We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Pondicherry
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

A curated mansion in Pondicherry's beautiful White Town, the De L'Orient wears its old world charm an understated manner. We stayed at the hotel over the independence day weekend and were taken in by the beautiful renovated wood furniture, the creole cuisine, the greenery in the courtyard and the friendly and attentive staff

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debobroto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm feedback!

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience at Neemrana’s Hotel de l’Orient and got time to relax and unwind.

Your compliments reinforce our philosophy of infusing new life into a ruined and unused structure and will act as a source of great encouragement for the team. Your appreciation has been conveyed to the Chairman and to the restoration team as well as to the staff at the property.

We thank you for your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    165
    54
    24
    16
See reviews for
110
199
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Firstly, this review is only of the Hotel not Pondicherry as a tourist destination.

Del Orient is an old French villa restored and converted to a beautiful hotel. The rooms are spacious and decor-ed with antiques and maps. All electronics like TV, AC, Fridge are well hidden behind wooden cabinets keeping the rooms truly gadget free!

The courtyard is the best place in hotel - green and even more beautiful when it rains. The entire hotel has interesting pictures, frames, maps with history all around.

The staff is extremely friendly and I was given a complementary upgrade to a larger room. They helped me plan my stay and travel in Pondy, gave some useful tips on routes and hotels.
The location is perfect - couple of minutes from Promenade and other restaurants and market in Pondy.
The hotel had arranges an Indian classical Bharatnatyam dance one evening. Overall a great experience in a rather boring Pondy trip.

Room Tip: Do not take room near the reception or road facing as its noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ketan_fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciative feedback about Neemrana’s - Hotel de l’Orient, in Pondicherry.

We at Neemrana strive to provide an experience, unique and memorable in essence, and it is always rewarding when our guests sense the effort behind the same and appreciate the restoration of this old colonial villa.

In our endeavour to strike a balance between the old world charm and modern amenities, feedback such as yours acts as a source of great encouragement and reinforces our philosophy of restoring glory and charm to these previously ruined buildings.

Your kind compliments have been conveyed to the staff and to the restoration team respectively.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon again at any of Neemrana’s 27 properties across the country.

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Superbly restored building with a well-fitted out and clean room. Food was excellent. Perfect location. Would definitely stay again.

It seems this review needs to be 200 characters minimum so well yes it was great, really great. Is that enough?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrumpyOldMan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm feedback about Neemrana’s - Hotel de l’Orient.

Your encouraging words reinforce our philosophy of infusing new life into a ruined and unused building and we are extremely pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience.
Your compliments about the room and the ambience have been conveyed to the restoration team.

We thank you for taking time out to write to us and look forward to welcoming you back soon again!

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Renovated mansion with unique rooms. We stayed at Karikal; excellent room with a terrace for sitting out during early mornings and evenings. Staff went out of their way to make us comfortable - room service is not provided, but they were more than happy to bring up drinks to our room when requested.

Furniture is a little faded around the edges, but that only adds to the charm of the place. Don't expect a 5 star hotel where your whims are

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siva_Guduru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write to us!

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel de l’Orient, in Pondicherry. As you may know, at Neemrana we try and maintain a balance between the old world charm and modern amenities, so that the past is not completely obliterated and it is always encouraging when our guests appreciate the effort.

Your encouraging compliments about the staff and the ambience have been conveyed to the team on-site and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again at any of our 27 properties across India.

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at hotel l'orient and were blown away by the service. We travel a lot for work and have never experienced such good service. Nothing was too much trouble and they solved all our hassles and answered all our questions - including arranging onward transport after explaining all the different options and prices.

The room was beautiful - very old school with a gorgeous bathroom and shower. Strong air conditioning which is important is such a hot area! The wifi is in the public areas and was fast - it did need to be reset once but this was done very quickly when asked.

We also did laundry at the hotel which was turned around in 12 hours and presented back to us in a lovely wicker basket.

The only thing they could improve is the breakfast - you can have eggs any way you want but the bacon wasn't so good and the fruit was a little sour.

Overall a wonderful stay in a very beautiful hotel!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm feedback about Neemrana’s Hotel de l’Orient, in Pondicherry.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and your observations would help us in our effort to improve and cater more closely to your requirements in future.

Your compliments about the staff and the service have been conveyed to the team and will act as a source of great motivation and encouragement. Your appreciation of the décor has been conveyed to the chairman and to the restoration team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon again at any of Neemrana’s 27 properties across India!

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel de l'Orient for 2 nights. Its a charming hotel at a great location. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating - service is good. Quality of food is good - the setting is peaceful and nice. We had booked the Madurai room - its nice , open the windows and very airy. (must remember that its old world charm, villa converted into hotel under Neemrana group)

over-all we had a great time and enjoyed our stay - it was relaxing, peaceful.

Room Tip: Go for larger rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alok J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback!

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the Madurai room, at the Hotel de l’Orient heritage hotel, in Pondicherry.

At Neemrana, we try and maintain a balance between the old world charm and modern amenities and it is always encouraging when our guests appreciate the effort behind the same.
Your encouraging compliments about the food and the service have been conveyed to the team on-site.

We are glad to receive your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon again at any of Neemrana’s 27 properties across India.

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palakkad, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is my 5th trip to Pondy and this time i wanted to stay near the beach and the heritage town. I looked through the options and finalised to stay in De Lorient. they had rooms named after different places and i choose the room named "Nellore" and it was a wonderful stay. The rooms were great and actually you can go the website and see the different rooms available and the pictures of each room also. The rooms start from 3500 and upwards. The front office and the reception were very friendly and responded to all your small needs and helped in the most courteous ways.
the breakfast was also good and very helpful lady was there to get things spot on for you.
My stay was just for a day but even that was enough to have a good impression for me. Definitely looking forward to my next visit to De Lorient.

Room Tip: Visit the De Lorient website which has the photo of every room available and rooms near reception in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mithuseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Neemrana’s Hotel de l’Orient and your overall experience of the town of Pondicherry, rich in culture and heritage.

At Neemrana, we try and offer an experience, tailored to our guest’s requirements and have thus, designed our website to reflect details and pictures of each individual room to enable you to make an informed choice.

Your compliments about the staff and the service have been conveyed to the team on-site and would act as a source of encouragement and motivation.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon again at any of our 27 properties across India.

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#11 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#4 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#13 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient

Property: Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Address: 17 Rue Romain Rolland Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magic of the whole Orient in one name: Pondicherry, where the French set up a new coastal lifestyle. Only a French flirtation with India’s bewildering diversity could have produced the refined and elusive magic of Pondicherry. Now, this French 18th century in India is brought alive again in a virtual art gallery with etchings and hand written postcards.Recreated in high-raftered ceilings with savonnerie rugs and easy chairs to lounge away the afternoons. Four poster beds – one accessed by three stairs! To help you recreate your past with dreams. Savour a French mansion full of Indian warmth.Enjoy fine Creole eating where Tamil spices mix with subtle French under-statement to titillate the palates of gourmets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Orient
De l Orient Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing