We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I visited the Windflower in March for two nights for some peace and quiet.

The hotel is located further south of the main town, tucked away in palm trees between backwaters and overlooking the ocean. Need I say more about the location?

The gardens and buildings are immaculately maintained, although the swimming pool could do with better cleaning and maintenance. Absolutely beautiful scenery.

The ground floor room was wonderful. Bed was comfortable, room was spacious and the outdoor garden shower was truly unique and refreshing. Great call!

Despite going in the off-peak season, food choices were plenty and very tasty. Shout-out to the chef on duty (sorry we forgot your name) for cooking up a mean fish curry. Staff were very polite and friendly and always at hand to help out.

We've now found our getaway whenever we visit India.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay at the Windflower Pondicherry. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

a bit far from pondi but a very relaxing spa resort, good rooms, absolutely brilliant spa therapy, god restaurant, very friendly staff and all good but beach is far walk through common back water drains... beach is ok afterall. i would go hear for the spa, but next time only for a day otherwise taxi to pondi and auroville will cost more than hotel!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Nimitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay at the Windflower Pondicherry. A special thanks for appreciating the spa. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A very beautiful property with a beach walk. Rooms were excellently done and very comfortable. Bathroom was pretty huge, clean with a garden shower to enjoy your bath. A big lawn just at the back of the room to enjoy morning sun. Beyond lawns were the view of back waters and huge coconut trees. Breakfast was sumptuous, full of fresh fruits, juices, shakes, lassi, croissants, and a lot of south indian dishes like dosa, idli, vada, ragi sewain, pongal etc. However north indian dishes did not taste well, hence did'nt like much of luch and dinner. But soups and deserts were awesome. Walk to the beach was 3-5 minutes. Loved the waves of Bay of Bengal.

Room Tip: The suites on the ground floor are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manali1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay at the Windflower Pondicherry. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Good food .
good hospitality
good location.
well maintained swimming pool
good lawn. the resort is close to backwaters . to reach beach we have to walk for 10 minutes. they have catamaran ride. play area is well maintained. when we stayed wifi is not working.
worth for money

Room Tip: Suites are good and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selvah21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay at the Windflower Pondicherry. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Pros : 1. Well furnished tastefully designed spacious suites
2. Pleasant courteous Staff all around from front desk to the restaurant to housekeeping and swimming pool
3. Located near the sea and backwaters
4. Well maintained lawns
5. Swimming pool.
6. Pretty good food

Cons : 1. Swimming pool can be better. Needs to be cleaner and with less chlorine.
2. Wifi connections are unstable and authentication system is irksome

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Vijay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay at the Windflower Pondicherry. We have made a note about your comment pertaining to swimming pool cleanliness and wi-fi connectivity. We will address these issues at the earliest. We do look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Awesome food!
Incredible hospitality!
Lovey location!
Splendid resort!

Amazing workers at the restaurant!!! Very hospitable and highly commendable people. Special thanks to Captain. Dhanapal great man to take care of the restaurant. We stayed two week and it was a precious time for us!!! Thanks Windflower!!!! Hats off!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of sea and backwaters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abduljaleel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your experience with The Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We look forward to welcoming you back to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was my first visit to Windflower Resort which I selected after extensive search and also by checking reviews on TripAdvisor, although after visiting the place I would like to mention that this is one of the best resorts I have visited in India till now. Starting from Entrance to the landscaped gardens, from spacious rooms with veranda having view of the beach and the restaurant,all are very superbly maintained. The interiors of the room was very good and we were lucky enough that we also got beach view rooms. The swimming pool is also big enough to relax in the evening. The beach is very near hardly 10 mins walk from the resort which is also very clean. The restaurant serves very good lip-smacking food. The buffet breakfast was also very nice even I was equally satisfied with the spread of Buffet dinner which was also amazing. I would like to thank Chef Mr. Vijay kumar and his team for preparing and serving such a wonderful dishes to us. Overall I would really recommend and prefer this resort whenever I will be coming back to Puducherry as it successfully caters need of each & every individual whether you are couple or family or friends. Double thumbs up to the resort and its staff for such an amazing pampering hospitality. After visiting this resort, I would definitely like to visit other properties of Windflower very soon. Thank you Windflower as we had such a relaxing break which we were really searching from many days.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good but if you are looking for beach view and good landscape go for higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BhavinShroff55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your experience with The Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We look forward to welcoming you back to another Windflower property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
13.3 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 83 in Pondicherry
801 reviews
5.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#11 of 83 in Pondicherry
933 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 83 in Pondicherry
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 83 in Pondicherry
1,161 reviews
0.9 mi away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#38 of 83 in Pondicherry
49 reviews
3.4 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 83 in Pondicherry
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry

Address: Survey No. 198/1,198/2 Maraimalai Adigal Street | Manavely Revenue Village, Chinnaveeram Pattinam, Ariyankuppam Post, Pondicherry 605007, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: £86 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in picturesque ChinnaVeerampattinam, The Windflower Resort & Spa Pondicherry is perched between backwaters and bright blue ocean. Stroll along the beach, if the mood strikes you. Race the gulls to the horizon. Step around seashells, and spider crabs. Watch the sun set into the Indian Ocean. Or, take a romantic little cruise along the backwaters. Have a quiet picnic lunch on the banks of a stream. Walk about shooting the birds on film. The resort features large airy rooms with views of the water or of the gardens. Indulge in our Bistro with the foods of the land and RE- EMERGE with our spa. The Windflower Resort & Spa Pondicherry is waiting... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing