We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth looking for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Banana Cafe

New Banana Cafe
Ranked #23 of 364 Restaurants in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$4
Cuisines: Cafe, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“worth looking for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Not the easiest to find but worth looking for. Up several flights of stairs so not for the infirm. The food was really tasty. we had quiche which had really crisp pastry and lovely lovely crispy chips. Salad was several items, fresh and well presented. staff are very pleasant. They wanted to leave before us and asked us to leave the money for our bill in a jar and leave when we were ready ! Coffee was tasty. Not much of a view but very well shaded. Good wifi and much better value for money than the cafes in the french quarter. will visit again before we leave pondi.

Helpful?
Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    49
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brunico, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I recommand to try out this nice restaurant in pondi`s muslim area. Mostly french/italian food prep. with love. Try the salads!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Armin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneshwar, Orissa, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Even Google Maps doesn't help while finding this place. Located deep in the Muslim colonies of Pondicherry in the middle of a street called the Cazy street (new location), this quaint roof top restaurant is worth all the pain taken while searching. Do not be fooled by the cooks or the lack of service. The food will make up for everything.
They are known for their food and they do not disappoint. But yes, a few items may not be available.
And the location definitely affects its reputation.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank debidutt_acharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good honest food from friendly welcoming staff excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Simple but delicious food. The menu is a little 2 dimensional and it is in a weird location but when you finally arrive to a smiling and welcoming host it will be worth it!
Try the roast chicken and fried potatoes it's really good and almost has a home cooked taste!
Chocolate cake is ok but a little dense for my liking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leighleigh269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Totally authentic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I went here with my wife and children. We have been living in India for several years and have not had this authentic of European tasting food for many years. The staff is really friendly and quick. I was really pleasantly surprised.

We were so impressed with the food, we ordered dessert, but it was not as impressive.

The restaurant is on the rooftop.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Banana Cafe also viewed

Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry
 

Been to New Banana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing