We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palais de Mahe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palais de Mahe
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“My best experience”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

To begin with, one of the best staff I've encountered with and they give their best to satisfy the guest's needs. I gave them a last minute request for a birthday cake and they went out of way to find a shop and had a few staff wait until midnight to deliver it to our room.
Febbie was wonderful and the restaurant has a good range of food options.

The rooms are mind blowing with real high ceilings and extra large bathrooms. It is conveniently located to walk around the french quarter. Will definitely visit this hotel for a longer and relaxing vacation.

Good job to the Palais de Mahe team!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    99
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
143
189
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Had read about this place on tripadvisor and was truly delighted once we arrived there. Lovely property in the French quarter close to the main promenade. The twin sharing room was large and elegantly done up with lot of character and well appointed. The only problem was the noise from the swimming pool just outside the room but we weren't in the room long enough anyway. Breakfast was on the terrace and was made to order- choice of eggs, ham, bacon and even South Indian. The staff were very courteous and extremely helpful and if I ever go back to Pondicherry I'd stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

For starters, its easy to find, 2 streets away from the sea front, so you get amazing breeze. It has parking behind the hotel, gated, plus cycles you can take and go around the city.

Now the rooms are super high and spacious. The cots are just like cream, you melt into it, and its super comfy. Amazing bathrooms, and really clean. The ambiance of the entire hotel is great.

The restaurant on top is perfect for a nice morning breakfast and though its pretty hot outside, there's just enough shade and breeze to keep you cool.

Very nice staff, polite and very well mannered.

Spent just a weekend there, with my entire family, nearly 20 of us, and they managed all of us quite well. Definitely worth the #1 rating in Pondi...!!


Tips...
Not really a place to hang out with friends, go here if you don't mind spending a bit. This isn't a budget hotel.

It would definitely be a great place you can come and spend time with your spouse. Very cozy and a quiet place. Far away from noise and crowds.

Book well in advance, its nearly forever booked for a month or two.

Just in case you have a craving for pizzas, there is a pizza hut right next door. Also a nice hair saloon opposite the hotel.


Definitely worth another visit, the next time I plan a trip to Pondi

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blubleeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Really the best boutique hotel. I can't find fault with anything! Very clean and a cleanest pool, food is excellent. Staff is very good and helpful.Location is fantastic. Just about 40 meter from the sea. I would recommend this hotel to people who love to stay in peace and enjoy good food and cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Service, luxury, and comfort await you at de Mahe.

We stayed here only one night and enjoyed the pool for hours immediately after check-in. Incredibly clean and quiet, we laughed and felt the heat of the city leave us.

Our room had plush sheets on a super comfortable bed, warm towels in the clean and crisp bathroom. So many little details that make the room come together. Also, it was huge.

Incredibly romantic dining spot on the third floor. Make reservations for the tables near the edge of the terrace.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkubs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed for six night in this beautiful hotel. Very warm welcome at check-in. Our room was large and very well appointed, very clean and with lovely furniture. Beautiful pool area with bar and coffee shop. Upstairs indoor/outdoor restaurant with excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was very good indeed and the service from the waiting staff was as well. The General Manager and Praveena were particularly helpful to us. We enjoyed ourselves very much. Excellent stay. Pondicherry is a lovely place with many things to do and see. During our stay in Southern India we have stayed with 4 of the CGH Earth Hotels and we would highly recommend them all to stay at for their different styles and their professional service. Thank you to Ms. Vandena at the first hotel for suggesting and arranging.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricco999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had a wonderful three nights at the Palais de Mahe. Huge, rooms with high ceilings, French colonial style furniture and a HUGE, comfortable bed! Free wifi a bonus, especially as it worked!!!! The breakfasts were excellent....buffet style plus cooked 'full English' as well as delicious croissants....filled us up till dinner, which we had at the hotel also. Not a huge menu but everything well cooked, well presented and one can only say, half French half Indian!! Half decent wine selection too.
All the staff were very attentive and happy to help, all in all, excellent service.
My only concern was the pool....it looked lovely and truly inviting in the searing heat of Tamil Nadu but beware there are no handrails on the steps Into the pool - to my cost, as I slipped and hurt my leg which put paid to any swimming activity and almost ruined my holiday (there are signs which I saw afterwards saying use of pool at own risk!) don't let this put you off, though. This is an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 205 and cannot fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 74 in Pondicherry
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 74 in Pondicherry
1,075 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#4 of 74 in Pondicherry
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#15 of 74 in Pondicherry
752 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#8 of 74 in Pondicherry
574 reviews
8.9 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 74 in Pondicherry
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais de Mahe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais de Mahe

Property: Palais de Mahe
Address: 4 Rue Bussy Lal Bahadur Sastry Street Palais De Mahe #, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palais de Mahe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais de Mahe (a CGH Earth experience) is situated in the French quarter in Pondicherry, India. The architecture of this beautiful boutique hotel is in keeping with the French colonial style of the region. It has 18 luxurious suites, a lovely courtyard with a swimming pool, a restaurant and bar, and a poolside cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais de Mahe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing