We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Retreat”
Review of La Closerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Closerie
Ranked #12 of 149 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Chandigarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I'm a little late in writing this review considering that I couldn't wait to get back and share my experience at 'La Closerie' with my friends and family. I had absolutely no idea about the location or what to expect until we finally reached there after a tiring 9 hour drive from Bengaluru and Voilà! A little piece of heaven, tucked right in the center of the 'White Town', a 1 minute walk from the sea and 'the Promenade', La Closerie was a wonderfully pleasant surprise! Reasonably priced, aesthetically designed, impeccably maintained, the place goes all out to impress you. The pool in the middle of the guest house is the perfect place to relax and the lounge area is an ideal place where you can sit for hours. Quite frankly, i did not quite feel like stepping out of this wonder of a retreat. Annie, the owner, has single handedly done a commendable job at doing up this place and maintaining its standards. We sat together and had a few drinks along with my friends in the evening and it seemed like we were being hosted by some friends. I think the only slightly negative point here is that people come here expect it to be more than a B&B and looking at how luxuriously done up it is, one expects service to the standards of a decent hotel which is not the expectation that the owner has set out. So please bear in mind that it is, at the end of the day, not a hotel but a B&B and an excellent one! Needless to say, I have been raving about this place and have recommended it to quite a few of my friends and family. I surely look forward to visiting again with my special someone as I promised Annie :). Great job guys! Hope you finish the wine bar at the terrace with the sea view before we plan our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasmineBrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    35
    9
    9
    11
See reviews for
34
89
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Nice location, very nicely decorated, comfy beds. Only thing that could use help was - hospitality - it seemed the owner was a bit too concerned about costs - like turning off Jacuzzi as soon as we got out of it etc. That bugged us a bit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KRISHNA_SHROFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a small bungalow with 7rooms, a small pool, greenery all around, sitting area n terrace completely made in french style... The interior, the view, everything seems perfect if you are there for a short break... The trees n plants all around makes it look more beautiful... The owner Anne is nice n friendly and so is the staff who are quite helping and ready to serve you happily. I just loved my stay at La Closerie n would love to come back n spend some quality time here... Seriously a very nice place to stay at...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhilasha_designer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this B&B with my wife and 1 yr old daughter for a day and night.
The place is easy to find , very close to the promenade, and still tucked away in a quiet area of the French Quarter. The place is beautifully done - the lovely courtyard , a small pool , artistically decorated rooms. It's like entering one of those fairy tale houses. And all this for a very affordable price.
The place is meant for you to spend some romantic and quality time with your partner. And it might be difficult if you have children or elders in your group since the rooms don't have doors to bathrooms. We found it a little uncomfortable. Also , the French breakfast in the morning is only a continental one and not the authentic French one ..
Since the house is aesthetically done and maintained well , the owners have few strict rules for not spoiling the place.
I would definitely recommend the place for a relaxed stay in Pondicherry.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sriraam9380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I loved this place. Although the old French quarter of Pondicherri is not as manic as most parts of urban India it was still a relief to step through the doors and into the courtyard garden. The whole place is full of beautiful ornaments and the pool is a great place to cool off. Annie is a great host - friendly, interested, relaxed and engaging.
I can't rate this place highly enough.
It's a bit hard to find (which is a good thing). It's about 3 houses along from the Hotel de Pondicherri and the door is unmarked.
No hesitation - 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Mightily impressed by this place...I'll definitely go back here...very impressed with its interiors..great place if you just looking for to stay and travel out and explore..very contemporary yet retains the french look...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thilak_Ramanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

La Closerie is surely a gem right in the heart of the french quarters and is a stone's throw away from the Promenade. The place is really as good as the pictures on the website, perhaps even more beautiful. Annie runs the place really well and takes personal care of each guest and maintains the place so beautifully, that it rises above being just clean and nice. Every small artifact is handpicked and decorated wonderfully. Glad to have chosen this place to stay as we had a brilliant experience staying there. Annie and Alain make guests feel really comfortable and introduce other like minded travellers. We ended up making a lot of friends during our stay.
The staff is friendly. All rooms are very tastefully done. There are many cozy li'l common areas where conversations can take place or you could just relax with a book or a drink by the pool. We stayed at Room 4 that has a poster bed and the sleep quality was amazing. The breakfast is a simple affair with toast, croissants, fruit juice and a fruit bowl, however what makes it special is the conversation you will end up having at the table with the host and with other guests.
For lunch and dinner, there are many restaurants around the place. Le Club is just two buildings away. Villa Shanti, Cafe des Arts, Palais de Mahe, Satsanga etc are within walking distance. Annie gave us suggestions on the restaurants around and helped us plan our days better.
All in all, this is the best location to stay in the french quarters if you're looking for a mix of modern and heritage decor, great hosts and a very friendly atmosphere . Kudos to Annie for creating La Closerie. If we travel to Pondy again, we will definitely stay there.

Room Tip: For people who prefer more privacy, the first floor rooms are suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suruchi_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 81 in Pondicherry
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 81 in Pondicherry
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 81 in Pondicherry
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 81 in Pondicherry
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 81 in Pondicherry
199 reviews
4.0 mi away
Le Pondy
Le Pondy
#9 of 81 in Pondicherry
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Closerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Closerie

Property: La Closerie
Address: 32 Dumas Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special place to be in Pondicherry. In the French Quarters, our house La Closerie translation from French a house surrounded by trees and bushes and this is exactly what you will find if you come and stay with us Luxury bedrooms surrounding the swimming pool with plants and trees. Small Private areas to unwind and talk among friends and other guests. Just outside La Closerie you will find the famous Pondicherry promenade and many restaurants where you can choose French / Indian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Closerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing