We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Laila's County

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Laila's County
Ranked #53 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It's a must for pondicherry. There's I'd nothing you could
Fault about this amazing hotel. I was ill before we arrived and they were incredible with taking me to the hospital bringing fresh sheets and food for my friends while they stayed there.
The hotel staff went over and above their jobs and made our stay the best it could have been
The rooms were great and clean with hot water for showers and the good in the restaurant was fantastic.
I throughouly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey30222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajeshsai, Manager at Laila's County, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Johnna Thompson,

Greetings From Lailas County,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Lailas County. I hope u are fine. it is our duty to take care of our guest health while staying with us.
The team and I thank you once again for your time and the wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back.


Thanks & Regards,
K.Rajesh,
Mananger Operation,
Lailas County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel went above and beyond with their customer service. When one of out friends had to be taken to hospital the manager accompanied us to the hospital and bought along bedding and food. This hotel was extremely accommodating and made us feel incredibly welcome. The food in the restaurant was very good and affordable. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location and you are able to walk to many of the top attractions. I would recommend this hotel for anyone going to Pondicherry.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank NicoleBailey400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajeshsai, Manager at Laila's County, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Nicole Bailey,

Greetings from Lailas County,

Thank you very much for choosing Lailas County during your visit to Pondicherry and also for sparing time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. its our duty to take care of our guests during their stay at our hotel, Your kind words will certainly be shared with our entire team.

Thank you once again for your wonderful Comments, we are eager to serve you soon.

K. Rajesh,
Manager Operation,
Lailas County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I went during off-season and paid ~$20 a night, and I would have been very happy to pay much more than this. Cute, clean, modern boutique hotel. Very Western. Small but I was not bothered by this. Comfy bed, good TV, hot water, friendly staff, rooftop bar, near to everywhere you'd wanna go, simple breakfast (perfect for me). If you catch a deal on this place, I would definitely go. I would say as far as value goes, this was the cheapest I paid for a hotel during my stay, and it was by far the greatest value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajeshsai, General Manager at Laila's County, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear reviewer,
The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us and also for the time taken to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.
Your kind words will certainly be shared with our entire team and this will act as a source of motivation.
Thank you for your patronage; we look forward to welcoming you back

Thank & Regards
K. Rajesh
Manager Operation,
Lailas County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A good hotel with excellent facilities. The rooms are neat, clean, well maintained and the interiors and a/c were good . The staffs and receptionist were friendly and helpful. The promenade is 10 minute walk from here.

Room Tip: Try the club and suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guruprasad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajeshOM, General Manager at Laila's County, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guru prasad,

Greetings from Lailas County,

I thank you for a awesome review about Lailas county. Your feedback is important to us to enhance our standard and to satisfy every guest who visits us.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks & regards
K.Rajesh
Manager Operation
Lailas County.Pondicherry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel provides entire satisfaction for the value of money. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The food was excellent especially the cesar salad and the chicken steak. Round the clock menu can be improved. Restaurant closes at 11:00 which is a disadvantage for late night hogger.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srivathsan484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajeshsai, General Manager at Laila's County, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mr. Srivasthan,

Greetings from Lailas County,

We thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your review on this forum with a perfect rating.Your kind words will certainly be shared with our entire team; this will act as a source of motivation,

As per the rules of pondicherry govt, its advised to close restaurant at time, but u can definitely enjoy in your next visit.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we will look forward to welcoming you on your next visit

Thanks & Regards
K. Rajesh
Lailas County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stay at laila's county is an awesome experience. The food they provide is mouth watering. Ceaser salad is something everyone should try..! service is also good!.. Its certainly value for money hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vasil8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajeshsai, General Manager at Laila's County, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Greeting from Lailas County,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor regarding your stay. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience with us.

Thank you for your kind comments on the restaurants.

We look forward to your return and to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Thanks & Regards
K. Rajesh
Manager operation,
Lailas County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Laila's County was known as Mercure Hotel earlier, but after the rechristening, there has been a tremendous change in terms of interiors, quality of food and service.

The interiors are simply out of the world and are thoughtfully crafted.

The designer A/cs look cool and comfortable.

The beds are comfortable but small. The bathrooms are cramped but sufficient.

The food is simply superb and the hospitality is excellent.

The location even though noisy is bang in the middle of the tourist district.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnilKumarPorwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajeshsai, General Manager at Laila's County, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Mr. Anilkumar Porwal,Greetings from Lailas County,

We would like to thank you for rating us so highly on this forum. We sincerely appreciate your wonderful words for the team.

I thank you once again for your time and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thanks& Regards
K. Rajesh,
Manager Operation,
Lailas County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Abi Krishna
Hotel Abi Krishna
#67 of 85 in Pondicherry
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
#42 of 85 in Pondicherry
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Sun Inn
Golden Sun Inn
#35 of 85 in Pondicherry
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corbelli
Hotel Corbelli
#59 of 85 in Pondicherry
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Devis Grand
Devis Grand
#25 of 85 in Pondicherry
106 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#18 of 85 in Pondicherry
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laila's County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laila's County

Address: 8 Ambour Salai, Pondicherry 605001, India (Formerly The Mercure Hotel)
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: £19 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laila's County 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five minute walk away from the Bay of Bengal, Laila's County is a stylish boutique hotel offering opulent accommodation and wonderful five star service. Located in the heart of Pondicherry, the hotel is brilliantly done in style and has a distinctly modern interior. Laila's County believes in spoiling its guests with its service and hospitality and promises to be a one stop solution to all guest needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Laila's County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing