We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palais de Mahe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais de Mahe
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

wonderful experience from palais de mahe
last week we hang up for the dinner, food was delicious & friendly service especially satya, a cool guy with smile face made our evening great. A quite villa with lovely pool adding more attraction to this place. More suggesting place.... for all if u r in pondy pls don't miss this place..........

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    100
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
144
190
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had enjoyed other hotels in the Casino group, but even so, this is special. The rooms are very spacious and an elderly uncle said he felt like a maharajah when he saw his room! We came here as a group for my birthday and they couldn't do enough for us. Location is excellent, close to the beach, and they close the roads morning and evening to allow people to walk. The renovation of the old and the new blend together perfectly and produces the best of the French and Tamil influences. Everything works - which is not always the case! Congratulations to the Manager, Dino, and his staff for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: There are only 18 rooms - we took five of them and they are all beautiful. One of them has a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trangmard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

A lovely boutique hotel tucked in the french colony at Pondicherry, this place seems to be right outside fairy tale. It is not sea facing but only 50 metres away from the well known promenade. Absence of sea view will not be a big issue if you are looking for a perfect stay. The room is spacious and uncluttered. Bathroom is huge with ample toiletries. Balcony is an added touch. Food is good though not great. Service is awesome with everyone with a lovely smile to greet you at all times. Pool is clean and this spic & span hotel catalyses calm and serene stay. If you can, opt for this and you will not regret. However, if you are an early riser, please note the coffee shop opens only at 7.30 am in the morning hence you have to wait for your morning cup of tea or take a stroll to the promenade which has a coffee shop open 24 hours a day. At a place like this, I wouldn't mind the walk...............

Room Tip: Ask for room 208.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gh00m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Palais de Mahe is a very Young property in an old French Villa in Pondicherry. Its right in the heart of town & yet managed to stay this quiet & peaceful. The rooms are large spacious & I promise it will take you back in time.

Every interaction we had with the hotel since we landed at Palais de Mahe was excellent. I was very impressed with the attitude & the impeccable service of the entire staff. No was not an option for the staff, they managed to do everything for us, an early check in, taxi at a short notice, an emergency was all done seamlessly.

I will now look out for CGH earth experience hotels in every holiday I plan while considering places to stay.

Thank you Team Palais de Mahe!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanuja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Staying with my family at the Palais de Mahe has been the highlight of our week-long vacation during which we stayed at the Taj Connemara (impeccable, as usual) Radisson Blu Temple Bay (great).

A small hotel with the most amazing eye for details as far as design goes, fabulous old-world feel but with all the mod-cons in place. And working. Great staff, always happy and cheerful. The rooms are huge, with high-ceiling, stylish faux period furniture, including old ceiling fans. There wasn't a single piece of furniture, fittings, tapestry etc that we wouldn't have at our own home. The swimming pool, albeit small, reflected the petit perfection that is the hallmark of this hotel - it's just big enough for adults who want to swim laps and the water was sparkingly clean for a child to while away hours in it. Great breakfast - not an overwhelming buffet but a healthy, freshly-cooked one that featured the best sausage I have had in a very long time. Though not on the Promenade, it is just the right distance away, literally a stone's throw but tucked away in a quiet street. I have never been so overwhelmed with a hotel stay in my life - and my peripatetic work means I stay in a great many of them in India and the UK.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistahDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great place - stayed for 2 nights. excellent rooms - spacious. and very close to the promenade.

The pool was the best part. The kida absokutely had a blast - and tge water was crystal clear.

The food was a bit average - so we ended up eating out most of the time. Overall a pleasant stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanuj V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Burradoo, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

What a gem this place is. From the minute you walk in you are made to feel so welcome and that nothing is too much trouble

The service is amazing, the rooms beautiful, gorgeous pool... Then there's the food which is worthy of a Michelin Star. They do modern Indian cuisine and without a doubt the best meal I've had in India so far

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank SueGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Palais de Mahe, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear guest,
lovely and extremely encouraging to read your comments on palais de mahe.
We hope to keep seeing you back at Pondicherry.
regds
Dinu Ramkrishnan
Manager
Palais de mahe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#4 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#15 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#8 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#11 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais de Mahe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais de Mahe

Property: Palais de Mahe
Address: 4 Rue Bussy Lal Bahadur Sastry Street Palais De Mahe #, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palais de Mahe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais de Mahe (a CGH Earth experience) is situated in the French quarter in Pondicherry, India. The architecture of this beautiful boutique hotel is in keeping with the French colonial style of the region. It has 18 luxurious suites, a lovely courtyard with a swimming pool, a restaurant and bar, and a poolside cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais de Mahe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing