We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Villa Helena”
Review of Villa Helena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Helena
Ranked #17 of 160 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

La Villa Helena is the best guest house I have stayed in in India. It is an excellent representation of Pondicherry's French colonial heritage. When you walk in you feel like you are in a different time period with all of its beautiful antique furniture. The service is very efficient which is something hard to find in India. It is very clean and if there is anything that you need the manager will help provide or arrange for you. Its location is also very practical as it is in the heart of the colonial side of Pondicherry. You can enjoy a stroll on the wide streets around it full of shops and restaurants. It is also very quite and peaceful. Once you go inside you can forget about the ruckus of the city and relax in its beautiful courtyard with a cup of coffee or tea and homemade french pastries. I stayed there for 3 nights and had an absolute lovely time. The breakfast was my favorite part! Toasted fresh baguettes with fruits and coffee... yum! :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnyocfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

Simply the best hotel we stayed in in India. This place is a tastefully restored colonial villa in the heart of the old French quarter. It is run by a young Frenchman and has a traditional
French breakfast - unbeatable coffee. It is also a hangout for French tourists so if you are meeting too many anglophones its a good change.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My partner and I originally intended to stay here 3 nights but extended the stay to four. We found the courtyard a serene oasis, the staff friendly and helpful,the owner welcoming and the kittens out the back playful.
Breakfast served each morning in the courtyard shortly after you wandered out of your room (as described by KK). The Suite was very comfortable and well laid out, and cleaned each day along with towels replaced daily with new ones (all soft). Ac worked well as did the fan, though there was a small smell of mothballs. Hot shower was appreciated and the bathroom seemed well laid out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eilofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I spent a weekend here with friends and had an amazing time. I was told that the place is under new management and has been significantly updated. Breakfast was simple (awesome bread, coffee, juice), the setting was relaxing, and a great place to be for a vacation. The courtyard seating is comfortable and is a great place to hang out.

Rooms were quite comfortable. A/C worked fine. Walking distance to the oceanfront and numerous bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I've been at Villa Helena for a week now. The ambience is charmingly colonial, the breakfast of coffee, fruit & croissant is lovely, the internet is pretty fast and the location is wonderful - easy to get to the Promenade for a stroll, to the shopping areas on MG Road, or walking distance to some nice little eateries. The staff are friendly, multilingual and courteous; solicitous even (yesterday I surprised the gardener and he saluted me like I was a Raj). The rooms are decorated with antiques, my rod-iron four-posted double bed is comfortable, and my ensuite has a large rain-bath shower head. There are ceiling fans along the colonade so its pleasant to sit outside and read or use the wifi. The building next door is undergoing some noisy repairs in the daytime, there are a lot of cats, the door chime is wonky, and some walls need painting, but these are minor imperfections in an otherwise pleasing and comfortable guest house.

Room Tip: The address is *actually* 13 Lal Bahadur Shastri / Rue Bussy (many places in Pondi have French &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EthnographeEcographe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

A beautiful and relaxing setting, and super convenient to the center of French Pondicherry. There's a lovely interior courtyard garden as you walk in. Rooms were simple, but clean. My husband and I never saw any of the bad things others complained of, though service staff were sometimes hard to find. Setting for breakfast very comfortable. villahelena@sify.com

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gailshumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The rooms were filthy with dirty bed sheets .Crowd coming only for drugs , booze and prostitution

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank fortune2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 82 in Pondicherry
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
#27 of 82 in Pondicherry
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Helena

Address: 13 Rue Bussy Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range: £60 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Guest house in the heart of the Pondicherry's old town The "Villa Helena", by her heritage architecture, her authenticity, her charm and her beautiful and lush garden, is truly the best way to discover the charming past of the old french counter.In contrast to India's perpetual movement, Villa Helena offers to every traveller looking for a unique experience, a really peaceful abode.More over she is perfectly located, near by the sea and best restaurants, bars and boutiques ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Helena Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing