We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dune de l'Orient
Nearby Hotels
Le Dupleix(Pondicherry)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Accord Puducherry(Pondicherry)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Pondy(Pondicherry)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Promenade(Pondicherry)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Maison Perumal(Pondicherry)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palais de Mahe(Pondicherry)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Villa(Pondicherry)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
228
178
64
26
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
178
64
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneemrana hotelsold world charmneemrana groupfrench quartercreole foodheritage hotelcolonial furniturecolonial experiencewhite towncourtyard restaurantfour posterthe ground floorcharming hotelopen courtyardeggs to ordera wonderful stayfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Renovated mansion with unique rooms. We stayed at Karikal; excellent room with a terrace for sitting out during early mornings and evenings. Staff went out of their way to make us comfortable - room service is not provided, but they were more than happy to bring up drinks to our room when requested.

Furniture is a little faded around the edges, but that only adds to the charm of the place. Don't expect a 5 star hotel where your whims are

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Siva_Guduru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write to us!

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel de l’Orient, in Pondicherry. As you may know, at Neemrana we try and maintain a balance between the old world charm and modern amenities, so that the past is not completely obliterated and it is always encouraging when our guests appreciate the effort.

Your encouraging compliments about the staff and the ambience have been conveyed to the team on-site and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again at any of our 27 properties across India.

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at hotel l'orient and were blown away by the service. We travel a lot for work and have never experienced such good service. Nothing was too much trouble and they solved all our hassles and answered all our questions - including arranging onward transport after explaining all the different options and prices.

The room was beautiful - very old school with a gorgeous bathroom and shower. Strong air conditioning which is important is such a hot area! The wifi is in the public areas and was fast - it did need to be reset once but this was done very quickly when asked.

We also did laundry at the hotel which was turned around in 12 hours and presented back to us in a lovely wicker basket.

The only thing they could improve is the breakfast - you can have eggs any way you want but the bacon wasn't so good and the fruit was a little sour.

Overall a wonderful stay in a very beautiful hotel!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank TravelUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm feedback about Neemrana’s Hotel de l’Orient, in Pondicherry.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and your observations would help us in our effort to improve and cater more closely to your requirements in future.

Your compliments about the staff and the service have been conveyed to the team and will act as a source of great motivation and encouragement. Your appreciation of the décor has been conveyed to the chairman and to the restoration team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon again at any of Neemrana’s 27 properties across India!

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel de l'Orient for 2 nights. Its a charming hotel at a great location. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating - service is good. Quality of food is good - the setting is peaceful and nice. We had booked the Madurai room - its nice , open the windows and very airy. (must remember that its old world charm, villa converted into hotel under Neemrana group)

over-all we had a great time and enjoyed our stay - it was relaxing, peaceful.

Room Tip: Go for larger rooms if available.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alok J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback!

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the Madurai room, at the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel, in Pondicherry.

At Neemrana, we try and maintain a balance between the old world charm and modern amenities and it is always encouraging when our guests appreciate the effort behind the same.
Your encouraging compliments about the food and the service have been conveyed to the team on-site.

We are glad to receive your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon again at any of Neemrana’s 27 properties across India.

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is my 5th trip to Pondy and this time i wanted to stay near the beach and the heritage town. I looked through the options and finalised to stay in De Lorient. they had rooms named after different places and i choose the room named "Nellore" and it was a wonderful stay. The rooms were great and actually you can go the website and see the different rooms available and the pictures of each room also. The rooms start from 3500 and upwards. The front office and the reception were very friendly and responded to all your small needs and helped in the most courteous ways.
the breakfast was also good and very helpful lady was there to get things spot on for you.
My stay was just for a day but even that was enough to have a good impression for me. Definitely looking forward to my next visit to De Lorient.

Room Tip: Visit the De Lorient website which has the photo of every room available and rooms near reception in the ground floor can be bit noisy as its proximity to the road.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mithuseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Neemrana’s Hotel de l’Orient and your overall experience of the town of Pondicherry, rich in culture and heritage.

At Neemrana, we try and offer an experience, tailored to our guest’s requirements and have thus, designed our website to reflect details and pictures of each individual room to enable you to make an informed choice.

Your compliments about the staff and the service have been conveyed to the team on-site and would act as a source of encouragement and motivation.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon again at any of our 27 properties across India.

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent hotel with a marvellous localisation inside the historical Town. Concept of "Hotel-non hotel" : each room has a specific and traditional furniture. Very nice service. Very good restaurant with different types of food (indian,creole).

Room Tip: free wifi in the court-yard
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdlegall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciation of Neemrana’s Hotel de l’Orient, in Pondicherry!

Feedback such as yours reinforces our philosophy of infusing new life into a ruined and unused structure and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the property; and appreciate the effort behind its restoration to its former charm and glory.

Your compliments about the cuisine have been conveyed to the chef and his team at the Carte Blanche restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you over at any of our 27 properties across India soon.

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews