We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location ”

Seagulls Restaurant
Ranked #225 of 364 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pasig City
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice location ”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Seagulls is a government-run establishment, so I was told. Though they have probably one of the best locations by the Pondy beachfront, I find the place too dark, having had dinner at the roof deck. The place lacks maintenance, but there was a crowd that night, so I guess they have their strong points. The food was just fine.

Helpful?
Thank bubong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    41
    34
    23
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK food but very bad behaviour”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Food was ok kind of but the behavior we got from there is the worst of my experience. First of all we had to look for a place by our own as none of the waiters helped us to find a table, while we were waiting they kept on saying that there is assurance of getting a seat and we should go to some other hotel (typical kind of behavior we get from a govt. running organization). But the best part was when the same waiter told us (after we repeatedly told to take our order) to look for the boy and get the table cleaned then only he will come and take the order.

More over people over there discriminate on the base of origin, I mean if you can speak tamil you will get a good service but if not then god can save you. So if you want to pay for the food and then get insulted then you can carry on but I will never go to this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darken_Dust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
298 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This restaurant has one of the best locations serving drinks. The food is good but maintenance is not up to the mark.

Let that not deter you, if in Pondicherry must visit it. It is one of the few restaurants not using Basa fish.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rajeshwar Dayal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auroville, India
Level Contributor
176 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Govt. run - you know it!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

For the most part I have no idea why Govts. think they can operate hotels and restaurants properly. It is very rare to find a place that even approaches ordinary. Seagulls is at best ordinary. The location is great but everything else is dull and uninspiring and the service typical of people who work for Govt. institutions. Why should they bother? Nobody else does. So the food is poor to average, the service is poor to average, the prices are - who knows because in the end you don't much care because it is just where you will go for the lack of anything else and you want people so see the view.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank npk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Medium budget nice location”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

It has good sea view and is reasonably priced. Its at the end of Beach road and they serve local-taste food. French fries in sizzlers. But the taste was good for me Indian. My next meal in pondy was at Rendezvous and the 2 places arent comparable. But lunch at this place was not a bad experience either. Doesnt have ambience of starred hotels but for a quick bite, I dont mind all that locale stuff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kats6580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seagulls Restaurant also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to Seagulls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing