We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our third trip to Pondicherry, so all city attractions had been covered earlier. This time we were really looking for a relaxing break, and it was one. Excellent food, well thought out property layout plan and in general very well maintained. Especially the Kingfisher corner (our nomenclature) is a soothing place to spend hours with or without a glass, and is not at all very warm on even April mid-day. We, our son and even my parents had a great time. Experience worth remembering and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Subhr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Windflower Pondicherry and that your family had a great time there. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Well...We are not frequent review writers.. but the visit to this resort demanded us to write one small review
Visited as a couple and stayed for 3 days n 2 nights. All the facilities of the resort are 5 star!!
Food is amazing, Pool is huge. the lawns and the greenery is well maintained.. Catamaran ride is worth a try! SPA is just stunning. We are frequent SPA goers; but these therapists were truly experienced! We got a chance to stay @ the studio and the villa!!

But studio for a couple is preferable as the villa was too big for just 2 of us. It has 3 biggggg rooms, a private pool and a Jacuzzi. otherthan that all the decor and the amenities are almost same!

Family/ couple destination!Just the perfect place to relax on a beach vacation. offers complete privacy for couples!!
The view from the room is incomparable. Morning walk to the beach was so relaxing.. so was the walk at the backwaters.. we could see fishes jumping!! No huzzy buzzy noises.

All the hotelstaff is so hospitable. They even accommodated for an early check in and even late checkout!! :) They even arrange transportation from the hotel at an extra cost.
All in all..we are truly impressed!

Room Tip: Villa 5,6 and Studio rooms 10 to 20 are the best.. offers scenic view as they face the backwaters...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsnMrKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Windflower Pondicherry and that your family had a great time there. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Came here for a relaxing long weekend. It is located a bit off the main city, and requires travelling through narrow roads to reach here. But this adds to the peacefulness offered at the resort. This is one of the few true "resorts" that I have been to in India, with most facilities (sadly not all) to be self sustainable. The rooms are very well sized with a walk in wardrobe and bathroom which in itself is bigger than most rooms in other hotels (stayed in a suite room). We had a sit-out with a common garden which was extremely relaxing in the evenings. The resort overlooks the beach and can be accessed either by foot or by a boat ride. The food is decent, but the breakfast is pretty good. This is a really good place to come with a family with small children, teens and older might get bored since there's not much around the resort. All in all, a must visit. Unfortunately was unable to use the spa, but would definitely try it out the next time.

Room Tip: Book a villa, comes with a private pool.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Windflower Pondicherry and that your family had a great time there. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We visited Pondicherry in March 2014 for couple of days and chose Windflower resorts to stay.When i contacted the resort few days before our travel they said tht resort is full on our travel dates,i was dissapointed as we shortlisted this after much look around.To my surprise, when i tried on the company`s website i got the bookings. Reaching resort is bit tedious as its some 40 mins drive from the city n u need ur own vehicle if u wish to visit the city.
First look of the resort is very pleasing,its quiet n serene with well maintained gardens.We booked a suite, rooms r very spacious n with well done interiors,AC is very efficient(its imp in such hot humid weather)and most importantly the bedding is equivalent to what u get in the best of 5* star hotels,its really comfortable.Bathroom is luxurious and we had our own open bathing space in the midst of trees,it was very relaxing.Suite has access to lawn and an open sitting area,back waters r closeby.

Resort gave us a complimentry bottle of wine which was of the most inferior grade,they shud provide atleast some decent wine,it wont cost them much.Food is served in resturant and its decent, nothing extraordinary,breakfast is mix of continental and south indian.Staff is very cooperative, the chef came to us to know our taste.
Swimming pool is next to the resturant which is bit odd as people sitting in for meal can watch u.pool is well maintained well.Cottages have their own pool,we requested for an upgrade but it wasnt avlble.
Beach is just a 5 mins walk from the resort backyard.
We had a very relaxing spa at the resort which is strongly recommend.Overall it was an excellent stay at the resort,no complaints from any deptt of the resort.Strongly recommend if ur looking for a relaxing stay at pondicherry.Truly a 5* experience.

Room Tip: Suites r located on the ground floor whereas studios r above them,recommend suite as not much of pri...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yatin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Windflower Pondicherry and that your family had a great time there. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights and 3 days with my family. We had booked 1 suite and 1 Studio room. Since i called ahead I was allotted rooms in front of the lake.

Breakfast and Dinner was included in the room rate. Excellent food and service at the restaurant. The chief was very kind enough to provide non spicy food for my Kid.

Overall a pleast Stay.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in front of the Lake. Also u can call ahead and request the room which i did.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pradeep_Rajaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Windflower Pondicherry and that your family had a great time there. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I had been to Windflower Pondicherry with my family. The property is decent and well maintained.
The food was good although we were a little bummed to hear that there was no buffet since the number of members were too less. However, the staff was extremely courteous to serve every single dish that we asked for from the menu. The service is excellent and the staff makes it sure that you have no complaints whatsoever. When we planned for a cake for my to-be-1 year old daughter, they happily obliged with a yummy complimentary cake in the shape of "1" and a well-made bouquet delivered right into our room. This made it very special for us.
Only con that I can think of is with the rooms that were offered, they weren't water body facing especially considering that there were only 2 more families on the resort. We weren't really offered a choice to select the suites even if they were available. However, the service was excellent and made our trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Windflower Pondicherry and that your family had a great time there. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is pretty and clean. The staff is also very courteous. In fact when we asked for a little portion of pasta for a toddler, they dint even charge for it.
The buffet spread is pretty average though, but the suite is neat and clean. A little disappointment was the sewage smell outside the room of the blocks right at the end, but that dint disturb the inside.
The best part of the hotel is the boat ride to the beach. It's not to be missed. Pool is almost good for nothing.
Overall..a decent place to stay and unwind

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ManviSachdeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at The Windflower Pondicherry and that your family had a great time there. We look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
13.3 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 82 in Pondicherry
784 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,134 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#12 of 82 in Pondicherry
907 reviews
0.9 mi away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#42 of 82 in Pondicherry
44 reviews
3.4 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry

Address: Survey No. 198/1,198/2 Maraimalai Adigal Street | Manavely Revenue Village, Chinnaveeram Pattinam, Ariyankuppam Post, Pondicherry 605007, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: £92 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in picturesque ChinnaVeerampattinam, The Windflower Resort & Spa Pondicherry is perched between backwaters and bright blue ocean. Stroll along the beach, if the mood strikes you. Race the gulls to the horizon. Step around seashells, and spider crabs. Watch the sun set into the Indian Ocean. Or, take a romantic little cruise along the backwaters. Have a quiet picnic lunch on the banks of a stream. Walk about shooting the birds on film. The resort features large airy rooms with views of the water or of the gardens. Indulge in our Bistro with the foods of the land and RE- EMERGE with our spa. The Windflower Resort & Spa Pondicherry is waiting... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing