We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Restaurant only - well worth the visit - Good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Ranked #24 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Review of Restaurant only - well worth the visit - Good food”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We ate outside on their terrace. It was a business dinner. They serve a wonderful mixture of French-Indian fusion and have a number of Creole-Curry dishes. I had the Chicken creole-Curry. Service and Ambience were great, food very tasty. Definitely worth a night out in Pondy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 749David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about the Carte Blanche courtyard restaurant, in Pondicherry.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your dinner and had a good time.
Your encouraging compliments about the cuisine and the ambience have been conveyed to the chef and his team on-site and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Warm Regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    172
    59
    25
    16
See reviews for
114
205
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

From the time we checked in it was a great experience the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed at room called CANNANORE nice colonial style furniture. The breakfast is very good. Over all great place to stay will recommend the viewer to try it.

Room Tip: Excellent place too stay. menu and food quality is average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bela D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Cannanore room and liked the ambience and detailing of the room. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Your compliments about the breakfast in particular have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

Do venture out to any of the 27 Neemrana 'non-hotel' Hotels and continue to send us your feedback, so that we continue to serve you with the same Neemrana brand of simplicity and style with the renowned Indian humility.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is by far amongst the best hotels in Pondicherry & Neemrana has done a fantastic job restoring this bungalow into a hotel.

We were here for 2 nights & the staff was kind enough to upgrade us to one of their largest rooms which also had an attached terrace. The rooms are massive & the furniture exquisite. Every piece of furniture has been selectively chosen & placed in the rooms & leaves one spellbound.

The only thing that was missing is room service which I believe is not provided in any Neemrana hotel. Nevertheless, an amazing stay & extremely helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your kind feedback about the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

Your compliments about the ambience and the interiors have been conveyed to the Chairman and the interiors team. As you are aware, every effort has been made to retain the old world charm of the 18th C. property. It is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into a ruined and unused building.

As you are aware, at Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. Since the rooms are equipped with tea and coffee makers, common hospitality practices like room service are avoided. This is part of the Neemrana USP.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A great heritage hotel with a lot of atmosphere; each room has different names with stylish colonial furniture. the staff is very friendly everywhere: at the reception, the restaurant, the cleaning ladies, the watchmen. You feal that you are a welcome guest. The breakfast is wonderful with french croissants, sweet bread, joghurt, eggs, home made marmelade and fresh fruit juices. It is a perfect place to unwind, enjoy the time, take a book and sit in the beautiful garden or enjoy a dinner. I can recommended this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMBBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about Neemrana’s - Hotel de l’Orient, heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

Feedback such as yours reinforces our philosophy of infusing new life into a ruined and unused building. We at Neemrana, strive to create experiences for the guests and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense and appreciate the effort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Your compliments about the ambience and the service have been conveyed to the restoration team and the staff at the property respectively.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Right from check in to check out it was memorable, the staff here have a lot to teach to the so called high end five star establishment. An excellent place to unwind, walk about and just do nothing. We stayed in Surat in the ground floor which was surprisingly very well maintained and they still have maintained the old world charm to the rooms. A lot of work has gone to create a very unique experience for the mind. Eating break in the courtyard or having a drink there in the courtyard is amazing!!! A must do once more!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank shammu_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciative words about Neemrana’s - Hotel de l’Orient, in Pondicherry.

As you may know, at Neemrana, we try and maintain a balance between old world charm and modern amenities, so that the past is not completely obliterated. It is our constant endeavour to create and enhance the experience for our guests and we are glad to learn that you enjoyed the ambience and got time to relax and unwind.

Your encouraging compliments about the staff have been conveyed to the team on-site.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon at any of our 27 properties across India.

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A beautiful heritage boutique hotel a minute from the beach and with friendly helpful staff the experience is unforgettable. Great food, awesome environment, and friendly and helpful staff.I didn't use a fitness center or the pool since I don't think this hotel has this available but the beautiful French boutique style rooms mixed with the beauty of south India certainly makes up for the lack of the pool and fitness center

Room Tip: I didn't use a fitness center or the pool since I don't think this hotel has this available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about Neemrana’s - Hotel de l’Orient, in Pondicherry.

It is heartening to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience during your stay. Your compliments about the staff and the cuisine have been conveyed to the on-site staff and are a source of great encouragement for the team.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at any of our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Built in 1768, I am told the hotel is located in one of the first few structures built after the Britih razed Pondicherry town to retaliate against the French (who were occupying Pondicherry then) in an ongoing struggle between the two colonial powers. This 250 yr old structure feels very much 'heritage'.

Built in the colonial style and redone recently with a passionate architect interested in the minutest of details and preserving its character, it is easily one of the most memorable hotels I have stayed at. The AC is hidden inside a wooden box to prevent the guests from seeing any new-fangled electronics gadget! An attached toilet/bathroom for each room (without door) gives you a sense of how life might have been earlier. Built mainly of wood and brass, all the equipment of the room help in transporting you back decades, if not more.

The location is also fabulous, a couple of streets away from the beach promenade and close to many popular boutique restaurants. Its located right next to Villa Shanti, arguably the best restaurant in Pondicherry. Though its infrastructure is not as good as the neighboring (rebuilt, not renovated) hotel built in the heritage style - Palais de Mahe, it is the real deal and hence gets my vote.

The breakfast is poor, try the Baker Street cafe a short walk away for French croissants, etc. With off season pricing of INR 3500 in May (USD60), its a steal!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your positive and valuable review about the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

At Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. We are pleased to receive your compliments about the same. The feedback has been shared with the Chairman and the restoration team.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the ambience and detailing of the rooms. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

We are surprised to learn about your feedback regarding the breakfast as the Creole cuisine at the hotel is popular among our clientele. However, at Hotel de l’Orient, broadly, we serve Continental and Creole cuisine with a few seafood dishes, to suit a range of tastes and palates. Should you desire to taste a special dish or have a particular preference, you can certainly make a request at the previous meal, and the chefs will try and please you.

Do venture out to any of the 27 Neemrana 'non-hotel' Hotels and continue to send us your feedback, so that we continue to serve you with the same Neemrana brand of simplicity and style with the renowned Indian humility.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 80 in Pondicherry
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 80 in Pondicherry
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 80 in Pondicherry
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#5 of 80 in Pondicherry
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 80 in Pondicherry
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 80 in Pondicherry
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient

Property: Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Address: 17 Rue Romain Rolland Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a French flirtation with India’s bewildering diversity could have produced the refined and elusive magic of ‘Pondicherry’ which contains the magic of the whole Orient in one name. Now, this French 18th century coastal lifestyle in India is brought alive again in a home which is a virtual art gallery with etchings and hand written postcards all over its walls. Recreated in high-raftered ceilings with savonnerie rugs and easy chairs to lounge away the afternoons. Four poster beds – (one accessed by three stairs ! ) – to help you recreate your past with dreams. Savour a French mansion full of Indian warmth. Enjoy fine Creole eating where Tamil spices mix with subtle French under-statement to titillate the palates of gourmets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Orient
De l Orient Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing