We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Ambience”
Review of Laila's County

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laila's County
Ranked #48 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Chennai
1 review
“Very Good Ambience”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Except for the receptionist unruly behaviour for a late check out everything else was fantastic. The rooms and amenities, other staff. The food was a bit spicy.
It is very close to the beach and it is only a 5 min walk from the hotel. Has valet parking. Nice stay. Would love to come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Naveen Kumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    48
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
43
51
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain, Pakistan
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It was totally a different experience that in par with quality and service that me and my family could enjoy the stay in Lailas County.

Infact it was much more than what we expected in terms of excellence in service.

Food at the restaurents is yet another thing that should be given extra ordinary remark.

I would surely be recomending my friends about this great place.

Wish the team, a very best!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohammedrijas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kozhikode, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Traveling to pondicherry was a big headache earlier..especially because of poor accoomadation facilities.The hotels in pondicherry are either costly or provides horrible service and food.But this time i was fully delighted at the "Laila's county"hotel - a true value for money! After a long drive from Kerala i checked -in to the hotel at wee hours..but the hotel authorities pleased me and my friends by providing a delicious dinner even at those odd hours of night.The rooms were cozy,neat and furnished to international standards.The toilets were clean and tidy.The hotel being located at the heart of the pondicherry town is the best place to stay,just because its easy to access places around the crowded town. you hardly would need a vehicle to travel! The best part is that this hotel is located just a 100 metres away from the beach.One could walk to the beach at any hour of the day! The restaurants at the hotel is a place to tickle your gustatory instincts...the variety of dishes these guys provide is just awsome. You would love to come back to the hotel for the kind of food they provide!!On top of all these ,the hotel provides internet facility for 24hrs too..thank you lailas county for the kind of hospitality you offered.I just felt home away from home..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shab2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very nice experience . The room was beautiful, cozy and clean with prompt service whenever needed. The staff were courteous and friendly. The food also added to the good experience. The cuisine was varied and delicious. Especially the prawn cocktail which was so fresh and mouthwatering that my daughter wanted to hog it all by herself : ) and then went onto order another one. The tandoori chicken was so delicious the it made me forget my diet : ). The overall experience of our two days stay at the hotel was such a nice memorable one that it makes us want to go back again and again. Thank you all at Laila's County for taking such good care of us and making our trip from kolkata a memorable one. Wishing you all the luck for the future .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anoushka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

When the tuk-tuk pulled up to the hotel, and when I saw the lobby, I wasn't very hopeful about this hotel. However, once I was shown to the room, that faded. The room was compact (hey, Pondicherry was French, yeah?), but felt cozy rather than constrained. It was tidy, neat, and the air conditioning worked a treat - a key ask in India! The internet worked well, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

So all-in-all, it was a great stay! And it's a short walk to the promenade, and the other much more expensive hotels. Save the money, stay here, and get a nice dinner at Villa Shanti instead!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed in Laila’s County ( old name – The Mercure) for 2 days... Right from booking this hotel,It was a pleasant experience. The confirmation was given by mail and the route to the hotel was clearly told. The front-office people and also the other staffs in house-keeping, security were excellent... Rooms are small but the rooms were clean and the interior design was upto international standards especially AC model... The quality of food in the restaurant was good.... This hotel is suggested to all type of travelers to Pondicherry. Value for money. We are surely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvenu430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel is located just on the edge of the French colony and the MG beach is just a 5-10 min walk from here. The hotel in itself is very well maintained and the staff is very courteous and helpful. They have a dedicated car parking and you can just give your car keys to the valet and they will do it for you. The breakfast buffet is healthy but it has limited options. The in house restaurant majorly contains non-vegetarian dishes because of which we skipped it. The main concern was the size of the rooms. I booked a executive room and I was really surprised to see that as soon as the main door opened the bed was just a step away. I had to struggle to get to the other side of the bed to the main window. And when I opened the window it was facing a wall which was hardly 2 feet away. I felt suffocated whenever I was in the room. The bathrooms and the overall ambiance of the room was good.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room which has a window opening to an open area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonelytraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corbelli
Hotel Corbelli
#49 of 80 in Pondicherry
211 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#31 of 80 in Pondicherry
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#33 of 80 in Pondicherry
203 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
#34 of 80 in Pondicherry
60 reviews
1.1 mi away
Treebo South Avenue
Treebo South Avenue
#28 of 80 in Pondicherry
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laila's County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laila's County

Property: Laila's County
Address: 8 Quai D' Ambour Ambour Salai, Pondicherry 605001, India (Formerly The Mercure Hotel)
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Laila's County 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five minute walk away from the Bay of Bengal, Laila's County is a stylish boutique hotel offering opulent accommodation and wonderful five star service. Located in the heart of Pondicherry, the hotel is brilliantly done in style and has a distinctly modern interior. Laila's County believes in spoiling its guests with its service and hospitality and promises to be a one stop solution to all guest needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Laila's County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing