We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bad and the ugly”
Review of Villa Shanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Shanti
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Good : the staff is good very attentive you are taken care of

Bad : the location isn't great,the state bank of India is right opposite and many bikes scooters and cars or cabs r really fighting to park there...am convinced that "white town"..have seen better days

Ugly : go figure the rest :-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Holiday2014april
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

I loved every design and feature of Villa Shanti when I walked in - it is done up very tastefully and keeps the mood of Pondicherry. The hotel is not too big, just perfect and aesthetically pleasing. The rooms were all of different styles - fresh stylish look with an Indian touch as well. I had a room on the ground floor just next to the atrium and the doors help in shutting out any noise coming in from the restaurant. The room had a great airy feel with high ceilings. The bathrooms do not have a door and this needs some unlearning to do. What was missing I felt is a full length mirror and fire exit signs. The service was very warm and forthcoming - especially by staff at the restaurant. The food was superlative. We tried another hotel restaurant that failed miserably and landed up eating most of our meals in this superb restaurant. The vegetarian food was stellar - the sorbets were to die for and truly French. The hotel is two blocks away from the Pondicherry Beach and nestled in the very clean and lovely French quarter. Aurobindo ashram was walking distance and so was the beach. The hotel - Must go. Must try. Must visit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms may be noisy due to restaurant in adjoining atrium but I had no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaviDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Villa Shanti is a beatiful hotel with excellent food and very good and personal service. The location is perfect for exploring Pondicherry. Our only complaint was that the extra bed was very hard. Everything else was very perfect, but at a relatively high rate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Villa Shanti serves amazing food..we ate dinner on two consecutive nights while in Pondicherry. The service is okay (Mr.John, who I think is the manager was very attentive to our needs) but the food was excellent and quite worth the wait - when you are there, do not miss their orange flambe for dessert. Orgasmic!The ambience is beautiful and perfect for a leisurely meal! I live in Bangalore and to me, the sea, Villa Shanti and the Aurobindo library are good enough reasons to plan my next trip to Pondicherry!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Miigs_AM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was a very pleasant surprise. It was funky, with a nice restaurant. Rooms were large and bathrooms modern.
You walked in and were surrounded by high ceilings and restrained contemporary elegance. The French influence was apparent, without being too French !

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank AdelaideBabette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Beautiful ambience, great food! Totally loved the experience @ Villa Shanti!

We had a nice evening dinner at Villa Shanti. The place had such a french feel to itself. Food was great, normally priced and the service was good too!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank ruchi_886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is perfect place when you are in Pondi , great location , great food and great rooms.
The breakfast in this place is to die for ... worth getting up early to eat :).They make good LITs as well. Will def. visit again !!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ridhima1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
361 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
1.8 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#5 of 82 in Pondicherry
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Shanti

Address: 14 Rue Suffren Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: £84 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Shanti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest Heritage hotel of Pondicherry. Located in the hearth of the old French town, near the business area, in front of State bank of India, close to the seaside and the Aurobindo Ashram, this old 19th-century house has been renovated and a new contemporary wing has been added. With its clean lined interiors, craftsmanship, woodwork, Villa Shanti brings you a new experience in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing