We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place at Pondicherry”
Review of Laila's County

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laila's County
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place at Pondicherry”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I had read reviews on Trip advisor and made my booking here..It surely was value for money..
the rooms arent that spacious..but neat and clean with a good setting..the breakfast was good but it takes time to replenish if there is a good crowd..the beach is walking distance away..the hotel has no parking..but the drivers park it on the main road and there is a security guard posted.
the restaurants are good and there is a bar on the terrace..

Room Tip: The road to this hotel is a one way..so ensure you go a little ahead take a right and come round to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R_Menon1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    48
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
44
51
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The staff are especially helpful. The hotel itself well run, with good food but what I liked most was the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Lakshmi on the reception desk was very resourceful and her English is near perfect. "Just leave it with me sir and I'll take care of it" and she did. The rooms are a bit small and there is some interesting mood lighting.

The hotel is near some of the famous Auroville workshops: the paper factory, the perfume showroom and the silk marbling showroom. You should see the silk marbling, they make beautiful small, light silk scarves and other things that are great for presents. Of course promenade on the beach front in the evening

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Was in Pondy from 12th to 15th Dec, my booking was already done at LC. I had read reviews beforehand and checked photos. Very friendly staff, good and quick room service, room was compact but had all facilities including wardrobe with locker, small fridge. Toilet was clean and neat. Complimentary breakfast was included in package which was really good. Food is expensive and parking is bit far from hotel. Overall, very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksbhakta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANGALORE
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Decided to stop in Pondi before heading to Chennai and checked in to Lailas county about 12 pm and Gayathri at the reception was nice to upgrade one of our rooms so that both the rooms were on the same floor. Though the room was small, it was well designed and the mattress was really thick. The only fault probably was the positioning of the AC which was right behind the head of the bed.(you could just sleep the other way and problem solved). The views aint that great but was really close to the beach and that helped.The morning complimentary breakfast was bit delayed as I think, the same waiters had to double as the cooks too, but the food was good.They dont have an adjacent parking lot however a few blocks away and they have a plot which can accommodate just about 4 cars. Serves the purpose.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KINGANTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Visited Pondicherry on 7th December without a hotel booking. Wandered around and looked at a couple of hotels which were not too great. Then I passed by Laila's county, I recalled the images from Trip Advisor. I spent no time and went in to enquire.
The reception was warm and made us feel at home. We took a club room and it was great.
Small and compact but everything was in place. The bathroom was hygienic and clean.
Room service was excellent.
Planned for 2 days but ended up staying an extra day.
The food was very good. The cocktails in the Dragon restaurant in the 5th floor are a must try.
The property is in a very good location close to the beach.
Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Club rooms with windows facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adven_Tourister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

i read a lot of reviews on LC but just like someone had mentioned, from outside, it was just an ordinary building but you step it, you feel a warm-home feel... the room we took was the executive and it was delightful. it was small and cozy and well kept. the bathroom was tidy and the air smelled nice. definitely a place worth staying for... thanks LC for making it so comfortable...... we will visit again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Vijith U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Except for the receptionist unruly behaviour for a late check out everything else was fantastic. The rooms and amenities, other staff. The food was a bit spicy.
It is very close to the beach and it is only a 5 min walk from the hotel. Has valet parking. Nice stay. Would love to come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Naveen Kumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corbelli
Hotel Corbelli
#52 of 82 in Pondicherry
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#34 of 82 in Pondicherry
206 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#13 of 82 in Pondicherry
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#27 of 82 in Pondicherry
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Devis Grand
Devis Grand
#30 of 82 in Pondicherry
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laila's County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laila's County

Property: Laila's County
Address: 8 Quai D' Ambour Ambour Salai, Pondicherry 605001, India (Formerly The Mercure Hotel)
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Laila's County 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five minute walk away from the Bay of Bengal, Laila's County is a stylish boutique hotel offering opulent accommodation and wonderful five star service. Located in the heart of Pondicherry, the hotel is brilliantly done in style and has a distinctly modern interior. Laila's County believes in spoiling its guests with its service and hospitality and promises to be a one stop solution to all guest needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Laila's County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing