We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very neat, clean budget friendly place!”
Review of La Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Marina
Ranked #44 of 152 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very neat, clean budget friendly place!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

After searching for a long long time we finally zeroed in on La Marina Guest House.
For a budget friendly hotel this place is really neat and clean and the staff is very very helpful.
The rooms are neat and clean with clean beds and no cobwebs or chipping paint. The bathroom was clean too if obviously you don't expect a 5 star bath.
The hotel is very close to the Promenade and that is one of the main reasons we wanted to stay here. It's also walkable distance to all the good restaurants and cafes in an around the area.
The hotel has a ground floor and the 1st floor. The first floor has a verandah with cane couches and other garden furniture where a big group can easily chill.

The drawback is that the hotel does not have their own kitchen but are happy to get some nice tea and coffee from outside.

Overall we had a great experience at the hotel and it was really convenient for us to move around from there.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, Room 1 and we found it really clean and neat and very accessible. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kanika_aswani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    19
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Near to the beach , very good service. The place is so beautiful , calm and elegant. And it's 100 % value for money ! I recommend it ! It is well placed , so everything is close to you . The staffs were very friendly , which is very important. Overall , I had a fantastic experience at La Marina ! Simply the best Guest house!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChennaiRameshJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed at La Marina for four nights. I found it overpriced, but aside from that, the place is definitely recommendable. The staff is very friendly, the place is clean, and the neighbourhood is nice. Alright!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My worst hotel till date. I visited it in May 1st week. There are no phones in this hotel for room service. There is no restaurant for simple things like tea, coffee. The beds are single beds, and very uncomfortable for two people to sleep.The cushions are very hard, to give you back ache.The plumbing is not good. In our case the bathroom water got clogged, and it took an hour by the house keeping to clear it. Also, the housekeeping people took more than an hour to respond, even after telling reception multiple times. We got up in the morning, with the bathroom clogged and could not brush, were waiting for the housekeeping to come. They have done a lot of advertising, but I think they could have spent a little bit on keeping quality service.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karan_Malhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

very nice, clean and calm environment. fantastic reception. room service-trustworthy . very close amenities, restaurant, park and beach. best for business travellers. 100% worth for money.this will be my first choice forever.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jash90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 82 in Pondicherry
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sun Park
Hotel Sun Park
#47 of 82 in Pondicherry
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
#24 of 82 in Pondicherry
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Bay View
Lotus Bay View
#45 of 152 in Pondicherry
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Escale
L'Escale
#7 of 152 in Pondicherry
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marina

Property: La Marina
Address: Rue Romain Rolland Street | French Quarter, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Marina is a heritage guest house , located in the popular French Quarters close to all the touristic places viz the R.K Beach side promenade, Central Bharati Park, museums , Church , Aurobindo Ashram , Manakula Vinayagar temple etc and all the popular restaurants. We are also conveniently connected to the Railway station, Bus stations etc.We have 8 spacious bright airy room with AC , TV and attached bathrooms. We also have breakfast service available at the cost of Rs 150 per person which can availed with advance notice the previous evening. We look forward to see you and be at your service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing