are coming up with a new place in Pondy LA villa pondicherry . looking forward for that . food is amazing and the ambience. No need to mention about the location its in the better part of Pondy the French side, so has lots of things which are unique.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhojanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed in Palais de Mahe but they were ful our last night so we stayed here. After the superb service at Palais de Mahe it was a let down to arrive and see the front office staff waiting around and seeing us struggle to get our bags out of the Tuk Tuk without helping us.

We were then kept waiting outside the reception area while the staff finished a call--actually during the entire stay this was an issue. The telephone always took priority over a guest standing in front of them. While there were several staff, only one person seemed to know anything or speak sufficiently good English and the others all had to ask him so there was a lot of waiting around. After waiting 30 minutes we went and carried our own bags to the room. We were promised our passports would be returned after they copied them in 20 minutews and two hours later we had to ask for them. We were advised to make a dinner booking but when we tried to do so they told us it wasn't possible. The night receptionist is more helpful than the day person but still needs to be taught better English.

The hotel is small but very well designed to maximize space. Rooms are minimalist and small (normal rooms) but clean and inviting with a moodern decor. Wifi is free and average speed for India and they will let you surf the web with more than one device per room which is unusual for India.

The food is sublime but it can be hard to get a reservation for dinner even if you stay in house. Restaurant service is reasonably prompt and friendly.

We wouldn't stay here because of the poor service but would definitely come back to eat here.

Room Tip: We had room 1 on the ground floor which is as far from the restaunart as possible--a good thing as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Love the colonial look,love the courtyard,food was definitely good and service was warm.
Few names we can remember were Mohan and Ram who were pleasant to interact with.
What can we say it was a perfect choice for a family holiday

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jb6042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 85 in Pondicherry
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 85 in Pondicherry
1,208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#5 of 85 in Pondicherry
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#12 of 85 in Pondicherry
538 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Orient
Hotel de l'Orient
#29 of 85 in Pondicherry
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Shanti

Address: 14 Rue Suffren Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: £66 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Shanti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest Heritage hotel of Pondicherry. Located in the hearth of the old French town, near the business area, in front of State bank of India, close to the seaside and the Aurobindo Ashram, this old 19th-century house has been renovated and a new contemporary wing has been added. With its clean lined interiors, craftsmanship, woodwork, Villa Shanti brings you a new experience in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing