We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Clean, Right by the sea!”
Review of The Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Retreat
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Highly recommended if you are traveling solo and are not particular about the plush hotel experience. It is right by the sea, and if you are able to get one of the sea facing rooms, you will have an amazing time. Easy on the pocket as well compared to other places which are by the sea.

Do remember that it is a guest house managed by Sri Aurobindo Ashram, and may not be the best place to say if you are looking to party all night or are traveling with a huge set of friends. This is more for the quieter trips when you are looking to just relax and get a clean amazing place to stay by the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea facing rooms on the 1st floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank datkilldme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for The Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Well maintained hotel managed by the Aurobindo Ashram Trust. If you desire clean spacious rooms in a prime sea facing location, smiling efficient service staff at down to earth prices, this is the place to be. The Retareat at Promenade, Pondicherry offers all of this plus more. The bathrooms are spacious, comfortable and fit for purpose. While most of the rooms are sea facing, the rooms on second floor offer uninterrupted full view of the sea along with the soothing music of the waves which more than compensates the little premium for the higher floor room. The front office staff is ever smiling and willing to assist with all your requests. Well marked maps are available at the front office free of cost for visitors. The hotel campus has sufficient space for parking two wheelers, bicycles. The restaurant serves delicious fixed menu South Indian and continental breakfast and a fixed menu south indian thali for lunch. The food is non-greasy and has a homely appeal to it. Strongly recommend the thali lunch. The same management has another Hotel by the name Sea-side which is two blocks away and looks almost similar. We were a group of ten people including two infants spread in four rooms and none of us had any complaints with house keeping, room service, elevator at any point during our five night stay. The restaurant staff happily accommodated our request for special meals for infants.
The biggest surprise is that all of this comes at a very reasonable price compared to what other properties have to offer in close vicinity and it may well qualify as NO.1 Value for Money Hotel in Pondicherry!

Room Tip: Second floor sea facing rooms offer best view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Small but convenient hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious. Our rooms faced the sea so we loved the noise of the water lashing all 24 hours, though it could get a bit noisy at times.The sheets & towels were clean. Since it was on the promenade, all we needed to do was cross the road and we were at the walking stretching which felt amazing in the early mornings.Breakfast was simple & nice. Staff were also friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pooja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed here for 10 days with my family and never experienced such a wonderful time earlier. The sea is almost knocking at your doors and windows. The sunrise was fabulous. It's cleanliness and services are superb. Location adds value to your money. We are fully satisfied

Room Tip: Always look for sea facing rooms either on first or 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukhindu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel is just bang opposite the sea. We got a second floor sea facing three bedroom suite and enjoyed our two days of stay here. My kids loved the view of the beach and spent most of the early mornings glued to the scenic view. The vegetarian food served by the asharam society inside the hotel is simple but the quality is excellent The rooms are maintained neatly and the entire atmosphere inside the hotel is divine. We would love to visit this place again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room. They have a three bed room suite on second floor with an excellent view...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bindubalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at The Retreat with my family during 05th october to 08th october 2013 and really enjoyed the stay. It matched with the previous reviews. Its location is superb and in the lap of promenade. You need not have to go out anywhere, simply sitting in the balcony and watching the bay of bengal, you will not realise how time will fly. What you pay, really values for money. The rooms are very nice and comfortable, powerful airconditioners, bathrooms are well equipped with toilettries are manufactured by Aurobindo Ashram group. Only thing they will only supply you with one small bottle of shampoo irrespective of your number of days stayed which I found bit ridiculous, other wise all other room consumables & toilletries are replenished everyday. the rooms are well stocked with hot breverages items and contained tea/coffee maker , including mini refrigerator. You will get fresh linens everyday and the beds are very comfortable.Earlier we booked for first floor for better sea view but after check in, we decided to stay at ground floor front facing where you will also getting nice sea view, in fact you will find more closer to the sea and specially at night while you are in the bed with the balcony door opened , you will feel, the waves are almost touching you.It was nice experience. The food was vegetararian , well cooked and very homely, but you need to advise the reception office in advance prior to your meals.Normally while having b'fast you need to mention it. The eggs here I think is considered as vegetarian, which they serve you only during b'fast (omelleted,boiled eggs, scrambled as you wish).
Note1: Advise for smokers: They keep very strong vigil and they can sniff you out,hence be caution - avoid smoking in the rooms and hotel premises.
Note2: Advise for non-vegetarians: Just a block away, is a Hotel cum restauarant - The Promenade - you can get buffets as well ala-carte. Try the seafoods. We ate mostly here during lunch & dinner and do not miss the roof top bar cum restaurant. It is best during the evenings. The prices are on the higher side, but it again give values for money you pay with very good service.

Room Tip: You may opt for first floor sea facing rooms, otherwise ground floor sea facing rooms are equally go...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelManiac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Beautifully maintained hotel of Shri Aurobindo Ashram Society, this guest house is surely a place to retreat away from the hassle and bustle of city living. Every year we spend a few days in this hotel to enjoy the peace it provides. Booking well in advance is adviced as the rooms are nearly always full with both domestic and foreign tourists. The rooms facing the sea each have their private sit out with rattan cane chair and a centre table, where one can spend an entire evening watching the waves, the setting sun, the fishing boats dotting the horizon. The rooms are equipped with a writing table/chair, sitting area with two chairs and a table, a closet, tea/coffe maker with replenishment of tea bags and a packet of biscuits everyday. The beds are comfortable and bed linen spotlessly clean. Bathrooms are equipped with shower stalls and geyser to run hot water whenever required. Toiletteries are replenished and the rooms/bathrooms cleaned every day. Housekeeping staff are well behaved and always smiling, not the type hanging around for tips. Individual tips are discouraged as there is a tip box in the reception for placing the tip moneys, in fairness to all. The reception staff are extremely polite. The dining hall in the basement is clean where breakfast is served complimentary. One can have their meals here too, all vegetarian fare, simple home cooked meals in clean and hygienic surroundings. Even though there are no TVs in the rooms, we never felt the need for one in such serene surroundings. Being a non profit establishment stay here is cost effective and very safe with the gates closing by 11 pm and opening at 6 am. Wifi connectivity is available for a price but very slow, the only area of dissappointment. There is parking space for private vehicles at the back gate perfectly safe. The entire premises are kept clean which is very uplifting. I would never stay anywhere else after staying in this hotel, a perfect place for those seeking quietitude and peace.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea on the upper floors provide a stunning view of the shoreline. Please book in a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,134 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
612 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
511 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#24 of 82 in Pondicherry
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: 16 Goubert Avenue, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Pondicherry
Price Range: £49 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing