We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Shanti
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Villa Shanti is a beatiful hotel with excellent food and very good and personal service. The location is perfect for exploring Pondicherry. Our only complaint was that the extra bed was very hard. Everything else was very perfect, but at a relatively high rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    145
    31
    4
    0
See reviews for
97
165
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Villa Shanti serves amazing food..we ate dinner on two consecutive nights while in Pondicherry. The service is okay (Mr.John, who I think is the manager was very attentive to our needs) but the food was excellent and quite worth the wait - when you are there, do not miss their orange flambe for dessert. Orgasmic!The ambience is beautiful and perfect for a leisurely meal! I live in Bangalore and to me, the sea, Villa Shanti and the Aurobindo library are good enough reasons to plan my next trip to Pondicherry!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miigs_AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This was a very pleasant surprise. It was funky, with a nice restaurant. Rooms were large and bathrooms modern.
You walked in and were surrounded by high ceilings and restrained contemporary elegance. The French influence was apparent, without being too French !

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank AdelaideBabette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Beautiful ambience, great food! Totally loved the experience @ Villa Shanti!

We had a nice evening dinner at Villa Shanti. The place had such a french feel to itself. Food was great, normally priced and the service was good too!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ruchi_886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is perfect place when you are in Pondi , great location , great food and great rooms.
The breakfast in this place is to die for ... worth getting up early to eat :).They make good LITs as well. Will def. visit again !!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridhima1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here just one night. There is no parking lot and street parking is usually full. Small but cozy place. Shower had no curtains or door so floor got really wet. Resturant staff are slow. Dinner menu was pretty good however breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prasad02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I visited with my family for the weekend and found the hotel very comfortable. There is a nice continental breakfast which is served in the lovely internal courtyard. The only small downside is that there was no door to the bathroom so the morning light disturbed our sleep a little, we stayed in a delux double room.
We would be likely to stay again as the staff were very very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#5 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.9 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#16 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#15 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Shanti

Property: Villa Shanti
Address: 14 Rue Suffren, Pondicherry 605001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Shanti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest Heritage hotel of Pondicherry. Located in the hearth of the old French town, near the business area, in front of State bank of India, close to the seaside and the Aurobindo Ashram, this old 19th-century house has been renovated and a new contemporary wing has been added. With its clean lined interiors, craftsmanship, woodwork, Villa Shanti brings you a new experience in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing