We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a secluded location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Pondicherry
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a secluded location”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in Windflower Pondicherry in the month of June for 2 nights. We were 2 couples and had booked their Suite rooms. The overall experience that we had was good.We were driving from Bangalore and it took us around 7 hrs to reach this resort. The resort is not a very big property and is close to Paradise beach. One would need their own transport as the resort is located pretty far from the city. It would be very tough to access the resort in the night without one's own vehicle as the access roads are pretty dark.

Positives:
a. The location - The resort is located close to the paradise beach which is one of the main attractions in Pondicherry. Infact one could take a 10 mins walk to reach the beach from the resort or take a boat.
b. The rooms: The Suite room that we stayed were huge. The facilities in the room were also pretty good. A well stocked mini bar, a huge bathroom and an open air shower. The rooms were very clean and well maintained
c. Check-in: Check-in was a breeze and we were in our rooms within 15 mins. Much appreciated after a long drive
d. The staff: The staff were very polite and ready to help. This does make one's stay that much more enjoyable.

Areas where they can improve:
a. Restaurant: This has been one of the major problems. We infact had similar experience in Windflower Vythiri.. Somehow the restaurants look a bit under staffed. It would take lot of time for us to get the stuff that we ordered. The spread in their buffet was also not that great. We had requested for A-la-carte (for lunch) and were told that only buffet lunch was available. We would have not been disappointed if they had a bit more variety

b. Spa: Even though the massage was great, the decor of the rooms could be better (they do charge rates which are at par with other star hotels)

c. The pool: Swimming pool is very small and is right next to the restaurant. Kiinda awkward location for a swimming pool to be located. There were many families which were staying in the resort (group tours) during our visit. Due to this the swimming pool used to be very crowded and we hardly had a decent swim. A resort of this size should have had a better pool.

Overall we had a good vacation and had fun. Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who is planning a trip to Pondicherry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Planet_trekker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to know that your overall experience at The Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We have made a note of your comments pertaining to the restaurant, spa and pool and we will endeavour to address the issues you have highlighted. We do hope to see you at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    220
    67
    23
    15
See reviews for
280
130
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Visited this resort during current monsoon to spend relax time with family. Had a good memory of windflower@coorg where we had corporate family outing and this time also, we were not disappointed. We got good monsoon package deal along with some resort credits which we utilized for spa. Food was good. Staff was very friendly. Our little baby enjoyed the tasty meals which they esp. prepared for her. Swimming pool was clean and well maintained. Room was spacious. However, they had cable TV instead of dish TV which was quite odd. Enjoyed the beach walk and catamaran ride to paradise beach. I would recommend it for calm and relax family outing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VijjuVijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a good holiday at The Windflower Pondicherry and we look forward to welcoming you to another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

100% Satisfied. Had a very good time, enjoyed my stay. I would recommend this place for family’s with kids.
- Friendly staff.
- Good place to relax, Calm and nice views.
- Spacious rooms
- No hidden charges
- Kids friendly.
- Close to Paradise beach. We can take a walk OR take a private boat.

Suggestion to Management, some more water activity like pedal boats, Canoe, or long water rides could be better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrkumar02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We have made a note of your recommendation and will arrange for the same at the earliest. We do hope to see you at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

After long planning we planned to book at windflowe for July 26th , 27th , 28th for 3N. I can tell its one of the best place to get it relaxed. Welcome Staff was too good they handle very properly , rooms were very clean , my kid use to be in swimming pool which they consturcted for kids i liked very much , Staff were very supportive. Coming to restaurant its awaesome break fast too + restaurance staff i will rate them highly they are too good making us comfort for each one especially for kids they were very supportive.

I can tell for 3 days we stayed we never had an single issue , I am happy that I paid the money which I am expecting comfort.
Please keep up good work we will soon come once again.

Raghavendra & Sridevi Joshi

Room Tip: Please try to choose room at left part of the reception which have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 372screenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at Windflower Pondicherry was a good one. We do hope to see you at another Windflower soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had asked for a double-room at the time of reservation because we had an infant with us, but they first took us to a room with single, twin beds, and a room that had clearly not even been prepared, considering there was already a mattress on the floor! We were moved to a room with a double bed, but this room too, wasn't checked before we were given the room, and it made for a very irritating experience right after we checked into the resort after a three hour drive from Chennai, with an infant. The air conditioning and mini refrigerator were both not working ( it took five hours to repair the AC, but the refrigerator never was), basic toiletries such as a toothbrush and toothpaste were missing, they had kept one mug instead of two along with their electric kettle, and no stirrers and many other such small things which required us to keep calling housekeeping. The infant cot that was meant to be free of charge was damaged, and they wanted to charge us Rs.1500 per night for an extra mattress, so we obviously gave it a pass.The resort has a table tennis table, billiards table and foos ball table, all of which were broken. We spent two nights and three days at the resort, and given our experience, especially with the lack of air conditioning, we had asked to meet the manager of the resort practically from the moment we arrived and repeatedly after. However he graced us with his presence only just before we checked out, apologised for the services, and made a bunch of tall promises which haven't been kept. For the room rent, there are better resorts in Pondicherry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amritraop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry that you had a bad experience at our resort. We acknowledge that there was a serious lapse from our end and we apologize sincerely for the same. We have spoken to the Manager at the location and he acknowledges that the wrong room was allocated and the ensuing problems arose as a result of all the rooms being occupied at the time. We do hope you will pardon us this time and we assure you that we will ensure that this kind of lapse does not occur again with any guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Check in - Quick and efficient
Room Service - Quick
Restaurants - Great service and a nice spread of cuisines from North and south India
Pool - Nice clean pool.. good for family fun
Beach - Private beach closeby...can do better with the approach...littered with liquor bottles....certainly a no go zone with kids and family after dark....Can do better if the resort could provide some permanent beach umbrellas.

We stayed in Studio suites...ground floor.....highlight....walkout into lawns.....open air shower (!)...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinurags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Windflower Pondicherry was a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at another Windflower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A perfect family getaway to enjoy the sun and sand, beach within walking distance, a good clean swimming pool, good large well appointed rooms and above all very good food. Excellent service from all the staff.

We had opted for 3nights monsoon package, 6 families travelling. If you are travelling as a big family, I would advice to call the reservations and book offline as you could negotiate a better discount (of course depending on season and availability).

Some improvements which are minor irritants that can be done at the resort are doors for the WC, Lighting outside the rooms, air conditioner power, main room door locks, sufficient linen / bath towels etc.....

Room Tip: First floor rooms have good view of the river and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suresh Kumar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRashinkar, Director-Marketing at The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Windflower Pondicherry was a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at another Windflower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
13.3 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#19 of 81 in Pondicherry
765 reviews
5.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#13 of 81 in Pondicherry
878 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 81 in Pondicherry
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 81 in Pondicherry
596 reviews
3.4 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 81 in Pondicherry
497 reviews
0.9 mi away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#43 of 81 in Pondicherry
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry

Property: The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Address: Survey No. 198/1,198/2 Maraimalai Adigal Street | Manavely Revenue Village, Chinnaveeram Pattinam, Ariyankuppam Post, Pondicherry 605007, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in picturesque ChinnaVeerampattinam, The Windflower Resort & Spa Pondicherry is perched between backwaters and bright blue ocean. Stroll along the beach, if the mood strikes you. Race the gulls to the horizon. Step around seashells, and spider crabs. Watch the sun set into the Indian Ocean. Or, take a romantic little cruise along the backwaters. Have a quiet picnic lunch on the banks of a stream. Walk about shooting the birds on film. The resort features large airy rooms with views of the water or of the gardens. Indulge in our Bistro with the foods of the land and RE- EMERGE with our spa. The Windflower Resort & Spa Pondicherry is waiting... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing